We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fine hotel in the tourist district”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
Ranked #95 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
Beijing
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A fine hotel in the tourist district”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Despite the fancy lobby and costumed doormen, the rooms are pretty standard, though slightly on the high end. The rooms are similar to the other Kimpton hotels in the area, which is to say they are fine for a stay of several days, and very clean. There is a modest fitness center with a few treadmills and ellipticals and some free weights. A Starbuck's is conveniently located on the first floor outside, and Walgreen's right across the street. For tourists it's great, for business travelers maybe a bit hectic.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maginitude9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    957
    1,158
    611
    262
    163
See reviews for
563
1,189
164
702
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (695)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Spent a week in SF at the beginning of June staying hereat the Sir Francis Drake Hotel. Upon On arrival we were greeted by the Beefeater- All of which were Great/Friendly.
Check in was smooth and the reception team were very informative of our questions.
The Hotel was beautifully decorated, well maintained and provided a great atmosphere.
The room was fantastic being more than what we had expected after reading some of the reviews before arrival, Very clean/well maintained, spaciou,s fantastic view of the city skyline -we were on the 14th floor .

Another pleasant surprise -
AS we were in SF to celebrate my 30th Birthday, in the room they had placed a bottle of bubbly on ice and a personalised card with Birthday wishes - this made my day after the long hours traveling from the UK.
Room service was Fab - good quality food/ Hot and arrived in good time.

Great idea to receive $10 off the bar etc. if you choose not to have your room cleaned by the maid daily to save on the environment.
Great service at the Bar with a special mention for Chelsey, who was absolutely lovely - So friendly and giving Fantastic service!

One little moan when the hotel is holding conference events or the Starlight room is busy in the Evening, Queuing for the lift for 15 minutes to get to our room was not ideal. In the end took the stairs to the 14th floor, which nearly killed us. Later one of the employees did inform us that we should have said to the security at the lift and we would have been let ahead of the queue. There were multiple disgruntled guests in these queues- Tip make the guest aware of this at check in.

Other than that The hotel was Fab!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mickey181218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim G, General Manager at Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Mickey,

Thanks for your great comments and 5 star rating; I can't agree more about the fantastic location and great associates. I'm glad that the staff recognized you on your 30th birthday and that you loved your room service. The food at Scala's Bistro is yummy for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Starlight room does get busy on the weekends and we offer an express elevator for our hotel guests so they don't have to wait too long. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

Enjoy your summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We found Sir Francis Drake Hotel on an internet search and didn't know what to expect other than that the pictures of the rooms looked very elegant and inviting. Upon arrival we were greeted by a bellman in full Sir Francis Drake costume and entered to a soaring lobby that boasts traditional decor including large carved moldings, marble columns, crustal chandeliers and wonderful furniture set up for a comfortable stay, next to a thriving bar. As a designer I appreciated the cool details. We got a complimentary upgrade to a 15th floor room with great views of the city, and the beds were very comfortable and luxurious.

Room Tip: Try to get a higher floor room for spectacular views of the Union square area.
See more room tips
Green Features: typical for most hotels today about water and towel usage.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank girlsingr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim G, General Manager at Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
girlsingr,

Thanks for the great review; It really means a lot when a senior contributor and designer loves that hotel. We have an excellent location (steps from world class shopping) and food and beverage options that are a must see during your visit.

Thanks for making me smile.

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, Ca
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

I researched hotels non-stop before our trip. Then decided on doing an express deal on Priceline since we were decided on staying near Union Square and the prices were all very high. Sir Francis is what we received. Initially, I was nervous because of some other reviews...but I completely regret that feeling of hesitation!
I emailed before the trip to request a pet free room and added some other requests to boot. When I arrived there was a sweet, handwritten welcome designed by Aleina waiting and a room with a view. I hit the wine hour which was lovely and the wine was surprisingly approachable. The lobby is a great place to people watch and the ambiance has that vintage feel with all the modern amenities. It was refreshing to have cold, fruit infused water in the lobby daily. Aleina was GREAT and completely remembered us and checked in on a random call to the front desk to see how our trip was going...so thoughtful!!
The top thing that made our trip and is the hook, line and sinker for our return is the AMAZING concierge Leif. This trip was a sister reunion and to celebrate many things including a graduation for my niece. We had made NO previous plans with the exception of buying tickets for Alcatraz & Angel Island (which sells out)! He recommended places to eat, marked up maps for us, got us great seats to Beach Blanket Review (which we couldn't of gotten by ourselves) at the last minute, called us a car for the airport, and printed our boarding passes. We wish we would of used him more for dining suggestions! He was enthusiastic and really made an effort to connect with us and make us feel special!! We just can't gush enough about him!! Top par concierge, best I have ever encountered! He just made us feel that he was happy to do it, which in turn made it easy to ask.
The hotel itself is in the PERFECT location. It was so easy to pop down to Union Square in 5 minutes. Everything was walkable. The reviews were right as it is old (but updated) but not a Hyatt. So if you want new, modern and sterile with no character-this is not it. It has been updated and is clean. We did check out some other hotels and didn't find them to top the Sir Francis Drake. The bathrooms are small....more hooks and shelving would be great but we managed as three women. The list of things they provide if you forgot something is extensive...they will even provide a flat iron if you need one! It was elegant and funky and I really liked that. Starbucks was just next store since I often missed their wonderful coffee bar in the mornings and Walgreens across the street for necessities. They offer a 10$ voucher for 2 days of your stay for the restaurant downstairs if you forgo housekeeping, but we didn't choose to do that.
We didn't make it to the Starlight Lounge. It had events nightly and a cover charge on weekends after 8. But next time we hope to ask for a tour. The gym is small but ample and a plus that they even have one. Cable cars are right outside, but we never got one because they were always full!!!
I took the BART from the airport. It cost $8.25 and was fast, direct and the hotel was easy to find four blocks up from Powell Station and I am a country girl who never uses public transport.
They stored our luggage for us on the last day while we enjoyed our last couple of hours together. All the staff members were friendly, but a few stood out and put that hotel on our map!! The also do price matching, as we told them we would want to stay annually but unsure if we could afford it without Priceline. BRAVO Sir Francis Drake! Thanks for making it an awesome trip!! And a special thanks to Aleina and Leif!!! Hope to see you again soon!

Room Tip: We enjoyed our room on the 17th floor...good view and far enough away from the Starlight Lounge so w...
See more room tips
Green Features: LOVE that they make an effort to care about the environment
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank finewine35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Great area. Rooms were clean, a bit old school pretentious decor. The staff was friendly. No cable, just regular channels for tv. You could hear street noise from the room. Used priceline to get a good rate. They had wine hour, which is nice, but didn't go. A close walk to Chinatown, Northbeach and transportation is very accessible. A bit of a business man vibe from the hotel. I'd probably stay in a more modern hotel the next time.

Room Tip: ask for room where it's a bit quieter. One nice thing, is I arrived early, and they swiftly gave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jgewirtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Mar, California
2 reviews
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We arrived around 3, stopped at the lobby bar for awesome lemon drops with friends. The Beefeater took care of our bags swiftly and with a great attitude even though we were double parked across the street with lots of traffic, he just dove in and got in done with a smile. It was the opening experience and set the tone for a great stay. In the morning we had the freshest lox bagel and cream cheese ever from Scala. Going back whenever we are in the city.

Room Tip: We got a junior suite which I recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowball770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Room, rate, location, people, price. Everything was just right. Walking distance to most things important. Upgraded my room with me asking. Rooms are updated and very nice. For business or pleasure, will stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbalch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#40 of 228 in San Francisco
4,552 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#13 of 228 in San Francisco
2,749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#69 of 228 in San Francisco
3,872 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 228 in San Francisco
5,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel

Property: Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
Address: 450 Powell Street, Union Square, San Francisco, CA 94102-1504 (Formerly Sir Francis Drake Hotel)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#48 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#58 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#70 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#75 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel, housed in a landmark building in the heart of Union Square, is quintessential San Francisco: exciting, romantic, timelessly elegant and unique. The ornately decorated lobby, old-world hospitality, and Tom Sweeney, the hotel's infamous Beefeater doorman, transport you to another time and place. The legendary Starlight Room, the adjacent Scala's Bistro and unmatched hospitality complete the picture to create an unforgettable San Francisco experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Sir Francis Drake Hotel San Francisco
Drake Francis Sir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing