We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Price for the Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
USA Hostels San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Price for the Location”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

This well located hostel was reasonably priced for how easily you were able to access all that San Francisco has to offer. Start your day off with their free breakfast and head out on one of their optional tours or explore the city on your own. Staff was helpful with giving recommendations of things to do and the hostel board posted any special events through the hostel or at nearby bars/clubs. Went on one of the pub crawls and met loads of friendly people from all over the world. Stayed in a four person room with the toilet ensuite and the room was big and clean. We felt comfortable enough to leave our things out as well and the privacy screens with lights and outlets were a nice touch on the beds. We didn't find it to be too loud to sleep and our room faced the street.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AliciaLeeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    425
    101
    20
    20
See reviews for
20
162
451
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
98 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hostel was clean and provided everything we needed for our two night city break. The breakfast was plentiful and set us up for the day. We booked a double room with ensuite and were warned of noise due to the elevator and reception when booking. However the noise was minimal and we were not disturbed too much. The location was great. It was just a couple of blocks further from Union square than the expensive hotels – at a much lower rate! The price was good especially because the visitor tax was included when booking. There was even a small convenience store and a few eateries directly across the road.

Room Tip: We booked a double room with ensuite and were warned of noise due to the elevator and reception when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We travelled in August 2012. Choosing this hostel saved us money on what would have been a very expensive stay in San Fran. We managed to get a private en suite bedroom which was perfect for our 4 night stay. The room was clean and comfortable, definitely a good choice. Staff were friendly and helpful and the atmosphere was cheerful. Breakfast was well organised, good range of food to chose from and easy to wash up after your self to keep up the standards and hygiene of the hostel. There was also wi-fi available which was brilliant as i could send pictures to friends and family back home easily. The room was equipped with a decent sized fridge and an alarm clock to make sure we didn't miss any of the various activities we had planned for our stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I stayed at the USA hostels San Francisco for four nights during a trip around America in August.

For the rather expensive price I found this hostel lacked the atmosphere that the Hollywood branch had at a cheaper price.

I stayed in a four bed room which was good and clean, although it wasn't ensuite as there was just a sink in the room, whereas in the 8 bed Hollywood hostel the rooms had a full bathroom.

The location of the hostel is good as you are just a few blocks from Union Square and about a ten minute walk from the BART station. The Westfield shopping centre by the Powell street BART is a great mall and the food court on the bottom floor is cheap with a great variety of really nice foods. Try the ramen at the sit down Japanese place and the fish taco's at the seafood place.

I didn't join any of the tours whilst in San Francisco so those could have provided the atmosphere that i found lacking during my stay but I generally just found the place to be a let down after my great stay at the USA Hollywood. I would definitely stay at somewhere cheaper next time in San Fran as I didn't think the USA brand was worth the extra money here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ainsleyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

great hostel, just a heads up , if you want to cancel you have to give 24 hours notice or else they will charge you for the full amount. Oh and they don't allow you to leave your bags there for storage for the day unless you have a reseveration for the night. thought with the money paid they could be considerate and allow us to do that, but no dice guys.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

A fantastic hostel. The staff were so knowlegable and helpful, got great reccomendations for places to eat and things to do. I was travelling alone so opted to go on the walking tour to find my way around. The staff were great, we saw so much and it was good fun. Met a bunch of cool people and ended up spending the rest of my trip hanging out with them. Such a friendly atmosphere and a great place to meet new people. The karaoke night was hilarious, free beer if you sing! One of the staff showed us some places to go for a night out and made sure I knew how to get back and to stay with the others. This wasn't necessary but I was a female alone in the city and out with some guys I had only just met and it meant a lot that she cared in a way. Breakfast was awesome, as was the pub crawl. Beds were ok and room was clean. I liked the free WIFI and the privacy screens on beds with the light and electrical outlets, as well as the ones in the lockers. Could't have asked for a better San Francisco experience. Well done USA hostels!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Pretty decent and vibrant hostel. Movie room, big kitchen and common room and handy location. We are a couple and took the private room, which is actually very good for hostel standards: clean private bathroom, TV, microwave, fan and fridge. Very happy. Free wifi is awesome and not spotty.

Cons: There is a mysterious banging noise audible throughout the hostel all day (except midnight to dawn), think it might be public transit underground. The hostel provides earplugs but light sleepers beware. Room smelled a bit but let's face it, we are not at the Ritz.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Robino23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#97 of 227 in San Francisco
2,274 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 227 in San Francisco
1,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 227 in San Francisco
5,053 reviews
Union Square
Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown
Financial District
Pacific Tradewinds Hostel
Pacific Tradewinds Hostel
#1 of 50 in San Francisco
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to USA Hostels San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about USA Hostels San Francisco

Property: USA Hostels San Francisco
Address: 711 Post St, San Francisco, CA 94109-6105
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 50 Specialty Lodging in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — USA Hostels San Francisco 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 3 blocks from Union Square and close to tourist attractions, this award-winning hostel offers value-priced dorms and privates. Rates include a daily breakfast of fresh fruit, baked goods, all-you-can-make pancakes and oatmeal daily along with fruit juice, coffee and tea. The hostel hosts daily free activities offering solo travelers and other many chances to make new friends and take home great memories. Most guests are young, international travelers and this is not the appropriate property for families with young children as the hostel has some late night events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your USA Hostels San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Usa Hostels San Francisco Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing