We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay in the heart of S/Francisco...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
Ranked #95 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Stayed at SFD btw 14-17 June 2013. Had some initial issues after having booked for 6 (2 adults/4 kids) and being allocated a room which did not cater for 6 BUT after a call to reception all was sorted out and we were given a new room in the recently renovated part of the hotel (room 307). The room was very well appointed but lacked a few basics that I consider standard in a hotel room IE: room safe, fridge and a working phone and for the price per night we paid this was not really acceptable but we soldiered on. All in all a very nice room which catered week for our large family. On our first night we had a completely unacceptable situation where another guest was allocated our room and was issued a card to enter it which they did while we were all asleep after a long trip from Australia. Cannot not understand how this could happen. The hotel offered free continental breakfasts as an apology (which was appreciated) but after being abrubptly woken up it destroyed our sleep and prolonged our jet lag. The hotel itself is beautiful and is in the perfect location but it needs to iron out a few basic problems. On the plus side we had the pleasure of dealing with head of house keeping on out arrival (Mark - I think) and he was a credit to the organization and could not have been more helpful.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank Silverfox2204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim G, General Manager at Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear Silverfox2204:
Thank you for posting your comment. Although, I'm glad that we were able to move you to a different room, it is totally unacceptable that a key for the same room was made for another guest! I have already consulted my front desk staff the importance of not just double-checking, but triple-checking that the thing in this nature is NEVER an acceptable practice. I sincerely hope that you enjoyed the rest of the stay. Lastly, I do appreciate your mentioning of the name of our employee, Marc. Yes, indeed, he has been a great asset to the Drake and I'm happy to know that you have come across his service during your stay.
Sincerely,
Jim Gross, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,351)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,891 - 1,897 of 3,351 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Patrik I
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jim G, General Manager at Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Right off Union Square, this hotel puts you right in the heart of San Francisco. You can get anywhere you want (China Town, Pier 39, embarcadero, etc) easily from this location. The hotel isn't high luxury but its fun and funky, with clean rooms and a very pleasant staff. The lobby bar is nice and the view from the Starlight room is hard to beat. There sure are fancier options but you pay for them. This is affordable comfort in an amazing location.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank HoustonYankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim G, General Manager at Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear HoustonYankee:
Funky it is! Some would say "Ecletic", even "Unique"! Well, that's what you get when you take a historic building (circa 1928) and add $9mil worth of room renovation/modernization. It is indeed a "win-win" situation when you combine the convenience of our location without the "stuffiness" of our team and the service.
Thanks for visiting our Starlight Room, too. It does provide the view you will never forget!
Hope to see you soon.
Jim Gross, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel recently for three nights and was glad when it was over due to the size of the room, the street noise below our room and the TV noise coming from the room next to us.

The hotel itself is full of old world charm and character.

The problem for us was the room and bathroom were unbelievably small and street noise was extremely loud at all hours of the night and early hours of the morning. Hence we didn't sleep well.

Most of the staff were very happy and helpful but we probably would not choose to stay here again if we were to travel to SF in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim G, General Manager at Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear Lyn G:
The Drake is definitely an old world charm. One of the best things about our hotel is the location. It sits on a very desirable corner by Union Square. Many of them find that exciting to be in the middle of all hustle and bustle. I do appreciate your mentioning of our staff and the service they provided.
Regards,
Jim Gross, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We spend 3 nights there:
-our room: the king bedroom was really nice. However, our phone was not working + our bathroom was not clean at all - there were some long dark hair on the walls and on the ceiling. I think it's a shame when you pretend to be a luxurious hotel
-nice free wine tasting + nice bar
-location is very central. It's really easy to take a bus and visit San Francisco from there. However, Union Square is a little bit too touristic for us

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrien P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim G, General Manager at Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear Adrien P:
Thank you for posting your feedback. I'm glad to know that you enjoyed our bed and our wine hour. Also, thanks for letting me know of about a phone and the bathroom. I have already addressed these issues with the appropriate department heads and have asked them to do a thorough check on each room.
Jim Gross, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Stayed here for a business trip. My experience was wonderful, from check-in to check-out. The greeter, wearing signature dress was pleasant. Young man at the front desk accommodated me in the 20th floor as requested. Warned me about music from the 21st floor club. Which I was ok with. The beds were supper comfortable. And my view of union square was superb.

The decor is very San Francisco.

The food in scala's Bristol was superb. Wifi was free after sign up.

For seven days, I did not have a single complaint. I highly recommend this property.

Room Tip: If you don't want the noise from the club, stay out if the 20th floor. But I enjoyed it and it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlosmvaldes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim G, General Manager at Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Dear carlosmvaldes:
First of all, thanks for signing up for our Kimpton In-Touch membership! I am happy to know that your seven-day stay was wonderful. Many of our guests LOVE our beds and well, it sounds like you did, too!
Hope to welcome you back at the Drake!
Jim Gross, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Pleasantly surprised by the welcome and helpful "beefeater" at the door who helped us with our luggage. Highly recommendable if you like the elegance and dignity of the old world, in this case the UK. Location right in the heart of Union Square. Comfortable rooms, clean and quiet.

Room Tip: Excellent if you want to get the Downton Abbey feeling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derksen2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim G, General Manager at Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Dear Derksen2013:
Well, I am glad to hear that you were "pleasantly" surprised! Our doormen (aka Beefeaters) are icons within the SF travel industry and have been featured in many travel brochures around the world. As you mentioned, we offer the old world elegance with modern amenities. Yes, to top it off, we are right in the center of all the hustle and bustle! Very convenient indeed!
Hope to welcome you back at the Drake soon.
Jim Gross, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Nob Hill
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#34 of 230 in San Francisco
3,739 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Rex San Francisco
Hotel Rex San Francisco
#66 of 230 in San Francisco
1,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel

Address: 450 Powell Street, Union Square, San Francisco, CA 94102-1504 (Formerly Sir Francis Drake Hotel)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#48 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#58 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#70 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#75 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $168 - $566 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel, housed in a landmark building in the heart of Union Square, is quintessential San Francisco: exciting, romantic, timelessly elegant and unique. The ornately decorated lobby, old-world hospitality, and Tom Sweeney, the hotel's infamous Beefeater doorman, transport you to another time and place. The legendary Starlight Room, the adjacent Scala's Bistro and unmatched hospitality complete the picture to create an unforgettable San Francisco experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Splitty, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Sir Francis Drake Hotel San Francisco
Drake Francis Sir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing