We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for visiting Fisherman's Wharf in San Francisco”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
Ranked #108 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lodi, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Place for visiting Fisherman's Wharf in San Francisco”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed at this Sheraton over the July 4th holiday period (three nights). We have stayed at this particular hotel numerous times over a 20 year period. It is our favorite place to stay when we visit San Francisco due to its proximity to many activities we like to do. It is about a ten minute walk to most places in the wharf areas. We did not drive our car anywhere during our stay because the SF public transportation is easy (rail cars come right by the hotel). We had a "club" room on the fourth floor (top floor), with a king bed and couch. The room is nice sized and comfortable. The hotel lobby area has a small bar and pastries place, there is also a breakfast venue but I would rate it as pretty dull and ordinary. Drinks are good. This area has a minimalist, metro flavor to it with wifi. While I like nice comfy chairs and couches this isn't it. It's okay though. Outside, along the side of the hotel are glass enclosed areas with fireplace pits for those who like to sit outside and enjoy a snack, beverage or a smoke. The interior of the hotel is nonsmoking which is always our preference. During this time period and into the month of September, the America's Cup races can be seen by a short walk to several view areas along the bay. A fifteen minute walk along the Embarcadero will get you to the America's Cup Park where there is a concert venue, food court, many places to have a glass of wine and munchies, view the mega million yachts that belong to several of the billionaire sponsors for the races, as well as some of the racing sailboats. We liked being able to walk there from the hotel as driving and parking in this area is challenging unless you are familiar with the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LodiTraveler1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,017 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    754
    1,612
    1,069
    387
    195
See reviews for
1,185
1,462
111
442
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (715)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

This was out first visit to the Sheraton at Fisherman's Wharf. Like other hotels in the area it is expensive, but I guess you "just suck it up" because of the location. THe hotel is clean and quite large. We had a long walk to our room which was above what we thought was a car park. Wrong! Early the next morning we discovered it was in actual fact the Bus Terminal. At 5;00am we were rudely awoken as the bus engines were started to presumably warm the diesel engines up. No chance we can sleep through that, so watch a bit of TV before heading down stairs for breakfast. Too expensive for a very basic self serve deal. Much better off quality and price to head across the road to i-Hop.

We have stayed at the Radisson previously and found that to be less than satisfactory therefore the move to the Sheraton. We will definitely be back to San Francisco, but will try another hotel at Fisherman's Wharf. Would appreciate feed back on the best in the area.

Room Tip: Avoid the bus terminal side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graeme J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We were torn between here and the Hyatt so we decided to bite the bullet and buy on Hotwire and see which we got. We ended up with the Sheraton and I was a little disappointed but once I got there ALL disappointment was swept away. This is one of the only hotels right at Fishermans Wharf, we basically had to just go down a block and we were in the middle of the action. The hotel was quiet but like many other guests we definitely heard the street noise. We had a 4th floor room but still heard the noise. There is an F line stop and trolley stop nearby. The Big Bus and the City Sightseeing tours are both close by. Everything is within walking distance to Pier 39. The "cafe" was pricey ($10 for a yogurt and milk for my 3 year old) but there is a 7-11 on the next block.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Great staff at front desk and concierge made this a better than usual Sheraton. Great location, close enough to the action but far enough away not to be manic. Good concierge staff made some of our tourist choices for us and they chose very well. No problem with reception giving us a little bit of extra time for check-out and the bell boys looked after baggage while we were out. All in all a great stay. Watch out for the rooms beside the bus station which are REALLY REALLY noisy early in the morning

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms close to the bus station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Polychrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed here for Labor Day Weekend last year and it was a nice choice. The location is amazing steps away from fisherman's warf, restaurants and bars along the water. You can also walk to take a tour of alcatraz. The hotel was clean and comfortable, but not overly luxurious. $349 a night, which is typical of San Fran. My advice, don't park in the hotel it is like $50 a night, instead park on the side of the street and just wake up early to feed the meter.

Room Tip: Park on the side of the street and pay the meter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A_Ruizcalderon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We enjoyed a weekend stay at the Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf, choosing this hotel just for it's location and walking distance to everything we wanted to see for the weekend. Just a short walk to Fisherman's Wharf, Pier 39, and Ghirardelli Square. We also walked the famed Lombard Street. The Sheraton itself is old, as is everything else in this vicinity, however, it was clean, the lobby inviting, the rooms comfortable, the staff was very pleasant and helpful, we were checked in early, and as Starwood members, received a late checkout upon request. Although there are several other Westin's in and around San Francisco, I believe we made the best choice with Sheraton, given we wanted to spend time in this location. In addition, you are very close to the Cable Car stops and can virtually ride them to see more of the city. Concierge was quick and knowledgeable about the areas.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnninAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location only a block from Fishermans wharf, and easy walking distance to Pier 39 and Cable car stop, however the hotel itself certainly doesnt live up to the Sheraton name.Rooms although very clean are very basic with the smallest bathroom I have ever seen! Very old fashioned airconditioning unit which was very noisy also we were on the ground floor overlooking the entrance and the traffic noise was awful, speaking of noise, rooms not very soundproof and frequently heard conversations in room next door and in hallway.They seemed very slow at collecting room service trays, a tray left down the hall from us with leftover breakfast meal and fruit salad took two days to remove! disgusting and there were many others that were left well over 24 hours. You can also only get free wifi in the lobby, if you want it in the room there is a daily charge. We didnt have a car but I believe it is $50 a day to park also the breakfast buffet costs $24 per person however there is a Ihop across the street also a Safeway and Walgreens which is useful. Overall I think this hotel is overpriced for what it offers and believe other hotels in the area offer better services and value.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dineyann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf San Francisco
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#44 of 229 in San Francisco
2,054 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
#63 of 229 in San Francisco
4,112 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel

Property: Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
Address: 2500 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94133-1450
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#50 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 531
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel is steps form Pier 39, Ghirardelli Square, Alcatraz Island, and the Cable Car lines. We have 9,000 sq ft of indoor/outdoor function space and 531 luxurious guest rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Starwood, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton San Francisco
San Francisco Sheraton
Sheraton Fishermans Wharf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing