We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“very nice and classy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sir Francis Drake Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sir Francis Drake Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Ranked #80 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
toronto
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“very nice and classy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The hotel has really nice rooms, very convenient location about 5 mins walk to union sq and cable cars were right outside the hotel. Bed was not really comfortable, didn't sleep very well. All the staffs were really kind and offered great service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wkong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim G, General Manager at Sir Francis Drake Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear wkong:

The Drake IS the place if you want a convenience, great service and the history all packaged into one! Hope you'll come back and stay with us soon.
Happy 2013
Jim Gross, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,867 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    906
    1,057
    545
    213
    146
See reviews for
501
1,084
152
632
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (633)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

In San Francisco for a conference and stayed a couple of extra days. Made it a point of going to the hotel since had heard so much about. Very disappointing. From the bellman at the entry more involved in texting than greeting guests....to sitting at the bar for 15 minutes without being acknowledged by the staff. Granted, it was very busy with only 4 other people at the bar. Can only say, been there, done that, and won't do it again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paravars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim G, General Manager at Sir Francis Drake Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Paravars:
I appreciate your specific comments on your recent stay. I'll address these to my department heads.
Regards,
Jim Gross, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I stayed at this hotel overnight on a business trip and it was perfectly lovely. I was particularly pleased with the stylish décor, the cleanliness, the comfortable beds and the lovely bathroom, which featured updated fixtures and marble. The hotel was quiet, comfortable and I would definitely stay there again on business. Note 1: The beds were full size beds, so the double room accommodates only two people (or possibly an adult and two small children). Note 2: There is a Starbucks practically next door for morning coffee and Union Square is right next to it. Note 3: There is no refrigerator.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aklindsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim G, General Manager at Sir Francis Drake Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear aklindsay:

Thanks for appreciating our stylish decor! There are several types of rooms which you can choose from: regardless, our beds are known to be very comfortable and our rooms are very very clean! Hopefully, you got to enjoy the convenience of our location, especially to the surrounding restaurants and shopping! If you didn't, these are on your "to do" list on your next visit to the Drake!
Hope to see you soon!
Jim Gross, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a week the hotel is very close to union square and the cable cars stop almost out front. There is a Starbucks you can get to from the hotel and across the street a Walgreens and Sears Fine Food. The hotel is lovely old world charm we had a couple of issues however the management and staff addressed them immediately very grateful for their prompt attention. Lovely time sitting in the lobby bar having a couple of drinks.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank LizSloman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim G, General Manager at Sir Francis Drake Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear LizSloman:

Thanks for staying at the Drake! Our location can't be beaten, can it? I'm glad to hear that things were taken care of. We all strive to make our guests' stay as pleasantly as possible!
Hope to welcome you back at the Drake soon!
Best,
Jim Gross, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Spent the night at the Sir Francis Drake over the holidays and had a wonderful time in this old San Francisco landmark. It is a Kimpton Hotel, so, you know that the refurbishing is at its best (no one takes care of the old classic hotels better than the folks at Kimpton). The location is perfect: right next to Union Square on the Powell Street cablecar line. The doorman, dressed in his classic Beefeater attire, greets every guest as they arrive. The lobby is beautiful and teeming with excitment. The reception desk is terrific with a friendly, helpful staff. We were given a top floor, corner room that had a view of Nob Hill. It was perfect for us and decorated beautifully. The bathroom was a bit small with a tub & curtain for a shower (but those smart Kimpton folks mounted large bottles of bodywash, shampoo, and conditioner so you just pump out what you need saving us from those little bottles that are so wasteful). The bed was very comfortable and made up with good, quality linen. The walls are a bit thin but, remember, it is an old, landmark hotel. Sometimes what you hear can be very inspiring! Now, those of you that read our "2forever1" reviews, know that we are not complainers nor try to write sarcastic, negative reviews; if we do not enjoy our visit, we just do not write about it. But, we do have to add a negative note to this review. Beware if you arrive by your own car. The cost is not the shock because they are very upfront about it when you make the reservation (it was $50 a night for us, plus $7 parking tax). What surprised many of us was the length of time it took to get the car in the morning. We waited over an hour for ours. We did not mind because we went into the restaurant and had a cappuccino and people watched (when life gives you lemons, you make lemonade). But other people were getting rather upset over the wait and some got rather vocal. So, allow yourself plenty of time to claim your car. And, do not yell at the doorman over the wait; it is not his fault. Now you are forewarned. All in all, you will have a wonderful time at the Sir Francis Drake. It is classic San Francisco.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room as close to the top as you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2forever1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim G, General Manager at Sir Francis Drake Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear 2forever1:

Wow...what can I say.. well, thanks for posting a thorough and thoughtful review! We definitely strive to work best with what we have, not only trying to keep the Classic and Historical building, but with the recent renovation to bring in some "New". Thanks for recognizing that!
Well, our parking rate is pretty compatible to other hotels in the vicinity.... And I admire your outlook in life...it's something we all can learn from!
Hope you'll visit us soon!
Happy 2013
Jim Gross, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great location, great staff, but the property is run down. The red carpet entrance is threadbare. Our room had the smallest bathroom I have ever seen. The window was flapping open and would not shut. We had to buy duct tape and tape the window shut. Another window was cracked. The front desk clerk said all the windows were bad, so we decided not to switch rooms. I would be embarrassed if I was Kimpton.
The staff was excellent, particularly the concierge and front desk staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RicardoColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim G, General Manager at Sir Francis Drake Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear CaminoWalkerColorado:

Did you know that our building is recognized as one of the historical buildings in SF? It was built in 1928 and we have gone through some major renovation in the recent year. Our location is definitely a huge plus, in addition to my great staff who is always here to greet our guests with smiles. Yes, my concierge staff is one of the best in the city and definitely know what's going on in the city!
Happy 2013
Jim Gross, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This hotel is very conveniently located right in the heart of San Francisco, by Union Square.

The public rooms are very impressive. Our bedroom had a great view of Union Square. We enjoyed the wine reception held late each afternoon.

There were a few downsides to staying here:

1. There are only four fairly small lifts (elevators) in this large hotel. Besides serving the bedrooms, these elevators carry those going to the popular Starlight Room at the top of the hotel. As a result elevators often took quite some time to arrive and, when one came, it was frequently full.

2. The ensuite bathroom was tiny with very little space for toiletries. However, it was nice that the bathroom had a window which opened.

3. The main body of our room was extremely well lit, but the walk-in closet was not lit at all and was therefore dark. The in-room safe was near floor level at the back of the closet, behind all the hanging garments. It could only be accessed by crawling on the floor, pushing our longer hanging garments aside and, as there was no lighting, using a torch (flashlight) to see the numbers on the door and to see within the safe.

4. The bed was exceptionally high, which would be difficult for short guests.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MSDSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim G, General Manager at Sir Francis Drake Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear MSDSK:

Thanks for visiting us! Sounds like you enjoyed our location and some of the amenities that we offered. Everyone LOVES our late afternoon wine hour!
As you might have noticed, our Starlight Lounge is a "go-to" spot for our locals and the visitors from all over the world and our elevators do tend to get used more often by the club goers... Were you able to visit the lounge? If you didn't, it's a well-worth visit!

Happy 2013
Jim Gross, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#33 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 3,913 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#9 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 2,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#8 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 899 reviews
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#76 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 784 reviews
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir Francis Drake Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Francis Drake Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Property: Sir Francis Drake Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Address: 450 Powell Street, Union Square, San Francisco, CA 94102-1504
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#44 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#59 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#70 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#75 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sir Francis Drake Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sir Francis Drake Hotel, housed in a landmark building in the heart of Union Square, is quintessential San Francisco: exciting, romantic, timelessly elegant and unique. The ornately decorated lobby, old-world hospitality, and Tom Sweeney, the hotel's infamous Beefeater doorman, transport you to another time and place. The legendary Starlight Room, the adjacent Scala's Bistro and unmatched hospitality complete the picture to create an unforgettable San Francisco experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Expedia, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Sir Francis Drake Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Sir Francis Drake Hotel San Francisco
Drake Francis Sir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing