We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would definitely stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
Ranked #107 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Would definitely stay here again”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

First thought- Location, location, location. This hotel has a great location. We walked everywhere when we stayed here. Very close to Fisherman's Wharf and a good location for walking everywhere (Coit Tower, Little Italy, Chinatown, etc). The staff was helpful, concierge recommended a couple restaurants which we enjoyed. The room was nice. Some reviewers commented on the decor that really threw them off. I disagree. I am not a hotel diva or anything, but I thought this hotel was great! The rooms were a good size, the beds were comfortable, the bathrooms were clean. We were very happy with this spot. The only downside was not having a breakfast with the stay but there aren't many hotels in San Fran with breakfast included anyways. There were plenty of great places to go for breakfast right in walking distance. Also some reviewers commented on issues with noise.... we had no issues with this. It was a great stay. Would stay here again!

Room Tip: We had a room on the 2nd floor overlooking the street and it was just fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MindykaySL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGM, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear MindykaySL, many thanks for the outstanding review and your reccomendation. I was pleased you found our staff to be helpful and you liked our unique decor and convenient location. I do agree with you that our Sheraton Sweet Sleeper beds are most comfortable, they are the most comfy in the industry. Thanks again for the visit and I wish you both happy holidays, safe travels and warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,897 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    716
    1,575
    1,048
    372
    186
See reviews for
1,132
1,420
109
436
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (692)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

Hotel has a retro feel. Looks recently updated and they did well with the colors and retro look. Rooms are really nice size. Small bathroom area but separate sink room from shower so that was nice. Beds extremely comfortable as well as the pillows. Hotel was close to Fisherman Wharf and plenty of restaurants. Walgreens, Safeway and Ross all in a close proximity. Ordered a drink downstairs and it was pretty good. Very friendly and welcoming staff. Would stay again and again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guesstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGM, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Guesstraveler, thanks so much for the visit and for the across the board 5-star review! I was very pleased to hear you had a great time and enjoyed our friendly and welcoming staff, and our comfortable Sheraton Sweet Sleeper beds. Thanks for the great review and best wishes to you for an enjoyable holiday season. Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 7, 2012

This hotel is located very well, close by to attractions on the wharf and very easy access to transport of all sorts including cable cars and old street cars. Only problem is it backs onto a bus yard, all night the buses are parked, cleaned, reversed with beeping ready for their routes the next day. The next day just happens to also start around 5am. So window of silence is around 3-5am! Worst sleep ever. Not warned or advised despite having two young ones with me. I was later told one third of the hotel does not face the yard.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisFromOz32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGM, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear ChrisFromOz32, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for the 4-star rating of our cleanliness, location and rooms. I do apologize you were disturbed by the nearby city bus parking area referenced in your review. We have very few rooms facing this area (less than 15% of our total number of rooms) and therefore try to block these from being sold when we are not projected to fill, however all of these rooms have been outfitted with additional soundproofing and double-paned windows to minimize any street noise. If you do return to the area, we do have a variety of upper floor and courtyard view rooms that are ideal for light sleepers, so please feel free to contact my office in advance so I can insure we block one of these for you. Again my apologies for the street noise and I hope you can return soon. Happy holidays and warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Christchurch, NZL
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

We were originally staying at the Radisson across the road, what can I say Sheraton offers more bang for your buck. Love the fire pits - it was raining and cold while we were in San Francisco. Wi-Fi is free in the lobby but you have to pay for it in your room. Won't complain about that as the lobby was bright, cosy and you can sit at the fire pits outside. If you're deciding where to stay Sheraton gets my vote. Beds are more comfy, rooms are brighter and bigger (well, look bigger, I didn't measure), restaurant on site - not the ihop next door and staff are way more friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicbloxnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGM, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Nicbloxnz, thank you for the outstanding review and for staying with us this past month. I was pleased to hear you enjoyed our outdoor firepits, friendly restaurant staff, ... and so sorry for the inclement weather while you were here. Thanks for noting our very comfy Sheraton Sweet Sleeper beds, they are the most comfortable in the industry and I hope you had a restful stay with us. Take care, happy holidays and warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
106 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights last weekend at the Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf. We were able to check in early and were in a room on the second floor at the end of the hallway. We overlooked a street corner, but it was fairly quiet. The bed was really comfortable, room was spacious, and the bathroom setup worked okay. We absolutely loved the location! So close to Fisherman's Wharf, Pier 39, Ghirardelli, the cable car turnaround/stop, Lombard Street, and Coit Tower. Also, our favorite part was the outdoor firepits. We enjoyed a bottle of wine while relaxing by those each night. We would stay at the Sheraton again when we're in San Franciso next!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WiscDoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGM, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear WiscDoll, many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel and for the 4-star rating! I was pleased to hear you enjoyed your quiet corner room location and our outdoor fire pits, and that you were able to see most of the major attractions in the immediate area. Thanks for the visit and I wish you warm regards for the holidays,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

You would expect to receive great service for the Sheraton chain of hotels, particularly in their home country of the USA, so we were not disappointed when we decided to stay during the Christmas period with our best friends the Owen's from Bristol, England.

The hotel is located in the Fisherman's wharf area of the city down next to the bay area. Getting into the city was a short hop on either the tram or a bus, both were as regular as clockwork and tended to take you via Market Street. Of course you can't visit San Francisco without taking the tram somewhere, which we did to our hearts content!

The Sheraton was a great hotel to base ourselves in, the staff were courteous and very helpful, their knowledge saved us some of the tourist pitfalls and certainly pointed us in the right direction of things to see during our trip.

The 'memorable stay' comment came when during the middle of the night we became aware of an older lady in our room who unfortunately had dementia and the security guard had unfortunately believed her when she said our room was where she was staying!
Suffice to say it was a minor incident that gave us all something to talk about the next day that had made the trip more memorable. The lady was eventually found her own room and all was well.

I would definitely stay again, though perhaps in the summer next time, so we could use the swimming pool that was available to guests, and appreciate more of the attractions that are too numerous to mention.

Room Tip: The rooms we had on the first floor were pretty quite facing toward the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGM, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Peter_T, thank you so much for the detailed review and for the 5-star rating of your experience. I was very pleased you found our staff to be most helpful, knowlegable and courteous and that you enjoyed the location with our many attractions. I hope you will be able to return next summer and we promise to reserve a spot for you and your family by our outdoor heated swimming pool. Take care, happy holidays and warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airrayd
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Check in was super fast! Great location, a few minute walk to the wharf! Rooms spacious and clean... comfortable beds. Starbucks coffee in the rooms. Love the fire pit seating area outside of the lobby. 100% Recommended!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank airrayd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGM, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Airayd, many thanks for the glowing review and 5-star rating for our hotel. I was very pleased you enjoyed the entire experience and that you found our Sheraton Sweet Sleeper beds to be comfortable. We think they are the most comfortable in the industry. Thanks so much for the recommendation and I hope you can return soon. Happy holidays and warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf San Francisco
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf ...
#70 of 227 in San Francisco
922 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#49 of 227 in San Francisco
1,830 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Tuscan
The Tuscan
#58 of 227 in San Francisco
4,018 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel

Property: Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
Address: 2500 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94133-1450
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#50 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 531
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel is steps form Pier 39, Ghirardelli Square, Alcatraz Island, and the Cable Car lines. We have 9,000 sq ft of indoor/outdoor function space and 531 luxurious guest rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton San Francisco
San Francisco Sheraton
Sheraton Fishermans Wharf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing