We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over-priced, needs updating, musty smelling”
Review of Seal Rock Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seal Rock Inn
Ranked #154 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Petaluma, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Over-priced, needs updating, musty smelling”
Reviewed July 21, 2010

Rooms are incredibly small, Furniture is from the 1970's. No screens on the windows. Service was adequate.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hsublow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    97
    24
    21
    22
See reviews for
64
76
20
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
yosemite
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 6, 2010

well...the location is good for the price. but if u plan on getting a microwave in the room when u get there there wont be. the heater rattled when it was on and the refrigerator was basically a freezer. i never ate at their restaurant so i don't know how their food is. if u want to put up with that then u got yourself a room.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kotsdoom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2009

Although the Seal Rock Inn is further out than most hotels, I really enjoyed my stay. Walking distance from Cliff House, bath ruins and with views of the "seal rocks" it's very peaceful in comparison to the busy city center. Roomy accommodations (albeit a bit dated), some with ocean views. And- with free parking, it's a San Francisco gem!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fontram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2009

A friend that lives in San Francisco recommended that we stay here. We were disappointed when we first arrived - the carpet was old and the room smelled musty. But after we opened the window and door and got some fresh air in, it wasn't so bad. This room is going to be renovated next month.

Very helpful and friendly staff. We had a problem with the coffee maker and they brought us a new one right away.

You are a a couple of hundred yards uphill from the ocean. Across the street is Sutro Park which has a beautiful jogging trail. Down the hill are the ruins of the baths. Louies restaurant and then the Cliff House. Further down the hill a mile or so the beach flattens out and you have the Beach Chalet restaurant.

We did not rent a car, so the Muni service was a must. The buses park next to the hotel and one leaves about every 5 minutes. They go all the way downtown, or you can stop off at Trader Joes or get a pizza at Dominos. Bus fare for seniors is only 75 cents, but its $2 for everyone else so you might want to get a pass if you are not a senior. They don't check IDs.

The restaurant downstairs is fabulous. Great food and very reasonable prices. They do a lot of business with people who live in the neighborhood.

It was overcast every day, but the sun came out the morning that we left. I imagine the sunsets would be fabulous on a sunny day.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluedevil65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2009

Always wanted to stay here great location for walking beach and trails but room photos and hotel photos and amentities are not correct. We stayed on room 102 for four days come to SF once a month for a least a week. Have stayed all over there are much better choices for value. Room advertised as having kitchenette however all cupboards and dishes are locked up you have to pay extra to use. Pool photo on website is nice but actual pool is filthy and you wouldn't want to use. There were slime smudges on furniture and tables. Shower head was like standing under an old pipe. Head is clogged and didn't work properly. Linens were clean, carpet was newer seemed clean. Beds were comfortable enough. Room overall had bad feeling big tv console in akward position table shoved in kitchenette. Very strange. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yacht_vayacondios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2009

We stayed here for one night on our trip to San Francisco. The staff was friendly and helpful and there was free parking which is unusual in SF. Our room was older but huge with a view of the ocean. Bathroom was small but clean. It was walking distance to lots of things including Cliff House, Louie's (a great little place for breakfast) and a beautiful park with view of the Golden Gate Bridge. We had a wonderful time here and would definately stay again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamaka66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis, MO
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2009

As a former San Francisco citizen, I returned after 10 years to vacation near the Cliff House. I chose the Seal Rock Inn solely because of its proximity to the Cliff House and beach. Huge mistake. The room, though clean, had not been renovated in any significant way since the 60's. Even the most basic cosmetic improvements were ignored, including patched wallpaper in the ancient toilet, funky old rugs, bedspreads and a generally gloomy ambience, that for the nightly price of 175 dollars was absurd, considering the ready availability of cheaper, more modern and centrally located hotels downtown. I got the impression that the owners had a "take it or leave it" attitude toward the customers. If this lack of attention to renovation was intended to add to the "charm", it fell very short. We have traveled extensively throughout Europe and the US in every style of accommodation. Believe us when I say that this place is sub par for the price. I would best describe this place as a tired, cheerless place with no charm whatsoever, and is comparable to the youth hostels that one can find in foreign cities. Couple that with the fog and wind that you will experience in that part of the city and you will have a miserable time! We were very disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MizzouStLouis_MO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hote...
#100 of 228 in San Francisco
463 reviews
Haight-Ashbury
Stanyan Park Hotel
Stanyan Park Hotel
#152 of 228 in San Francisco
203 reviews
Haight-Ashbury
The Metro Hotel
The Metro Hotel
#30 of 228 in San Francisco
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rodeway Inn & Suites San Francis...
#160 of 228 in San Francisco
126 reviews
The Richmond
Geary Parkway Motel
Geary Parkway Motel
#114 of 228 in San Francisco
314 reviews
Mirage Inn & Suites
#153 of 228 in San Francisco
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seal Rock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seal Rock Inn

Property: Seal Rock Inn
Address: 545 Point Lobos Ave, San Francisco, CA 94121-1499
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #154 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated next to the quiet, scenic surroundings of Sutro Heights Park and Land's End, we are located away from the noisy downtown traffic and crowds, yet still in the city in a resort-like location. We are just a block up the hill from the historic Cliff House and a few steps further to miles of beach along Ocean Beach. Enjoy a wonderful breakfast or lunch at our own restaurant which serves all day and every day. Our spacious guest rooms, many of which have excellent park and ocean views, provide our guests with many amenities including free high-speed Wi-Fi , cable TVs, dual-line phones with voice mail, free locals calls, in-room iron/ironing boards, and hair dryers. Other hotel amenities incude complimentary but limited covered parking, a private patio with swimming pool, ping pong and badminton. All our guest roomsrooms are non-smoking and some with fireplaces. So if you are ready to try something different in San Francisco then consider us as your home away from home along San Francisco's ocean front. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seal Rock Hotel San Francisco
Seal Rock San Francisco
Seal Rock Inn San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing