We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, Service needs improving”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
Ranked #108 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We recently stayed at the hotel and arrived later in the day (appx 6pm). The lone woman at the checking counter greeted us, but said that we were only to receive two beds vs the King we specifically requested ahead of time. (No response to a previous e-mail request) Good thing we had our confirmation as she was a tad rude and would not bend, stating that they did not have any king rooms. Only when we expressed our displeasure and hinted that we should be talking to a manager, that she found a room for us....right above the parking garage entrance (Rm 1612). The single pane windows offered no noise attenuation and interrupted our sleep a bit. Room was clean, bed very comfortable, toilet could not have been any closer to the floor. Walls truly are paper thin and you can always here people coming and going and doors slamming. Concierge was very friendly and helpful. Grabbed a seat by the outdoor fireplace and went inside for a wine and cafe au lait, which apparently to the overworked waiter, was a regular coffee. Internet is $15/day. Overall, it is below Sheraton's normal standards that we have experienced elsewhere and they could pull up their socks. The location is really good and close to the wharf and transportation. We would stay again and ask for a better room, and hope that the check-in staff had a tune up.

Room Tip: We read elsewhere that inside rooms are much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nexxem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us at the Sheraton Fisherman’s Wharf. It is a disappointment to read that you encountered issues with check-in and we will look into any additional training that may be needed at the Front Desk. We do our best to accommodate for room type requests and we typically can always provide the requested room, but our policy states it is not a guarantee. Fisherman’s Wharf is a very bustling area and occasionally our double paned windows do not filter out the noise to our guests preferences. We do offer a wide variety of upper floor and courtyard rooms that are ideal for light sleepers. Please feel free to contact my office on your next visit to San Francisco and I’ll be happy to reserve one for you. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,268)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,214 - 2,220 of 4,268 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed in San Francisco for our vacation and priced our room through Priceline. We expected alot for a 4 star hotel. We thought the location was excellent. The valet parking was pretty expensive, but if we parked ourselves it was the same price. The desk was courteous and helpful. The concierge was very helpful as well. the room was a little crampy and tight. The bathroom was very tiny and somewhat dated. The beds were average in comfort. We were not thrilled with the hotel for what we were expecting. We will look for another location the next time for comfort. We were hoping for more from Sheraton as we have stayed at others in the past.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buffalomoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to connect with us at the Sheraton Fisherman’s Wharf. We are pleased to hear that you found our location to be perfect for all that San Francisco has to offer. Thank you for sharing your accolades for our associates, we appreciate hearing that their hard work was acknowledged. I have shared your comments regarding the room décor and restrooms and we will look into enhancements in the future. Thank you again for your feedback and we do hope that you will consider the Sheraton Fisherman’s Wharf on any future stays in San Francisco.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We had a couple of days here on our way back to the UK. Lovely big room and superbly comfortable bed, and nice fluffy towels. The concierge staff cld not have been more helpful and the hotel had a very pleasant atmosphere.
The heating/aircon unit in our room was the noisiest ever so we turned it off - oucky it wasn't really needed in February.
Considering the standard of the hotel the housekeeping was a bit hit and miss (glasses from our room service the evening before were still there in the afternoon and the coffee wasn't replenished), but overall we were happy with our choice

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mindyournose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the large guestrooms, Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Beds with fluffy pillows and the helpful and attentive staff. I have shared your comments regarding the HVAC unit in your guestroom with our Engineering Department and we will look into this matter immediately. Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again next time you are visiting the US.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I did not think that this hotel lived up to the Sheraton name at all. The price was decent, but add on all the extras and it was disappointing. Parking.. extra. Internet access.. extra. The room was clean, but small. No extras in the room, like I've come to expect with less expensive hotels. I have no complaint with staff, they were all friendly and helpful, however I would not recommend this place to anyone I cared about.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnHubbard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

We are disappointed to read that you did not have the experience we strive to provide to our guests. Parking is very limited in the condensed city of San Francisco and I can assure you that our parking prices are very comparable to hotels in the area. We are pleased to hear that the room was clean and that the staff was friendly and helpful. It is unfortunate that you would not recommend our hotel and we would truly appreciate an opportunity to show you what a stay at the Sheraton Fisherman’s Wharf should feel like. Please contact us directly at craig.schwan@interstatehotels.com should you be looking for a hotel stay in San Francisco. Thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Pretty nice place for the price too.
Cons:
They did not have coffee in the lobby and the parking lot validation was kind of a hassle. The wi- fi didn't work even though they sent a technician to the room at 10:00 pm -- I do give them points for trying.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moondr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Thank you for choosing the Sheraton Fisherman’s Wharf for your hotel stay in San Francisco. We appreciate your feedback and will discuss the option of providing coffee in the hotel lobby at our next staff meeting. We are sorry to hear that you encountered issues with your internet and are discouraged that there was not a solution to this issue. I can assure you that what you experienced with the internet is not typical of our hotel, but nonetheless would like to apologize for the inconvenience. Thank you again for sharing your feedback with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Stayed here with my girlfriend for 2 nights before flying back to Canada after a Pebble Beach golf trip. The staff were very friendly and helpful when we asked for suggestions on what to do in the area. The rooms are very nice and spacious, we had a king bed and it was AMAZING. Location is very good if you're looking to walk to a lot of the tourist spots, and is also walking distance to North beach and a few other cool areas. If you are looking at rates here, make sure to check if that includes parking which is $50/night. We popped in at 7:30pm without a reservation and managed to negotiate a pretty good deal for 2 nights after saying we'd walk around to the other 4 hotels within a block and check their rates. Don't miss the sea lions at Pier 39, it's a great way to be entertained while enjoying your morning coffee to go. If you want to go off the beaten path a bit, grab public transit to the Thirsty Bear brewery or the 21st amendment brewery. Great beer, great food, friendly locals.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Josh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

It is such a delight to read reviews from guests who experienced more of the local area then just the typical attractions. We always advise heading off the beaten path and our concierge team would be happy to provide some great suggestions. Thank you for your comments regarding the friendly and helpful staff, clean and spacious guestrooms and the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed. We appreciate all of your feedback and are grateful for your recommendations to our future travelers. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed here for a week in October and enjoyed it thoroughly. It was close to everywhere we wanted to go and the room was very comfortable. The only downside was that we had a view of the rooftop units but, since we didn't come to San Francisco to hide out in our room, it wasn't much of an inconvenience. :) Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bwhitford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Thank you for your recommendation and review of our San Francisco hotel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the comfortable rooms and the convenient location to local attractions. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#54 of 231 in San Francisco
2,460 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf San Francisco
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
#29 of 231 in San Francisco
419 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel

Address: 2500 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94133-1450
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#53 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $195 - $444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 531
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel is steps form Pier 39, Ghirardelli Square, Alcatraz Island, and the Cable Car lines. We have 9,000 sq ft of indoor/outdoor function space and 531 luxurious guest rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton San Francisco
San Francisco Sheraton
Sheraton Fishermans Wharf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing