We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hostels I have stayed at”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
USA Hostels San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I booked this as part of my solo RTW trip, and I am pleased I did. The staff were friendly and helpful, when I needed to extend my booking they were more than happy to and didn't even make me move rooms, which during high season is pretty good. USA Hostels is well located for Union Square, and it's a short walk west to Polk with all the bars and restaurants.

The room (I booked an Economy) was clean and tidy, and for the main part quiet even though it was over the bar and socialising area. It was easy to meet other people, and the included breakfasts were great - free pancake batter to make your own pancakes with, and a good selection of fruit, bread and muffins to toast. There was also a tea and coffee machine which was handy.

There was a complete berk in my room, but this wasn't the hostel's fault & if I was really bothered I would have asked to move rooms.

All in all very happy with this place & would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for the dorm rooms with the ensuites - worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

711 - 717 of 1,218 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2012

I and 3 friends booked the hostel via the website for 3 nights. Arriving in SF Airport, we caught the BART to Powell St. From the station we dragged our bags all up hill to Post St where USA Hostels is. Arriving late reception is open all night which is great because we got there at 11pm. Once in the room they were nice and clean, good lockers even though it was a private room anyways. The bunk beds for the 4 of us were good and had one light and a power point which was impressive.
Bad – No toilets in room have to walk out into hallway, same with showers (which are very confined).
Good- Clean nice room, nearly all staff was nice, dining room was ok, and price was ok, $44 a night (split between 4 guys – private room).
On the last night we signed up for the pub crawl, good people came out and we had a ball. But the guide (not sure of name) looks chubby, had slicked back hair and was I believe Spanish or Mexican was a drunk fool by the end of it. I had no idea where I was when everyone dispersed (around Polk St area) I asked the guide, who by the way had to chicks in is arms.. ‘Which direction is the hostel in?’ he replied ‘I have no idea (drunk talk), I’m not your guide anymore, find it yourself Im busy’. I asked again he ignored me. Yep, so once I let him know what an idiot he was, I walked in the direction I thought we came. So without realizing it I walked into the Tenderloin at 2am on a Friday morning. It’s pretty much a few blocks from the hostel and it’s dangerous as hell. After walking through one street I saw drug addicts, a gang and about 11 prostitutes, they started yelling and coming closer, I got out of there very quick. Thanks to the guide and his lack of care and help I nearly got myself into a lot of trouble.
Beware anyone! Know where you are and don’t go past Geary St, you might be in a lot of trouble and girls beware of Mr To Cool Guide his a slick talking, arrogant, careless employee of this Hostel that nearly got me into a lot of trouble.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beauheme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

After 3 weeks round Europe, this all American, English speaking hostel was more akin to home.

We arrived at 2pm, as stated the check in time. However were told that the room wouldn't be ready til 330pm - would've been good to know this before!

We stayed in a private en suite room. This fitted our budget perfectly, well appointed with fridge, microwave. Bathroom was small but did the job,lcd tv was good too.

Breakfast was good, ample in supply (like most of our experiences with American meals).

It was a relief to use a washing machine and dryer that cost usd$5 (compared to eur20 in Luxembourg).

This hostel was perfect as there were other areas to hang out in and meet new people.

This hostel has shown us that we enjoy the facilities and will look to stay in places like this over hotels next time we travel.

One suggestion would be to have some uniformity on check in time, so that staffs knowledge matches what customers are shown.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ton3s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights in an all-girl, ensuite room. It's a clean, safe, organised place. It's a little pricey for a hostel, but all of San Francisco is. The little privacy screens are a good idea, as are the lockers. The kitchen is big and well-equipped. The breakfast is simple, but generous.

Room Tip: There did seem to be queues for the communal bathrooms, so if you can afford it, amybe go for an ens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sssshhhh80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed in private room for 2people and we enjoyed the stay very much. The hostel is basically closest to perfection it could get. The prices are reasonable, the location is great (block away from Union square) and all-you-can-make pancake breakfest makes a great start for a day. You get free wifi, there is laundry, payed computers and phones, all day free coffee and tea, vending machines..... Bathrooms are shared but clean and supplied with soap and shampoo even in 2am.

The staff is friendly and helpful. They can book you a trip to Alcatraz or as they did for us help to rent bikes (and they gave us great discount!) There is something going on almost every day (eg. movie night or guided tour of the city)

Definitely a perfect choice for accomodation in San Francisco.

Room Tip: rooms at second floor are close to laundry and kitchen but still it is far away if there is a party...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chicotomas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I've backpacked through Asia and spent many a night at a hostel. This was my first experience at a North American Hostel, and I was interested to experience the difference. The room was clean, albeit small, but the large bathroom made up for it. I booked 4 beds in a Female Dorm Ensuite. Unfortunately, my 3 companions who had never stayed in a hostel before were all horrified to realize that we had been placed in separate rooms! After a quick chat with my roommates, they agreed to move and all was well. I would like to suggest that they remove the plastic covering from the mattress and consider another QUIETER fabric to cover them. Also, shared rooms should NOT have squeaky doors. Just saying.., aside from that, clean kitchen, fresh coffee, comfortable lounge area with complimentary wifi and very accommodating staff made this hostel very comfortable for me. If you arent accustomed to hostels, this is a great property to start with! GREAT location as well !

Room Tip: Top Floor is quieter than main floor. If travelling in a group and booking a Dorm, ensure that you p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agentbenten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This place has great people manning the front desk and a really good vibe. It's in an amazing location - close to everything - and is filled with backpackers of all sorts. It is a typical hostel - rooms and hallways smell a bit funny, bunkbeds in the rooms, communal toilets and showers, etc. Still, for a hostel, the place is very clean and well-maintained. The pods in the beds allow for a bit of privacy in an atmosphere where none is familiar.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TorontoNd25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Music City Hotel
#115 of 230 in San Francisco
422 reviews
Financial District
Pacific Tradewinds Hostel
Pacific Tradewinds Hostel
#1 of 54 in San Francisco
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Francisco City Center Hostel
#7 of 54 in San Francisco
445 reviews
Union Square
Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown
Adelaide Hostel
#10 of 54 in San Francisco
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to USA Hostels San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about USA Hostels San Francisco

Address: 711 Post St, San Francisco, CA 94109-6105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 54 Specialty Lodging in San Francisco
Price Range: $48 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — USA Hostels San Francisco 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 3 blocks from Union Square and close to tourist attractions, this award-winning hostel offers value-priced dorms and privates. Rates include a daily breakfast of fresh fruit, baked goods, all-you-can-make pancakes and oatmeal daily along with fruit juice, coffee and tea. The hostel hosts daily free activities offering solo travelers and other many chances to make new friends and take home great memories. Most guests are young, international travelers and this is not the appropriate property for families with young children as the hostel has some late night events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your USA Hostels San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Usa Hostels San Francisco Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing