We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and convenient”
Review of Seal Rock Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seal Rock Inn
Ranked #152 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Rohnert Park, California
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Comfortable and convenient”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We chose the Seal Rock Inn because of its price and its proximity to the two attractions we would be visiting that weekend; the California Academy of Sciences, and the Legion of Honor art museum.

On the plus side:
* The parking was free (a rarity in SF!)
* The room had a partial view of the ocean.
* There was a kitchenette that included a small fridge, micro, sink, and coffee maker.
* The room was spacious and included two extra little sleeping sofas, with plenty of room to roll out a couple of sleeping bags if you're traveling with friends/family.
* The shower was spacious and the water pressure was good.
* The desk was large and included an Ethernet cable for wired Internet access if you're working.
* There was free WiFi.
* There was a pool, though we didn't use it.
* There were ping-pong tables if you have kids who need something to do.
* There's a restaurant that was convenient for a quick breakfast.
* It was a quick, 10-minute drive to both of our attractions.

On the minus side:
* The rooms and common areas look like they needed some updating, like a coat of paint, new carpet, new bedspreads, etc.
* There are no dishes or silverware in the kitchen, so bring your own if you plan to eat in the room.
* The TV was quite far from the bed, though still decently visible.
* The food in the restaurant was good, but the coffee was terrible. Stop at a coffee house instead if you need some morning java.

All in all, a good choice for a lower-cost stay in an expensive city, and a good way to stay close to the main attractions you may be visiting.

Room Tip: Some rooms can see the ocean through the trees, and some rooms have kitchenettes if you'd like t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachfam_rp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    97
    25
    21
    22
See reviews for
66
77
20
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

It's a great quiet location, which is the ONLY reason we stay there. Oh... plus there's no extra fee to park in their off-street lot, that's good! The rooms are just okay.... really need to be cleaned better and refreshed. The windows (inside) were dirty with little kid hand prints. The covers on the twin beds were dirty. The rug was dirty. Hair in the shower/bath. The queen bed in our room was not great. The pillows are squishy things that smell old.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roxy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, AZ
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We picked this property primarily for it's location near family who live in the Sunset area. It isn't fancy, but the room we had was very large with a kitchenette and an ocean view. The bath looked to have been recently renovated. Because of the age of the property, electrical outlets were not easy to come by.

We ate in the restaurant (open for breakfast & lunch) and the food was not fancy but was quite tasty and reasonably priced (especially for San Francisco). It was very close to the famous Cliff House where we had a great dinner and another night at the Beach Chalet, which was a little farther, but still close.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Tvl_Junky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

The Seal Rock Inn in San Francisco is a great find right by the beach! This is an intimate property with convenient parking, super friendly reception/service, and you can see the ocean. The rooms are large, clean, and comfy with a small fridge and microwave and there's a divider between the bedroom and the living room. When we asked for a couple of extra pillows our request was received with a smile and was met promptly. This is a quiet, highly functional property that I'd quickly stay in again.

Room Tip: 105 and 106 have ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We were looking for somewhere to stay in the city while picking up a family member arriving at SFO late at night. We considered staying near the airport, but when we came across this hotel, chose it partly because of it's proximity to the ocean and free parking. As other's have said, it's not fancy, but the room was spacious and clean. We were on the 2nd floor facing west overlooking Geary Street. We had a view of cypress trees and probably some ocean, had it not been foggy. The busses congregate there at the end of the line, but noticed no related noise in our room. We had a queen bed and two twins, with a pull out wall for privacy. We were a little concerned about the twin beds, but I slept on one and it was really comfortable. We didn't have a fireplace room, but there was a minifridge and coffeemaker. A key thing we all noted was how clean and well kept up the bathroom was.

Lou's cafe around the corner closes by 6 this time of year and we weren't interested in dining at The Cliff House. The front desk gave us info on Taraval Pizza which delivers there. It was a bit of a wait, but the pizza and wings were delicious and a great price. For breakfast we tried the little cafe that's part of the hotel (separately owned) and had a very nice breakfast. Service was great.

Afterwards we took advantage of the hiking trails right across the street. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others and would also stay there again. There is a pool (not open yet) and we didn't utilize the courtyard, so can't speak to that.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank imrosed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vitri
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

This hotel has apparently everything to offer to the travellers like me who are not looking for a brand-new perfect hotel but something comfy and clean with a great location. This has everything I needed. Incredible spacious room, almost a suite, with a fireplace and a bistro table to prepare dinner. Free parking. So close to the sea that you can hear the waves at night. A patio to hang out by the pool when the weather allows for it. A few minutes walk from the beach, amazing trails, views of the city and Golden Gate Park. Could I ask for more? Yes! I'd prefer a room that doesn't have an unbearable smell. I don't understand what it is or where this odour comes from, but I opened all of the windows in the room and it doesn't go away. My clothes kind of smell like it too...

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vitri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Phenomenal location - get the ocean facing rooms on the top floor and see the sunset over the Pacific from there. Across from Sutro Park and the shore-front (cliffs, parks, beaches etc). My room was comfortable (and large), clean, quiet & safe and the front desk staff (Seth and one other person) was very nice and helpful. Has ground floor garage - very convenient.

Room Tip: Get the top floor, ocean facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelBrochstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hote...
#94 of 229 in San Francisco
469 reviews
Haight-Ashbury
Stanyan Park Hotel
Stanyan Park Hotel
#147 of 229 in San Francisco
205 reviews
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 229 in San Francisco
1,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rodeway Inn & Suites San Francis...
#174 of 229 in San Francisco
130 reviews
The Richmond
Geary Parkway Motel
Geary Parkway Motel
#114 of 229 in San Francisco
316 reviews
Mirage Inn & Suites
#154 of 229 in San Francisco
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seal Rock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seal Rock Inn

Property: Seal Rock Inn
Address: 545 Point Lobos Ave, San Francisco, CA 94121-1499
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #152 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated next to the quiet, scenic surroundings of Sutro Heights Park and Land's End, we are located away from the noisy downtown traffic and crowds, yet still in the city in a resort-like location. We are just a block up the hill from the historic Cliff House and a few steps further to miles of beach along Ocean Beach. Enjoy a wonderful breakfast or lunch at our own restaurant which serves all day and every day. Our spacious guest rooms, many of which have excellent park and ocean views, provide our guests with many amenities including free high-speed Wi-Fi , cable TVs, dual-line phones with voice mail, free locals calls, in-room iron/ironing boards, and hair dryers. Other hotel amenities incude complimentary but limited covered parking, a private patio with swimming pool, ping pong and badminton. All our guest roomsrooms are non-smoking and some with fireplaces. So if you are ready to try something different in San Francisco then consider us as your home away from home along San Francisco's ocean front. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seal Rock Hotel San Francisco
Seal Rock San Francisco
Seal Rock Inn San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing