We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
USA Hostels San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 24, 2013

This is a really Great hostel, very clean and safe. Amazing staff who are friendly and informative. The location is very good close to Union square, public transport and attractions. Lots of activities and free stuff. Breakfast is pretty good aswel. I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dylan_crosbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

678 - 684 of 1,218 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Hostel is very clean and safe. Location is close to everything. the Staff are super friendly and helpful. Had a 4 bed female dorm with ensuite and cannot fault room. Breakfast is pretty good too. Conveniently has an ATM in Lobby and a conscience store across the road.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rach91177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

On first impressions this place is quite rundown looking and the lobby room isnt very welcoming. (they were going through repairs) However, the staff make up for that. Very friendly people to greet you. The rooms were good, provided with your own locker (i was in a 4 bed all F room) and you have your own outlet by your bed which was great! I can imagine it would be quite noisy on the first floor because of the lounge downstairs but i had no problems on the 2nd floor.
Convenience store right across the st where your able to buy your own alcohol and drink it in the lounge. Good kitchen facilities.. and despite what some reviewers have said about the free breakfast - i thought it was more than ample and a rare plus staying at a hostel. I never expect free breakfast..
If i was to come back to San Fransisco though, i would try and find a place in a bit nicer area of town. But it is very conveniently located!

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise from basement lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We got a private en suite room. Very clean and spacious. Go for it, spend a little more to have some privacy, a view and a big toilet. Felt like a hotel, but hostel price.
Breakfast is FREE. Yummy bagels (lots of them with different flavours), fruits, cereals,...more than any other hostel will provide.
Very nice kitchen area. Very clean
oh ya, free coffee & tea 24/7!!

Free super fast wifi internet!!LOVE!! You can connect wifi in your room, not like other hostel, only in the lounge area

There is a lift for your big luggages. Staffs are forever helpful and answer all questions.

Less than 5 mins walk to Powell Cable Car, or just hop on the cable car infront H&M (jst around the corner)
1 min walk to Union Square
2 mins walk to yummy Chesse Cake Factory

Lot's of activities, but too bad we didn't have time to join any.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shirniong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

It was my first time staying in a hostel. I really enjoyed this hostel for it's location and cleanliness. The free breakfast was also very enjoyable. I stayed in a 4 bed mix, and I loved the fact that there was a sink in our room. The showers were very clean, our beds were made every day. Some people complain about it being noisy, I do not have any comments on it as I did not find it was noisy at all. The only thing that was less than nice is that they lock the kitchen after a certain time. We went on one of their pub crawls, (which I do NOT recommend) and when we got back for a snack, there was a pad lock blocking off the kitchen area. I don't know if this is normal for hostels, but at 23y/o I'd like to be the judge of when I want to eat. Other than that, service was good a part from 1 of their front desk persons. Airport Shuttle was 25 minutes late for pickup. I would still recommend staying here as the location is great!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AcadianTraveler_1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Nice room, great location, friendly and helpful staff. The clientel were nice but since I was there just a few hours (to get sleep), I interacted primarily with the front desk staff. All were VERY helpful. I was glad I got a single room that happened to have a sink (it also had a microwave and refrigerator which I didn't use). As someone traveling alone, this was a pretty good value for my money. There were many homeless people around the area. That was the primary downfall for the location. I also felt the clientel left the showers a mess (with their trash) and the halls and elevators had beer bottles and cans left by others in corners. I appreciated the make your own/all you can eat pancake breakfast and juice/coffee in the morning.

Room Tip: I like my privacy. I got a single room with a sink (and microwave and refrigerator). As an older (mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DKS65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

As far as hostels go, this one is top notch. We stayed in a private room with bathroom, so it was basically like a hotel, for a lot cheaper. Very clean, we'll maintained. Prime location. Fun activities too, the pub crawl was great.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Music City Hotel
#116 of 230 in San Francisco
422 reviews
Financial District
Pacific Tradewinds Hostel
Pacific Tradewinds Hostel
#1 of 54 in San Francisco
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Francisco City Center Hostel
#7 of 54 in San Francisco
446 reviews
Union Square
Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown
Adelaide Hostel
#10 of 54 in San Francisco
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to USA Hostels San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about USA Hostels San Francisco

Address: 711 Post St, San Francisco, CA 94109-6105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 54 Specialty Lodging in San Francisco
Price Range: $48 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — USA Hostels San Francisco 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 3 blocks from Union Square and close to tourist attractions, this award-winning hostel offers value-priced dorms and privates. Rates include a daily breakfast of fresh fruit, baked goods, all-you-can-make pancakes and oatmeal daily along with fruit juice, coffee and tea. The hostel hosts daily free activities offering solo travelers and other many chances to make new friends and take home great memories. Most guests are young, international travelers and this is not the appropriate property for families with young children as the hostel has some late night events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your USA Hostels San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Usa Hostels San Francisco Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing