We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hostel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
USA Hostels San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Hostel.”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I first stayed at the previous location of the San Fran USA Hostels branch in about 2004, I have been staying when in San Fran since. It's a little on the expensive side, given that it's a hostel but the staff are friendly, rooms are clean, it's safe, the kitchen is awesome and the movie theatre is a big plus if you just want a quiet day while traveling. Apart from the cost being a wee bit on the heavy side I can't say anything negative about the place. Awesome location, too. :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    425
    101
    20
    20
See reviews for
20
162
451
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Set up like a Hotel .....nice to see someone at the front desk 24/7 felt safe and the staff was very helpful gave me maps and told me about good places to eat . My 1st time in a dorm and it was very nice cleaned everyday and the Kitchen was outstanding clean and big only cooked one night but was better then I had thought .... The movie room was awesome very well done ....! I did a pub crawl.... was way cool... a must do I will be back next time I am sent to San Fran .. Fun and in the center city

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mizpennyLane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2013

This was my first time in a hostel, usually staying in a hotel i really didn't know what to expect. But this hostel is an almost hotel like experience. The front desk is always manned and secure with only booked guests allowing to stay, the staff whilst generally also travellers are well informed, friendly and know the local area well. The lobby has such a friendly and welcoming atmosphere too.

The rooms, i stayed in 2 different mixed dorms and a private room. The mixed dorms were always clean, clean sheets were given on arrival and the lockers safe and secure. Pretty much every person i shared a room with was fantastic and i even made some of the coolest friends ever just from people sharing the same dorm.

In one dorm the shower was a little cold and week on pressure, on mentioning this to the staff within hours a new shower was fitted which was lovely and warm and blasted out of the shower. Top service! Personally i couldn't think of any negatives about the rooms.

The private room was even better, this was hotel quality with a TV, fridge, microwave, art in the rooms and high quality beds. In fact my room was larger in size than the private hotel i'd booked on my first night and cheaper too! Fresh towels were provided here along with ear plugs and shower gel. Don't book a hotel, save money and book a private room here!

The common area was always filled with people, groups and solo travellers. At times you will have to put yourself out there a bit to meet new people but the hostel always had something going on every morning and every night, from free walks which i'll talk about in a minute to drinks nights.

The kitchen was always clean and there always seemed to be a station free to cook at. Places to label and store your food, never had any problems with thieves either. The free breakfast is hardly exotic but most hotels don't offer anything so it was great. Toast, bagels, fresh fruit and oakmeal along with free juice and coffee, a perfect start.

Theres a full movie room with cinema style seating, a library and a computer area, although this is hardly used thanks to the free Wi-Fi which for the most park works fast and flawlessly.

Theres a laundry to wash and dry your clothes which is cheap and has enough machines for everyone.

The activities though are beyond what i expected. The free walking tours are a blast, the guides are staff but they are friendly and full of info. I made some great friends doing these tours and whilst they took you to places you'd probably go to by yourself like China town they actually took you to interesting places within them you probably would have avoided.

The pub crawl is fantastic, a great way to meet and chat with others, cheap drinks and a great way to find your way around the hot spots of the city. In fact every single activity i did introduced me to at least one new person i had a great time with.

I almost wish i could live here because whilst the hostel is fantastic the people helped make it, so many interesting people from all sorts of backgrounds but no weirdos, probably because they only really accept foreign travellers than locals to the area.

If there is a downside its the closeness to the Tenderloin. The first thing you notice in SF is the huge amount of homeless people and drug dealers, even on main tourist streets and its no different in the tenderloin, a couple of blocks sandwhiched between polk street where all the pubs are, the hostel and market street where all the shopping is.

In groups its pretty safe, leave them alone and they'll leave you alone. If you are by yourself you'll probably have no trouble at all but it is a bit scarier. At the same time you can hardly blame the hostel, the Mariott and the Hilton are a block away from the hostel as are other hotels and hostels so its hardly like this one is the only place next to a dodgy area.

When ever i go back to SF, i'll be staying here as my first choice. Don't bother looking anywhere else, this is the best at a great price. Thanks to all the staff and everyone i met i had one of the best times ever. And as a first time hosteller i do worry this is the benchmark no where else will be able to meet.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tigaruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This hostel was my first time hostelling.....so really I wasnt sure what to expect! The hostel was very clean (which is a big thing to me...because lets be honest most of the time all you do is sleep there....too busy exploring of a day) and the rooms were cleaned daily and I was there for 5 days and it was always spotless. It is in a very good location for all transport, shops and sightseeing, although it is y the tenderloin area and there is a lot of rough sleepers and homeless people....but they are harmless.......and a warning San Fran is sooo HILLY haha!! The staff were all helpful and friendly and nothing ever seemed too much. The rooms (I stayed in a 4 bed dorm) were spacious and lockers provided is a god send.
Hostel life wasnt what I expected....but thats not a reflection on the hostel, more so the other people who stayed there.

The hostel put on lots of activities and I really enjoyed the Yoga in Catherdral.

The kitchen was great and fully equipped...allowing you to store food and cook whenever u needed and the FREE Breakfast was the best!!!

All in all a good stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenbolfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

I was really impressed with this hostel. It was very clean, well equipped (even free laundry powder in the laundry) and had really friendly and helpful staff (who were really knowledgable about San Francisco). I wasn't a big fan of the location (it is right in the middle of downtown/tenderloin, with its dirty streets surrounded by so much poverty and homelessness that you start to wonder why some countries give so much in foreign aid but leave some of their own with so little) but having said that, i found that in San Francisco practically all of the hostels are located in the tenderloin area or an adult entertainment district. The guests at the hotel were super friendly, with the kitchen and common areas both great places to meet travellers from around the world. Great work usa hostels!

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

It's in a very good location, very close to Union Sq. beware that if you take the wrong turn around the hostel you end up in a not-very-nice area.
The staff is friendly and helpful and there is a lively atmosphere.
The common/kitchen areas are in the basement and we did see a few cockroaches.
Rooms are clean but small.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alma_Casa7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at this hostel for a week during our travels. We checked in to a private room, not very big, but had all the essentials, such as a sink, TV, fridge etc. The staff are very friendly, and help out whenever asked.

The location is great, on Post Street, not far from Powell street, where Union Square is, the end of the tram line and a tube stop. All shops are close, food and retail. Stay closer that side, as Hyde St/Van Ness St wasn't exactly the nicest area. There is also a lot of homeless people around the area, but that can be said for the whole of San Francisco.

Breakfast is free and the kitchen/dining area is in the basement, it's do it yourself but decent! There's a choice of cereal, toast and bagels, with tea and juice. The kitchen can also be used to cook stuff during the day, as it's far cheaper than eating out every night!

All toilets and showers are communal, but was never a fuss as there was plenty to choose from. There's also a theatre in the basement, to watch films on netflix and join in with some of the activities the hostel had arranged. They have all sorts of tours to choose from, we went to a baseball game through them and it was dirt cheap, and met some awesome people too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Troy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#97 of 227 in San Francisco
2,274 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 227 in San Francisco
1,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 227 in San Francisco
5,053 reviews
Union Square
Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown
Financial District
Pacific Tradewinds Hostel
Pacific Tradewinds Hostel
#1 of 50 in San Francisco
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to USA Hostels San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about USA Hostels San Francisco

Property: USA Hostels San Francisco
Address: 711 Post St, San Francisco, CA 94109-6105
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 50 Specialty Lodging in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — USA Hostels San Francisco 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 3 blocks from Union Square and close to tourist attractions, this award-winning hostel offers value-priced dorms and privates. Rates include a daily breakfast of fresh fruit, baked goods, all-you-can-make pancakes and oatmeal daily along with fruit juice, coffee and tea. The hostel hosts daily free activities offering solo travelers and other many chances to make new friends and take home great memories. Most guests are young, international travelers and this is not the appropriate property for families with young children as the hostel has some late night events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your USA Hostels San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Usa Hostels San Francisco Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing