We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“The noise, God please stop the noise! I wouldn't stay here again for the next couple of years.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
Ranked #111 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Petoskey, Michigan
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The noise, God please stop the noise! I wouldn't stay here again for the next couple of years.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

This cute hotel is not someplace you can stay for the next couple years. Apparently, the city is building a subway system all around this hotel right now. I am in an interior courtyard room and it is noisy. Furthermore, this is supposed to be a non-smoking hotel. The hallway outside in my room stinks of smoke. I suppose I could be a one time thing but since it's so noisy I'm Upset. I wouldn't stay here for the next couple years.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greenleaftalking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    677
    1,518
    997
    354
    181
See reviews for
1,072
1,353
107
414
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (657)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

I found the hotel okay, and I got a decent price and thought I received a bargain. The rooms commensurate with what I paid. There are no refrigerators in the rooms, but most of all, the rooms reminded me of rooms in motels. The wall was thin too. Just an overwhelming feeling of underwhelming. The location is good, but parking is very expensive. The lobby has free wi fi, and you will find many people hanging around the lobby area. The common areas are decent, but the room itself is made for sleeping only.

Room Tip: Decent priced Sheraton, but you get what you paid for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Warren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
88 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

I stayed here for couple of nights in January 2013, upon checking in the receptionist was very nice and and friendly and the lobby area is actually very nice and modern, so it was a bit of a shock when I made my way to my room. As soon as I got off the elevator, I felt as if I was in my old high school - but the floors were carpeted. The corridors were absolutely freezing and the staircases looked like high school. It was old and rickety, something that I did not expect from a Sheraton Hotel. I had to walk some way until I got to my room as one of the other elevators was broken. The carpet needs an update!

As soon as I entered the room, with the light still switched off and the light shining through the corridor, the bathroom walls looked like it was smeared with poo. I thought I was seeing things. Until I turned on the light and realised it was the design. Though, it is not the nicest thing to look at because all I thought about was, how much it looked like poo.

The room I had was very spacious, I had a big comfy double bed and also had a sofa. There was a sliding window/door, but it was rather rickety.

They have a cafe in the lobby and you can access wifi in the lobby for free, the lobby area is nice and spacious. They also have seating areas outside and they have enclosed fires in the seating area. It would be a nice area to chill and relax over drinks with friends but it was too cold when I visited to test that theory.

The hotel is just around the corner from shops and restaurants. They have a Bistro Boudin around the corner too. I would highly recommend visiting this place! I bought a sandwich from the cafe as the restaurant was busy and OMG, the sourdough turkey avocado is really yummy!!

There is also a 7 eleven for you to get drinks from, rainforest cafe, a lot actually, so you won't be bored! There is also a tour bus company in the area too.

If you wanted to catch the bus/tram into town to go to golden gate park, transport is really easy -there is stop right outside the hotel. The hotel is also near Lombard Street and the port that takes you to Alcatraz.

I didn't eat here, though did have some hot chocolate from the cafe, so I cannot comment on the food. Service was OK, I would consider staying here again if I were to visit but the décor is in serious need of updating - because the lobby and the floors above it do not match. It is like you're in a different hotel entirely.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zeva2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

We were in San Francisco for a family wedding and took advantage of the group rate at the Sheraton. After reading some of the reviews here, we weren't expecting much, but were pleasantly surprised with our accommodations. I found the room to be clean, well equipped, and spacious. The bed was beyond comfortable and the staff helpful and pleasant. The fire pits along the entrance looked inviting and I left wishing we had had the time to enjoy a drink fireside. The bathroom was a tad small; it would have been an issue had we brought our children along. We flew into town and were very easily able to use public transportation (BART and streetcars) to get us everywhere we needed to go. The streetcar stop right down the block was most convenient. In addition, there are plentiful restaurants, shops, and attractions within walking distance. Leave your car at home if you can, because the parking rate is outrageous. Skip the pricey hotel breakfast and head down the street to The Hollywood Cafe. You'll get an enormous plate of deliciousness with a side of SF sourdough toast. Overall, a pleasant stay.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mossleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shell Beach
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Funky and rooms are somewhat dated. It's in a great location if you plan on visiting the wharf area but other than that its an clean/safe place to stay. The road noise was a bit much if your window faces the courtyard so bring some ear plugs.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CoastalCouple_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owatonna, Minnesota, Usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Location is one block from wharf, early morning to get the fresh bread and get some coffee, then take a walk to see the sights from walking the beach with a view of the golden gate bridge to the Oakland bridge, I will say if you get a chance to see the Oakland bridge at night, wow nice job on who ever worked on that one, you need to see! For a young family to see sea lions on the wharf or any kid at hart and a walk down a different pear will take you to see old boats and ships that a club is restoring. You can hitch a ride on the trolley about two blocks away to china town to do some shopping and people watching. The only bad thing was the early shut down of all restaurants so that late dinner could be out.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orange
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

I had the pleasure to stay here in March prior to boarding our cruise. We stayed for 2 nights. We had a late check in and they were well prepared for us. Very nice and efficient front desk personnel. The rooms were very nice and the beds were comfy. The location was fantastic for the Wharf. The only negative and why I would subtract a star is the concierge, who is very nice and good, is too overworked. The wait time to speak to him is at least 10-15 mins and I was only number 2 in line. Please get another one for the weekends.
If my travel plans include SF again, I would definitely stay here.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank JodyLorri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf San Francisco
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf ...
#61 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Tuscan
The Tuscan
#41 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,929 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#44 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Whar...
#32 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel

Property: Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
Address: 2500 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94133-1450
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#49 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 531
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel is steps form Pier 39, Ghirardelli Square, Alcatraz Island, and the Cable Car lines. We have 9,000 sq ft of indoor/outdoor function space and 531 luxurious guest rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Starwood and Odigeo so you can book your Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton San Francisco
San Francisco Sheraton
Sheraton Fishermans Wharf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing