We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the sticker price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
Ranked #109 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
chicago
1 review
“Not worth the sticker price”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed at the Sheraton for two nights in January. We received a good deal through a discount booking site. The hotel was listed at 4 stars and, although the final price was discounted vs. the going rate, the final cost was pricey. I didn't mind because the hotel bills itself as 4 star "luxury" hotel and I figured I was getting a good deal.

We were placed in a room on the far end of the hotel overlooking an alley/entrance to the parking garage. Not very attractive but we let it go because we weren't expecting an ocean view or anything and we planned to spend most of our time out exploring the city. But the room location proved to be a nuisance especially in the early morning hours when trucks were loading/unloading in the area. The "beep beep" sounds of trucks backing into the loading dock frequently awoke us during the night.

Also, we found the concierge service to be less than helpful. We needed a cab to get to the Mission District for dinner on our first night and the concierge very plainly told us to "walk out to the street and grab one". Given that experience, we called the front desk on our last day to confirm whether they could get us a cab to the airport of it we should get one on our own. The front desk told us the concierge would get one for us. At the desk, the concierge told us to wait in the lobby while he flagged us a cab. He came back several minutes later and told us he could not get a cab but got us a town car instead and that the town car would cost the same as the cab (about $45). Based on that quote, we proceeded figuring we were getting a good deal. When we arrived at the airport the town car driver billed us $65 - not at all what the concierge told us when he got us the car!! It was the final straw with the Sheraton and an unfortunate end to what had been a great trip.

Our overall stay at the hotel was definitely a low light to our trip. Very disappointing given the costs associated with staying there.

Final verdict: nice rooms, decent location but expensive, poor room assignment and unfriendly staff and service.

Room Tip: be sure to specify a room assignment away from the alley, parking garage and/or loading dock area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natalie o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGM, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Deare Natalie_o, thank you for the review of our hotel and kind remarks on our rooms and location. I do want to apologize for the misquote on airport trasportation provided by our concierge service. I have forwarded your comments to the owner of this 3rd party service for his follow-up with the concierge team to insure this will not occur again. I hope you will consider staying with us on your next visit to San Francisco and I wish you both safe travels and warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,080 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    760
    1,636
    1,090
    397
    197
See reviews for
1,218
1,480
113
447
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (719)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We've stayed twice in this hotel due to the location. If you are expecting the typical Sheraton property, you will be disappointed. Although fine for us, it's interior and decor is tired and in need of updating. The free Wifi is only available at the lobby (not the rooms) and is typically very slow because the number of guests who are also using the service. They also have a modest bar in the lobby - but the best part of the property are the fireplaces & couches outside - very nice and cozy. But if you use this hotel as your launch pad for touring SF, you will be very pleased you did.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank narrow-winding-road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGM, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear John_B, thank you so much for the review of our hotel and for the 4-star rating. I was pleased to hear you enjoyed our outdoor firepits and rated our staff service 4-stars as well. Although we offer a lower speed internet service at no charge in our lobby, we do have a high speed network connected to a fiber optic cable available throughout the hotel for a charge. We recently upgraded our service at significant expense in order to provide a 10 fold increase in speed and capacity for our guests. I do hope you will plan a return visit soon and I wish you and your family warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Banos, California
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Right from the gitgo we had difficulty finding the entrance to the hotel! Arriving at 9:30PM didn't help matters. We felt that the hotel entrance was not clearly marked. When we mentioned our frustration at the lobby, "Yes, we hear that a lot!"
The double-bedded room was comfortable. We felt like we were walking thru a maze to get there though! Bold blue and white striped wallpaper line the halls to each room. Going around a few corners you really felt it was like you were in a "maze". But, when you finally make it to your room, it is worth it!
The rooms had simple, but nice decorating touches. Nice flat-screen tv. Complimentary coffee and a small assortment of teas. No free wifi ($14+ per day extra in the room). Free wi fi in the lobby. Lots of space there to make yourself comfortable. Free USA Today newspaper.
Also able to buy food items - fruit, beverages, etc. We didn't use the restaurant. Concierge provided excellent customer service. She showed us menus of nearby restaurants and even gave us a 10% discount card. Kudos to Jennifer! Room attendant was also wonderful. Provided extra coffee with a big smile. This Sheraton is located 2 blocks from Fisherman's Wharf. Location is great for first timers to a beautiful city!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kgaribay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGM, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Kgaribay, many thanks for the review of our hotel and for the 4-star rating! I was pleased you found our rooms to be comfortable and experienced excellent customer service from our concierge service. Thanks also for your kind comments regarding our room attendant. I will be sure to pass your remarks on to both our concierge and housekeeping managers. Thanks so much for the visit, come back soon and warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights. Great location, close to the wharf, boats to Alcatraz and cable car. Nice hotel, recently refurbished, but do not expect any views (barely 3 floors). Lobby with plenty of compy armchairs and small bar. Great fireplaces for sitting outside!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on higher floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iamconstanttraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGM, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Aniku, many thanks for the 4-star review and for your kind remarks regarding our recent refurishment results and our outdoor fire pits. I was pleased you rated our service, cleanliness and rooms 4-star as well. Thanks so much for the visit and come back soon. Take care,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We recently stayed for five days at the Sheraton San Francisco. We are SPG and we were very happy with our room. It was clean, spacious and bright. The lobby area was a great place for a drink or a snack and the service was great. The best thing about this hotel is Jessie the concierge . He went out of his way to assist us with tickets, trips, transport and tourist advice. What ever Sheraton pays him is not enough!! Well done Sheraton and Jessie

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xxfivestarxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGM, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Xxfivestarxx, Wow! I'm so pleased to hear of your satisfaction with our concierge team. I most certainly will pass on your kind remarks to Jesse at the desk as he will be thrilled to hear he made a difference with your stay. Thanks so much for the review and we hope you both will plan a return visit soon. Take care and warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Went for my 50th Birthday spent 7 days from the time we arrived till the time we left everyone from the door man, check in, maid service and concierge staff were friendly, helpful and informative. For my birthday Sherton had sent me a bottle of wine and a box of
Ghirardelli chocolates this was very much a surprise and most appreciated. Our room was facing pool and fire pits which I recommend so you don't get the street traffic noise. The only
suggestion I would like to recommend is that the bathroom light be brighter. The hotel is
close to Pier 39 and in walking distance to alot of resturants. Don't rent a car you can get every where by the transportation system.
Recommend Hollywood Cafe for breakfast it was awesome but make sure you go hungry the omelets are huge. Thank you Sheraton for making my birthday so much more enjoyable.

Room Tip: Rooms pool side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGM, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Deborah_K, I am so pleased to hear you had a great vacation and that we played an important role in that happening! Thanks so much for the 4-star review and many thanks for the kind remarks on our staff friendliness and helpfulness. I most certainly will pass this on to our staff. And of course ... a very happy 50th to you. I'm so pleased you enjoyed this special event in our fair city. Thanks again for the visit and come back next year for your 51st! Take care, congratulations again and warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WI
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed here for the Packer/49er game. I had to review this hotel after reading how others had problems with the staff. I did not expeerience any such problems. The concierge staff was great and very helpful. They recommended places to eat and gave helpful directions. The room was nice and clean. The hotel is in a great location and close to Bodines, Hard Rock & Pier 39. My wife and I enjoyed our time at this hotel.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank YeahManWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGM, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear YeahManWisconsin, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for your kind comments on our helpful concierge staff. I was pleased you enjoyed the hotel and our location with proximity to Pier 39 and all of Fisherman's Wharf's other attractions. I hope you and your wife can return soon. Take care and warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf San Francisco
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#42 of 229 in San Francisco
2,135 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
#90 of 229 in San Francisco
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel

Property: Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
Address: 2500 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94133-1450
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#49 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 531
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel is steps form Pier 39, Ghirardelli Square, Alcatraz Island, and the Cable Car lines. We have 9,000 sq ft of indoor/outdoor function space and 531 luxurious guest rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton San Francisco
San Francisco Sheraton
Sheraton Fishermans Wharf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing