We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Hostel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
USA Hostels San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome Hostel!”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed at this Hostel for about a week and loved it. Its in a great location just a couple of blocks down from union square. I stayed in a private room and it was super clean. Wifi throughout the hostel is fast. This hostel has Activities everyday posted up on the board in the lobby. Free breakfast which is not to bad. Pancakes, Bagels and fruit. All staff in this hostel seemed super friendly and they were all willing to offer advice and help you out. I was on the 3rd level so i barely ever heard any loud noise. Would definitely stay in this hostel again!

Room Tip: Room 307 never got noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    549
    450
    113
    21
    21
See reviews for
23
171
498
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

For the people writing bad reviews they act like they've booked in at The Hilton Hotel! It's a hostel!! So yes you'll share with people and everything won't be perfect.
I loved my stay at USA hostels. I have previously stayed at Hollywood and immediately decided to choose this place when visiting San Francisco. I was surprised its in a old building but they make use of it very well. You get your own bed light and two plugs to charge stuff next to you as you sleep, or if you are more worried about your stuff you get a locker provided with plugs inside to charge more stuff while having a shower. It's great I have stayed in hostels where there is only two plugs to six people- that's not good.
Rooms get cleaned everyday. I booked a four share female dorm with shower toilet included and was worth it.
Breakfast options were great for hostel. Fruits, toast, porridge, cook pancakes, juice coffee/ tea offered
They offer walking tours which in downside get cancelled frequently but drinking tours will mostly go ahead. So I say never rely on them for walking tours get a map and do solo or do an open bus tour San Francisco have STEEP roads.
I did notice a funny smell in reception area when I first checked in, maybe went away as I got used to it or they cleaned up the smell.
If anyone wants a good location, breakfast and meet other solo travellers this is the place to book.

Room Tip: The usual bring ear plugs and eye covers. Pad lock (big one) to lock stuff away while showering/ sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Superbluestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Great location, close to union square. Free breakfast is good enough. WiFi is free and fast. Lots of free tours and activities every day.

I recommend doing the free walking tour, its awesome! The guide is fantastic. Pictures are attached. Private rooms are a little small. But the hostel is generally very good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeepakTailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

The best thing about this hostel was its location - only a couple of blocks from Union Sq. Transport is very accessible to this address also. The worst was the very dirty bathrooms and kitchen. The noise at night sometime got unbearable due to neighbors but the street noise on weekends is hard to sleep through. If I were to stay heat again I'd ask for a room towards the back of the hostel. Also, the wifi is very intermittent on the upper floors.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sk1bunnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

This hostel is in a great location, close to all public transport and tourist destinations. The staff where all friendly and happy to help, there is a lot of activities provided by the hostel and information around the hostel on how to get to places and things to do. The breakfast is ok and the atmosphere in the hostel is friendly and welcoming. The rooms are good size hostel rooms and there are people of all ages staying here. I would stay with USA hostels again after staying with my mum here this time and both enjoying our stay!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingTeesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

My sister and i stayed in this hostel for a week in December 2012 - our first hostel experience. It is in a great location close to shops and public transport. The free breakfast was great to full up on for the day. We had no problems with the wifi and would highly recommend this hostel as a place to stay in SF.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HRBNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I gave this Hostel a below average score mostly due to its lack of cleanliness. When staying in accomodation, whether hotel/hostel, the most important feature for me is cleanliness.

THE GOOD:
The staff were friendly and helpful.
The Location was great, 10min walk from Union Square

THE NOT-SO-GOOD:
The WiFi wasn't great but it worked, but it worked at least.
The room was beyond cosy, it was tiny.
Very little privacy, our window overlooked another room, I could have touched them.

THE BAD:
The Breakfast is crap! They state free breakfast. However, you'll get half a banana and some bread. Oh and some dodgy coffee. Good luck on that lasting you the day walking the city.
The worst feature by far was the SMELL. There was a terrible smell of urine throughout the hostel, for the entire week we stayed. The only place that didn’t smell was our room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aoifed001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#78 of 229 in San Francisco
1,340 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Music City Hotel
#119 of 229 in San Francisco
392 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#14 of 229 in San Francisco
5,230 reviews
Financial District
Pacific Tradewinds Hostel
Pacific Tradewinds Hostel
#1 of 50 in San Francisco
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to USA Hostels San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about USA Hostels San Francisco

Property: USA Hostels San Francisco
Address: 711 Post St, San Francisco, CA 94109-6105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 50 Specialty Lodging in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — USA Hostels San Francisco 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 3 blocks from Union Square and close to tourist attractions, this award-winning hostel offers value-priced dorms and privates. Rates include a daily breakfast of fresh fruit, baked goods, all-you-can-make pancakes and oatmeal daily along with fruit juice, coffee and tea. The hostel hosts daily free activities offering solo travelers and other many chances to make new friends and take home great memories. Most guests are young, international travelers and this is not the appropriate property for families with young children as the hostel has some late night events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your USA Hostels San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Usa Hostels San Francisco Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing