We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kimpton Does Everything Well”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
Ranked #95 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Kimpton Does Everything Well”
Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

I returned for a one night stay and the hotel was accommodating of my rather early arrival and the room was appointed with everything the business traveller needs: Plenty of plugs and the offer to get you anything you forgot. I had breakfast at the restaurant next door -- Scala's -- and the omelet was great and the staff throughout was lovely.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank family019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    957
    1,158
    611
    262
    163
See reviews for
563
1,189
164
702
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (695)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
199 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Stayed here for one night. arrived late, hotel desk team was prompt and on top of it. Strawberry infused chilled water on arrival was refreshing.

Bonuses:

Great location just north of Union Square (lots of road construction, allow ample time to navigate via car or on foot).

Attractively decorated room with good use of tight spaces and scaled down furniture like dresser/sort of mini bar.

Came back down to front desk upon discovery that change of suitcase meant i had no toothbrush/paste. Front desk has an arsenal of items frequently forgotten at no charge.

Club members get free wi-fi and i also got a Raid the MiniBar card for $10 off.

Bed comfortable and comforter was suitable for mild climate vs huge overstuffed duvet that would do justice to Alaska in winter time.

Room service breakfast delivery was speedy - 15 minutes as promised.

Interesting offer in my room - have full maid service every other day to save flipping the sheets and get $10 coupon toward hotel bar or restaurant. Since i was staying only one night could not use this feature. What happens to housekeeper tips when their rooms get cut back?

Not so hot:

Microscopic bathroom suitable for one occupant only with sharp edges on sink. In the middle of night night scraped arm and then hip on it while navigating my way. Storage space on sink non existant, so used shelves mounted above toilet. Tip - close the lid before reaching for items.

In order to turn off the bedside lamp either need very long arms, or must get out of bed. People who designed the room and selected furnishings obviously never spent a night here.

Raid the mini-bar offer was bittersweet: no fridge so the liquor was room temperature, no been or sodas. Ended up settling for a Snickers bar that was three months past its "sell by" date from mini-bar selection. Would have been happy with a cold beer or a soda but no luck on this item. late arrival and room service ended at 11pm so was left with what was in mini-bar - meh....

Room service breakfast was a bowl of oatmeal and a small pot of coffee. After fees, charges and a small tip is was $27! If there is a next time i will get dress and go to Lori's diner across the street.

Bathroom plumbing left something to be desired. The cold water faucet in sink ran hot, so had to go back downstairs to get more cups of strawberry infused water vs drinking hot water with my vitamins.

Bathtub water was scalding hot and slow to fill the tub. Took a Navy style bath - wet down and then stand up in tub (no easy task in tight quarters with no grab bars) to get shower gel out of dispenser tanks mounted to wall at standing height vs. individual containers. Tip: if you use the tub make sure you have wash cloth on hand/dampen it and then put on rim of bathtub to improve grip to get out of the tub.

No leopard patterned bathrobe like i get at other Kimpton properties.

Room Tip: ask for room away from Powell if dinging and gear grinding of cable cars will bother you.
See more room tips
Green Features: interesting idea to forgo housekeeping in return for discount on dining/bar. Hate, hate hate the shampoo and shower gel mouonted to wall at standing height in bath tub - unuseable for people who want to use the tub.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank highlandbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2014

This hotel is conveniently located with cable car stop right outside their door. We were very pleased with the staff and their willingness to help. Our trip would not have been as enjoyable if it wasn't for Leif with the concierge office. He described the various tours and which ones would be best for us. We had such a great time on all the tours he booked for us. Definitely ask for him if you stay at this hotel. You will not regret it. We had a problem with noise coming from the Starlight Room on the 21st floor, and we had no problem switching rooms plus they upgraded us to a king.

Room Tip: Rooms underneath the Starlight Room can be noisy from the base.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie482014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

I had a great experience because the staff was willing to ensure I was a happy guest with my room location, amenities and prompt attention to my requests. I was pleasantly surprised to learn that repeat guests get a special welcome amenity which made me feel VIP.

Room Tip: Be prepared for charming rooms and not your typical cookie-cutter hotel room. This hotel has charac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MontereyLauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Hotel is very well decorated, rooms very well kept and clean, but too small ... Location is fabulous, right next to Union Square, restaurants and shopping ... without a doubt I would stay there again on my next trip ... love love location

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steelady1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

This is a beautiful hotel with a central location on Union square. The rooms are individual and have an air of luxury about them. The bathroom was small but it had a bath and shower so can't complain. As with all rooms in USA the television was a decent size.
The bar in the main lobby is beautiful - great service and great cocktails with chandeliers and comfortable seating where you can watch the world go by.
The most disappointing aspect was the parking - we have travelled from LA to vegas and onto here and this was the most expensive - $55 + tax! When you're staying for a length of time this adds up and so my advice is to research parking facilities. I'm sure there will be cheaper.
Other than that I would absolutely recommend. A great base to visit the amazing city of San Francisco.

Green Features: You can put a 'choose to conserve' sign on your door and instead of them cleaning your room they will give you $10 to utilise within the hotel for drinks, dinner etc.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linz01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

We were in SF celebrating my Birthday. We arrived at 11:00 a.m. and we're told our room wasn't ready and that if we were willing to wait, we'd be upgraded to a Jr. suite at no extra charge. We really didn't expect that our room would be ready since it was only 11:00 a.m. and were amazed at the offer of the upgrade. We were already very happy with how we were greeted and assisted by Eddie the Bellman when we pulled up to the curb out front. We checked our bags at the front desk and headed to the Giants game.

When we got to our room after the game, we found a lovely note with a Birthday wish and "Go Giants!" next to four good quality beers that were complimentary. That kind of personal service is unheard of. The room was gorgeous!

We had to call to ask for hand towels and wash cloths. I'm not sure if they were forgotten or if it was part of their "green" program. If you want a coffee maker in your room, you have to call and ask for a coffee maker and coffee to be brought up. We didn't notice there wasn't a coffee maker until in the morning. We'll remember and ask for one the night before the next time we stay.

The bathroom was plenty roomy but there was nearly no counter space. For ladies, there is no place to set out your makeup, hair brushes, or curling iron. I laid a towel on the toilet lid to add some extra work space. Many others have complained about this and I would think they might fix this issue,

Sign up for the Kimpton member program. It's easy, you get free WiFi, free wine in the evening, and $10 off the mini bar or any bar on the property.

SF can be snooty. It was refreshing to be treated so well! We will definitely stay at the Sir Francis Drake on our next visit.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pamela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#40 of 228 in San Francisco
4,552 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#13 of 228 in San Francisco
2,749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#69 of 228 in San Francisco
3,872 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 228 in San Francisco
5,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel

Property: Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
Address: 450 Powell Street, Union Square, San Francisco, CA 94102-1504 (Formerly Sir Francis Drake Hotel)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#48 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#58 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#70 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#75 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel, housed in a landmark building in the heart of Union Square, is quintessential San Francisco: exciting, romantic, timelessly elegant and unique. The ornately decorated lobby, old-world hospitality, and Tom Sweeney, the hotel's infamous Beefeater doorman, transport you to another time and place. The legendary Starlight Room, the adjacent Scala's Bistro and unmatched hospitality complete the picture to create an unforgettable San Francisco experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Sir Francis Drake Hotel San Francisco
Drake Francis Sir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing