We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find for me, in spite of all I read”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
Ranked #110 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I had a two week trip to SJC, and decided to spend the weekend in SFO. The hotel was booked solid because of the 49ers game that saturday. I should start by telling you I am an SPG platinum, with over 100 nights per year. Yet in this stay, I could not get upgraded. This review is for a regular king-size room. No bells, no whistles. And it was still a very good experience.

Pros:
I liked everything about this hotel. The location is unparalleled. Simply said. Just steps away from a plethora of restaurants of all types and budgets, one block away from Pier 39. MUNI Line F passes right in front of the hotel, and the legendary cable cars are also 1 block away.

The staff in general was ok, but the Doorman and the night concierges are the best I have seen Even though they were evidently very busy, they always had a moment to come by, joke around and ask if there was anything I needed.

The room I got was facing "the inside of the hotel", which made it VERY quiet. I rarely heard a muffled and faint noise from the street. The 4th floor room I got, had a slanted wall that makes it feel Lofty. I actually thought it looked kind of cool. Even at that angle, the shades did a good job in keeping the sun out even in the morning sun. The room was spacious enough to handle a couple without compromises. Not too big, just right. Adequate desk, large LCD TV. Loveseat couch was a nice touch, besides a comfortable large chair.

The hotel has a simple, elegant retro look to it.

Cons:
Hotel parking is very expensive (US$45 per day), but all things considered, including the process of parking garages close to the hotel, this price was OK. Valet personnel NEVER extended their hands expecting tips. They were always prompt in bringing the car around from the Parking Garage downstairs. This made me feel I was getting my money's worth.

The hotel does NOT have Green Choice. Whilst this may sound like not important, it is to me. It did put a small dent in my stay's experience.

The hotel does not have an Executive Lounge.

Toilets will remind you of Europe. I think that even in a small bathroom as this, they could have done better with the toilet.

Anyway, do not hesitate. You will not be disappointed. It's a good value hotel, well priced, excellent location, friendly staff, awesome fireplaces outside.. Adequate amount of elevators, with no noticeable wait for a lift.

Room Tip: Find a room facing inwards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank compost1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGM, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear Compost1, many thanks for the review of your recent stay at our hotel and for the 5-star rating! I was pleased to hear you enjoyed the visit, our staff service exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed your room and design from our recent renovation. Thanks so much for staying with us and for your loyalty to Starwood hotels. Take care and a happy new year to you. Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,167)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,155 - 2,161 of 4,168 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2013

Definite upgrade compared to the motels & inns you find around the corners of San Francisco wharf area. The hotel staffs are friendly & professional. If you are staying at Sheraton & you have a car to park, save your self a little money by reserving the "parking package" rather than being charged separately for parking for an additional $45-$50/day. After we checked out, Sheraton allowed us to leave our car in the parking garage until 6 pm that day & total our parking stay to almost 2 days with no extra charge. Our room was very tidy. Love the flat screen TV and the heated pool view. They even thought about putting a retractable clothes line for wet swimsuits at the bath tub area. In room Starbucks coffee maker & 1 complimentary bottled water. No mini fridge or microwave. Overall, I am very happy & satisfied with this hotel. Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: We stayed at room 2417, great room, great bed, pool view and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGM, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Dear Darlene_M, thank you so much for the great review! I was so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our staff to be both friendly and professional ... and that you enjoyed our outdoor heated pool and found the hotel to be super clean. Thanks so much for the recommendation and I hope you both can return soon. Take care and warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Decor was horrible and low end. Room had no privacy. Either you had to have curtain open for some day light or to see outside or closed and use lights and no view. No privacy sheer curtain. Poor room ammeneties. 1 creamer per person...no shower cap...no magnified vanity mirror....to have a light on in the bathroom there was one switch for the vanity so the brite lite from the vanity came on and lit up the whole room...not worth the price

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kboggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGM, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear Kboggi, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for the 4-star rating for our hotel cleanliness and location. My apologies that the decor was not to your liking as we opted for a bright, colorful look to match our coastal location which tended to depart from a typical corporate Sheraton design. I certainly hope our service team made your stay memorable and I thank you for the visit. Take care and warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

This is a lovely and fancy hotel. The rooms are spacious and clean. If you can get it at a good price (booking.com or expedia.com), it's absolutely worth it. Pier 39 is a couple of blocks away. The staff are very friendly and check in is very easy. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: It's quite a big hotel but even if you get a far room, there is still an exit that is close by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali34xxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGM, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear Ali34xxxx, many thanks for the across the board 5-star review of our hotel! I was very pleased you found our staff to be friendly and that you enjoyed our spacious and clean rooms. Thanks so much for the visit, come back soon and warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

The hotel is sort of dated, but the room was big and the bed was comfortable. This is an EXCELLENT location for Pier 39 and Fisherman's wharf. The staff was nice. The parking was expensive and I think should be included. The room was 160, the parking 50 - ridiculous. The shower was great. The floors in the bathroom are pretty dirty if you have to get on the floor to look for an earring!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rudigm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGM, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear Rudigm, thank you so much for the review and the 4-star rating. I was pleased you found our location to be excellent and our service exceeded your expectations. I will pass on your observation to our Housekeeping team and hope you will plan a return visit soon. Take care and warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I booked this hotel for a family trip, 7 nights. My back was KILLING me by the 2nd night. I chose it because of the reputation of Sheraton's beds. After staying in the Scottsdale Sheraton & absolutely loving the bed, I was seriously disappointed at the awful beds at this location. I complained, they pretended not to know they were bad. No way they don't know! Breakfast buffet awful & triple price of IHOP which would have been an improvement. Room service trays sat in the hallways all day. Staff unseen except 1-2 desk clerks, who were not friendly, other than "drivers license and credit card please" not a word was spoken at check-in; nothing! The rooms are small for a family, there isn't a mini-fridge or anywhere to have a snack or enjoy room service. 2 beds, 2 chairs thats it.
The pool was decent though they lock up early, & the gas fire pits are nice. Too many hotels to try this one again.

Room Tip: Try asking for a room known to have a new or comfortable bed. Good luck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 365TravelRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGM, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear 365TravelRN, thank you for taking the time to relay your observations from your visit in March, 2012. You will be pleased to know that in the interim we have upgraded all of our beds to the new, updated Sheraton Sweet Sleeper bed design so I'm sure you will find our new beds to be the most comfortable in the industry. I hope you can plan a return visit soon and I wish you happy new year and warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This hotel was a good standard hotel, well positioned for all the touristy bits. The beds were comfortable, the breakfast - as has been mentioned previously - is hideously expensive, but there are plenty of alternative options in the area.

Tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms and we got a gift of a bottle of wine since we were on honeymoon :)

The outside firepits were lovely to sit and relax around - got talking to people from all over out there and the free wi-fi in the lobby was appreciated.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orlagh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGM, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear Orlagh_C, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel from your stay in August, 2012, and for the 4-star rating. I was pleased to hear you enjoyed the visit and specifically our outdoor firepits. I hope you both can plan a return visit soon and wish you safe travels and warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf San Francisco
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#49 of 230 in San Francisco
2,280 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel

Address: 2500 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94133-1450
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#49 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $167 - $471 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 531
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel is steps form Pier 39, Ghirardelli Square, Alcatraz Island, and the Cable Car lines. We have 9,000 sq ft of indoor/outdoor function space and 531 luxurious guest rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton San Francisco
San Francisco Sheraton
Sheraton Fishermans Wharf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing