We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Omni San Francisco Hotel(San Francisco)
$399
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$488
$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Parc 55 San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$223
$201
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$245
$212
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$240
$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Zoe Fisherman's Wharf(San Francisco)
$338
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
San Francisco Marriott Marquis(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$267
$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$390
$309
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$299
$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$458
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (3,477)
Filter reviews
3,477 results
Traveler rating
1,039
1,250
690
320
178
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,039
1,250
690
320
178
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstarlight roomscala's bistrounion squarelobby baryoga mathistoric hotelwine hourcable cartop floorrooms are smallstreet noisean older hotelqueen roompowell stvalet parkingfisherman's wharffew blocks
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,253 - 2,258 of 3,477 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile


Very nice hotel, wonderfull architecture inside. Friendly staff at reception. Loved the 'do not service room and get a 10$ voucher for use in the hotel' (don't forget to put the sign before 2am): this gets you a free glass of nice wine :-). Rooms can be very noisy because of neighbours (1st night we had a couple with a small child next door...). If your room includes breakfast, do not fall for the 'upgrade trap': the voucher equals 10$, but when taking anything else than the standard 2 choices of breakfast (that include coffee and orange juice) you end up paying for coffee and orange juice (an extra 7$) on your bill, which made the breakfast a bit hard to digest... Strange layout with the bathroom sink in the room and not in the bathroom. Next time I would stay here again, no problem!
Cannot really rate value as it was part of our whole package, but I would not pay the full price.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dany_C_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim G, General Manager at Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Dear Dany_C_71:

I appreciate your review!

Thanks for taking advantage of our "green" program by opting out the daily housekeeping service!

See you back at the Drake soon!

Jim Gross, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights, it is refurbished in keeping the era it was built in, the lobby whilst sipping a Martini at "bar" makes you feel like Frank Sinatra might walk in , The Starlight Room Brunch and Show at the top of the hotel was exceptional , we ate in the Restaurant attached to our Hotel more than once , it was called Scala's., The food was Old Italian, Delicious ,Service was impeccable.
Location was great ,Cable car stopped outside " THe Drake"
Prefect Weather!

Room Tip: HIgher Floor if you can get one!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clarence B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim G, General Manager at Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Dear Clarence B:

I appreciate your review. You are right, our complete renovation in 2011 added an unique charm to our historical building that was built in 1928!

Thank you for stopping by our restaurant, Scala's Bistro and a Sunday brunch at the Starlight Lounge!

Hope to welcome you back at the Drake in the near future!

Jim Gross, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Stayed for five nights, the room was clean with plenty of storage room. Having a safe in the room was very handy and the vouchers we received in place of room service is a nice touch. We used ours having an excellent breakfast in the restaurant. Coffee/tea in the foyer every morning made up for none in the room. Excellent location for the Bart from the airport and also for getting around S.F. All in all we had a good stay and would use this hotel again if we ever came back to San Francisco.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ollie65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim G, General Manager at Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Dear Ollie65:

Thank you for staying with us!

Your review on tripadvisor is very much appreciated!

See you soon at the Drake.

Jim Gross, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stayed here for a few days with my wife for the Dreamforce conference. The hotel is beautiful as soon as you walk in onto the red carpet, with the rich splashes of cherry, black, gold and silver. The pictures on their website do it justice.

All of the staff were friendly and down to earth from the moment we arrived until we left. The doormen, front desk, concierge, bartenders - all were just very friendly and great to talk to.

I think we were in a "Classic" room with 2 full beds. The room was much bigger than what we expected based on the pictures on their website. There was lots of room to move around and lay our luggage out. The bed was one of the most comfortable hotel beds we've ever slept in! The room also had a large desk for working and a big full size mirror. The bathroom was small, but it was very clean and stylish. Our windows overlooked the roof and walls of the hotel so we did not have a good view.

We went to the bar in the lobby as well as the starlight room, which is a restaurant / nightclub. The bartenders in the lobby were very, very good and friendly. The starlight room was on the 21st floor and provided a stunning view of the city at night. It was a good nightclub scene for the young professional.

The location was walking distance to major shopping and dining, including Chinatown and Fisherman's Warf if you're up for a nice walk through the city. There were lots of good restaurants and major stores within 1 - 3 blocks.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rycornell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim G, General Manager at Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Dear rycornell:

Thanks for posting a detailed review on your recent stay with us!

I'm glad to learn that you enjoyed our staff, service, the facility, not to mention sounds like you took a full advantage of our location!

Hope to see you back at the Drake soon!

Jim Gross, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

First of all, you need to join InTouch. Then when you stay at a Kimpton Hotel you receive some great perks--like free Internet and drink coupons. I stayed three nights and it was wonderful. The staff was friendly, the location was perfect and the bed was extremely comfortable. I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Betsy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim G, General Manager at Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Dear Betsy R:

Thanks for your wonderful review!

We all hope to see you soon at the Drake!

Jim Gross, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews