We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
Ranked #109 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not worth the price”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

This hotel is expensive, they ask extra costs for all sorts of things: filmchannel on tv, no refridgerator in the room, beds are not made, unfriendly personel, no free wifi.
Location is perfect, public transport nearby.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGM, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear R_B, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for the high ratings for our location and guest rooms. I do apologize you encountered a problem with our Housekeeping staff and I have reviewed your remarks with our Executive Housekeeper. I also apologize you were not informed of our free wi-fi service available in our lobby and restaurant. Thanks so much for the visit and I wish you safe travels and warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,023 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    755
    1,614
    1,070
    389
    195
See reviews for
1,187
1,465
111
442
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (715)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Rate this hotel quite highly but mainly because of the location. Very handy to Pier 39 and the Alcatraz cruise pier. also good for a morning run along the waterfront out to Golden Gate. The hotel itself is quite dated (as appears to be most buildings down Fishermans Wharf). Room was ok but nothing special. Service was very good considering it being such a large complex and check in/out both smooth. Would go back for the location and a fairly reasonable price for San Francisco.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMSSenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGM, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Spinks66, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for the 4-star rating of our staff service, hotel cleanliness and value. I was pleased you found our service to be very good and you liked our convenient location, adjacent to Pier 39, Alcatraz and the waterfront. I hope you can plan a return visit soon and I wish you safe travels and warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I spent six nights at the hotel at the end of September/beginnimg of October which is in a fantastic location and is really close to local transport i.e the tram line and also the cable cars. Fisherman's Wharf and many attractions are right on the doorstep.
Hotel room was to a high standard and we were very well looked after by our chambermaid who came in on a daily basis.
I also enjoyed the outdoor swimming pool which I made use of a couple of times.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dotwud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGM, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Dotwud, thanks for the great review and the high ratings for our location, value, service, cleanliness and rooms. I was pleased our Housekeeping service was attentive and you were able to enjoy the many attractions in the local area. I hope you and your husband can return soon and I wish you warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed at Sheraton Fisherman’s Wharf for 4 days and are so glad we did. This hotel has it all. Café Dining, great martini’s, awesome breakfast buffet, incredibly comfortable beds, newly renovated, etc. The staff is so friendly. The fire pits outside of the lobby are excellent for relaxing with a nice glass of wine in the evening or a warm cup of coffee in the morning. The location is only one block away from the Wharf itself and a very short walk to Pier 39, Alcatraz landing, Ghirardelli Square, among many other attractions. Some of the best dining in San Fran is located just steps from this hotel. There is a great hop on/hop off tour (Supersightseeing – ask for Willie) just one block away on Taylor Street that will take you to 17 other locations around town (Union Square, Chinatown, Little Italy, Golden Gate Bridge, etc). No need for a car at this hotel. If you are looking to stay in the Fisherman’s Wharf/Pier 39 area, this hotel cannot be beat. We will definitely choose this hotel again on our next visit to town. Best of the best in the area!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 000_111060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGM, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear 000_111060, many thanks for the outstanding 5-star review and for your kind comments on our friendly staff. You both certainly did a great deal of sightseeing in only 4 days and I was pleased you enjoyed the experience and the part our hotel played in what sounds like a perfect vacation. Thanks again for the visit and for the recommendation and I hope you can come back soon. Take care and warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maidstone, england
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

My daughter and I stayed here 26th Sept - 3rd October, We thoroughly enjoyed our time here, check in was painless only one person in front of us, we were given a room on the 3rd floor, and it was great, we overlooked a courtyard and the other side of the road had safeway shopping centre. The beds were really comfortable, and for once we both found a pillow we loved, for that thank you. The starbucks coffee was great, and just what I need first thing in a morning. We had plenty of room to hang clothes, store shoes, put away clothes in drawers etc. We used the safe, which was a useful item in the room.

I do not understand the comments about the bathroom, its not that small - have you seen some of the Parisian bathrooms, let alone a new build house in the UK!!! The door could have been better placed I grant you, but it was no big deal. The shower was brilliant, hot and what a force, the shower curtains really worked too, trust me the water normally goes all over the floor, not here. Thank you for the toiletries that were left for us.

The cleaning staff did a great job every day and always had a smile and a hello.

I also do not understand how you can complain about the noisy dustbin men, come on its not the hotels fault. Yes the first day they woke me up too, but thats life, I also got woken up by the cleaning crew that cleaned the safeway trollies, they were on the other side of the street but at least they clean them, again not the hotels fault. Its life get on with it.

Not having free wifi did not bother me in the least, I was on holiday do not want emails, facebook or anything else, so no problem with that either.

The concierge was good enough to arrange a town car service for our trip back to the airport, he was a nice guy, Alex, very reasonable cost and that went smoothly.

The hotel is in a great location for the all the trams, buses, cable cars, piers, wharfs etc., you couldn't pick a better hotel for that.

I loved the decoration, bright colours, brilliant, I felt it suited the hotel and its location.

We sat outside a few times by the fire pits and watched the world go by, very relaxing.

I wouldn't hesitate in staying here again if I was so lucky to get back to San Francisco, its a great hotel, with good staff, who always seem to have a smile on their faces no matter what their jobs are.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 3rd floor, we found it very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGM, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Annpan, many thanks for the 5-star review and for your kind comments on our concierge team and smiling staff. I was very pleased you and your daughter enjoyed the visit and that you found our Sheraton Sweet Sleeper bed to be comfy. Thanks for the visit and I hope you can plan a return visit soon. Take care and warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

While the lobby area is very nice and comfortable, the halls and walls of the hotel are like a boat. I get the Fisherman connection, but it's too kitschy and needs upgrading. The food is outrageously priced and I'm from NYC. $5 for a Kashi bar, over $3 for a Starbucks tea that costs $2.50 @ Starbucks.

Free wireless was sketchy except in the lobby. Outdoor fire pits, good wine selection, and the gym are the only things keeping this from a poor rating. Expected more from a Starwood family hotel.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Janine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGM, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear j29NewYork, thank you for reviewing our hotel and for your kind comments on our signature outdoor firepits, wine selection and our new Sheraton Fitness center. I do apologize you found our food pricing to be high, however we are competitive within San Francisco hotels and generally higher than other areas of the country due to the high cost of living in San Francisco. I hope you enjoyed the area even though you were here on business and hope you can return on a leisure trip in the near future. Thanks again for the review and warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This is a decent hotel in a great location, but there are some major problems. First, who schedules the dumpster/compactor to be picked-up at 7 AM on Sunday morning? It woke up the entire block. Unfortunately, our entire floor had been awakened at 6:30 AM by Sheraton security looking to reunite Mr. Gordon with his lost wife. I've got one word for you fools: discretion. Look it up! And while your at it, wise up.
The room would have been ok if the deadbolt actually locked, the night stand drawer actually opened and the shower actually drained, but hey...if they don't give a crap about waking you at 6:30 AM on a Sunday morning.....why would they worry about the comfort and safety of their rooms? Don't pay full price to stay here. Use Priceline and you can book a night for a hundred bucks. You'll need to save every penny because parking will set you back $51.30 a night. On the plus side, the staff is very friendly and they will let you check in early if they have rooms available. Don't be shy about asking.

Room Tip: There is no where safe at 7 AM on Sunday morning. The unloading/loading of the dumpster/compactor so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bogusmalarky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGM, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Bogusmalarky, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and my apologies you were disturbed by a noisy trash pickup that early in the morning. The hotel is at the mercy of city services and the time they select to make their rounds, however we do meet with the trash vendor on a regular basis in an attempt to keep such pickups to a reasonable window. I will again call our contact with the service to insure they know an early pickup did take place during your recent visit. I was pleased to hear you found our staff to be very friendly and I do hope we can host your next visit to San Francisco. Just let me know and I'll block a room away from the compactor area. Thanks again for the visit and I wish you warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf San Francisco
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#43 of 229 in San Francisco
2,059 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
#62 of 229 in San Francisco
4,116 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel

Property: Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
Address: 2500 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94133-1450
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#50 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 531
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel is steps form Pier 39, Ghirardelli Square, Alcatraz Island, and the Cable Car lines. We have 9,000 sq ft of indoor/outdoor function space and 531 luxurious guest rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Starwood, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton San Francisco
San Francisco Sheraton
Sheraton Fishermans Wharf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing