We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
Ranked #107 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf for 4 nights. Fantastic location a few minutes walk from Pier 39 and the streetcars to get to Union Square. Free wifi in the lobby gave reasonable access. Rooms clean, tidy and quiet. Didn't eat in the hotel as so many bars and restaurants close by to try out. No complaints and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TazLab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Tarnia D,

We are so happy that you had a great stay at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf. We agree that our location is perfect for exploring all of San Francisco. It is also nice to hear that you would recommend us to others.

We hope to welcome you back.

Sincerely,
Michael Hirsch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,896 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    716
    1,574
    1,048
    372
    186
See reviews for
1,131
1,420
109
436
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (692)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dry Ridge, Kentucky
Level Contributor
172 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Great location and a nice place to stay. Read other reviews about needing work but our room was good although no fridge etc., just bed and bathroom. Concierge was great. My problem is with the price I paid for my stay with the 50% coupons we received from Sheraton in Scottsdale last year. I see someone booked on Hotwire for half of what I paid with my coupon and than got another night for less than the 50% off I received. I guess it will be a long time before I use a Sheraton again if this is the way I get special treatment. I'll also not consider their time share setup with these properties as these are the people who gave me the coupon.

Room Tip: Use Hotwire
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigjake392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear bigjake392,

We were happy to see a four star rating but regret that you felt to did not receive the value you wanted. We do offer a variety of rates and packages suited to many Guest needs. Hope that you will consider returning in the future.

Sincerely,
Michael Hirsch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beds, UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

This was the final stop of a 3-location holiday. Virgin Holidays had suggested this as a classy end to the trip. Sadly, it was not up to standard.

Despite the recent makeover, there were loose electric panels in the room, badly fitting doors, and ageing fixtures and fittings (the shower head was called the "Anystream 2000"!). But the worst feature was the huge aircon unit beneath the window INSIDE the room. This was not just old, and unsightly, but also very noisy. We changed rooms to a Pure room, which was the same thing with the addition of a slightly less noisy air purifier. The bathrooms in particular felt old, with small 3/4 size baths.

On the plus side, the bed was comfy, the pool looked OK (we didn't use it), and the firepits were usually taken so presumably they're good. The cafe in reception was serviceable, but not a place to linger. The breakfast room was so uninviting that we didn't bother with it. The staff were polite but not as warm as we'd experienced elsewhere. The location is the best thing going for this hotel.

For the money, I expected more, and I'm sure San Francisco has other, better hotels for our next visit.

Room Tip: Reception thought the inner rooms were quieter. The real noise comes from your massive aircon machin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Chadwick110,

Thanks for the feedback. It was nice to read that the staff was friendly, you enjoyed the fire pits and beds were comfy. We take your suggestions in mind as we plan for the future.

We hope to welcome you back.

Sincerely,
Michael Hirsch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed at the Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf on the first leg of our honeymoon in October 2012.

The hotel was recommended to us by our travel agent in Australia - we had the choice of staying in the two most popular areas of San Francisco, this being either Union Square or Fisherman's Wharf. When we arrived in S.F, we visited both locations and were happy that we had selected to stay in Fisherman's Wharf. Union Square is right in the CBD and the heart of S.F, but Fisherman's Wharf for us offered more of S.F, this being the location to dockside restaurants serving chowder, to the seals on the wharf and to our boat to Alcatraz.

The hotel is very well located for all of these attractions and it is not too far to get a cable car or bus to the main area of S.F. We walked to a tour guide at the S.F cable car turnaround point without any dramas at all.

The hotel itself is only on a few levels and sprawls across a large area. The hotel, although clean and comfortable, did not offer anything overly "special", but that was not an issue for us as we were there to see S.F and not just sit in our hotel. We ate out most days/nights so cannot comment on the restaurants, but our room was spacious, clean and comfortable so we had no complaints at all.

We recommend this hotel for its location to the Fisherman's Wharf attractions and in my opinion these were the best things to see in S.F.

Room Tip: If possible, request a room that does not overlook the bus station next door to the hotel. Althoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanberraLocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley H, Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear CanberraLocal,

Thanks for sharing your experience. The title "Convenient and Comfortable" sums it up. So glad you were able to enjoy San Francisco while staying here.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf soon.

Sincerely,
Bradley Hansen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed here from 9/19 - 9/22. Booked the first 2 nights through Hotwire for $137/night, which was a great deal. The third night was booked through the hotel itself which totaled about $277 including taxes. Awesome location and great for families and tourists. This hotel is listed as a "4-star" hotel, but it's really no better than an average "3-star". You're basically just paying for location. Parking is ridiculously overpriced at $46/night and there is no free wifi in the rooms ($16/day if you do). Rooms were fairly clean, bit a bit small (We had a 2 double-bed) and no fridge or microwave. No military discounts whatsoever so that was also a bit of a disappointment. Like I mentioned earlier, it's the location you're paying for.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley H, Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear MarkNeil,

We are glad you enjoyed our location and hope you enjoyed exploring San Francisco while you were here. Thanks for top ratings for location and value.

Sincerely,
Bradley Hansen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Sheraton is very convenient to everything at the wharf and within walking distance of pretty much everything, the Wharf, Chinatown, Little Italy, Cable Car, Lombard St. And all the piers. Clean rooms and excellent staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Tom M,

Great to hear that you loved our location, accommodations and our staff! It's wonderful to know that you had a nice visit to Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf.

Come back soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PASADENA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

The location of the hotel is excellent. Breakfast buffet was plentiful. Jenn was so helpful. Each day we talked to her before venturing out. The concierge had very good ideas all the time. Room was lean and bath was small but clean. Workout room provided a good workout for what they provided.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JO ANN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley H, Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear bambijojo55MD,

Thanks for the nice comments about your stay at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf. It's nice to know that you enjoyed your stay, especially our talented Concierge staff.

We hope to see you back soon.

Sincerely,
Bradley Hansen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf San Francisco
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf ...
#70 of 227 in San Francisco
920 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#49 of 227 in San Francisco
1,830 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Tuscan
The Tuscan
#58 of 227 in San Francisco
4,019 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel

Property: Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
Address: 2500 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94133-1450
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#50 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 531
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel is steps form Pier 39, Ghirardelli Square, Alcatraz Island, and the Cable Car lines. We have 9,000 sq ft of indoor/outdoor function space and 531 luxurious guest rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Despegar.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton San Francisco
San Francisco Sheraton
Sheraton Fishermans Wharf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing