We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,277)
Filter reviews
1,277 results
Traveler rating
605
496
126
26
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
605
496
126
26
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbed dormfree pancakeshostel offersdaily activitiesprivacy screenbig kitchenunion squarepost streetgreat facilitiespower outletsprivate bathroomcommon roomcommon areaspublic transportclean roomstenderloinfew blocks
Filter
Updating list...
732 - 737 of 1,277 reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed at this Hostel for about a week and loved it. Its in a great location just a couple of blocks down from union square. I stayed in a private room and it was super clean. Wifi throughout the hostel is fast. This hostel has Activities everyday posted up on the board in the lobby. Free breakfast which is not to bad. Pancakes, Bagels and fruit. All staff in this hostel seemed super friendly and they were all willing to offer advice and help you out. I was on the 3rd level so i barely ever heard any loud noise. Would definitely stay in this hostel again!

Room Tip: Room 307 never got noisy!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hayley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

For the people writing bad reviews they act like they've booked in at The Hilton Hotel! It's a hostel!! So yes you'll share with people and everything won't be perfect.
I loved my stay at USA hostels. I have previously stayed at Hollywood and immediately decided to choose this place when visiting San Francisco. I was surprised its in a old building but they make use of it very well. You get your own bed light and two plugs to charge stuff next to you as you sleep, or if you are more worried about your stuff you get a locker provided with plugs inside to charge more stuff while having a shower. It's great I have stayed in hostels where there is only two plugs to six people- that's not good.
Rooms get cleaned everyday. I booked a four share female dorm with shower toilet included and was worth it.
Breakfast options were great for hostel. Fruits, toast, porridge, cook pancakes, juice coffee/ tea offered
They offer walking tours which in downside get cancelled frequently but drinking tours will mostly go ahead. So I say never rely on them for walking tours get a map and do solo or do an open bus tour San Francisco have STEEP roads.
I did notice a funny smell in reception area when I first checked in, maybe went away as I got used to it or they cleaned up the smell.
If anyone wants a good location, breakfast and meet other solo travellers this is the place to book.

Room Tip: The usual bring ear plugs and eye covers. Pad lock (big one) to lock stuff away while showering/ sleeping or out for the day
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Superbluestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Great location, close to union square. Free breakfast is good enough. WiFi is free and fast. Lots of free tours and activities every day.

I recommend doing the free walking tour, its awesome! The guide is fantastic. Pictures are attached. Private rooms are a little small. But the hostel is generally very good.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeepakTailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

The best thing about this hostel was its location - only a couple of blocks from Union Sq. Transport is very accessible to this address also. The worst was the very dirty bathrooms and kitchen. The noise at night sometime got unbearable due to neighbors but the street noise on weekends is hard to sleep through. If I were to stay heat again I'd ask for a room towards the back of the hostel. Also, the wifi is very intermittent on the upper floors.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sk1bunnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

This hostel is in a great location, close to all public transport and tourist destinations. The staff where all friendly and happy to help, there is a lot of activities provided by the hostel and information around the hostel on how to get to places and things to do. The breakfast is ok and the atmosphere in the hostel is friendly and welcoming. The rooms are good size hostel rooms and there are people of all ages staying here. I would stay with USA hostels again after staying with my mum here this time and both enjoying our stay!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingTeesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews