We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (868)
Filter reviews
868 results
Traveler rating
559
217
58
24
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
559
217
58
24
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspineapple cupcakespineapple hospitalitypineapple waterpineapple themeunion squarerooms are smallamenity feefree bikesboutique hotelfree bottled waterevery afternooncute hotelloved this hotellittle touchesqueen roomgreat showertenderloin
Filter
Updating list...
254 - 259 of 868 reviews
Reviewed November 21, 2017

I really like the design of the rooms and the beds were very comfortable. Nice staff, very customer friendly. Central located so it is very convenient. Don't bring you car if you don't want to be ruined.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room rather than a room with a view.
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank annakajsa2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken C, Front Office Manager at The Alise San Francisco - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2017

Dear annakajsa2017,

Thank you for your feedback. All of our guest love our new look, its definitely very pleasing. Our beds are all brand new and kept in top shape by our housekeeping team daily. Our parking price is surprisingly competitive along with the other hotels in the area. There is an option to self parking at a garage next door to our hotel for around $30-35 per night.

Ken
Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2017

We loved it, everything was awesome. We had already stayed at 2 pineapple hotels, Seattle and now SF. Loved the cakes, the unlimited water, the amazing bed linens, and the slippers that my baby wears now at home. Although the rooms did take in noise from rooms above and the street.

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank happycostarican2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken C, Front Office Manager at The Alise San Francisco - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2017

Dear happycostarican2017,

First and foremost thank you for being one of our loyal customer. We truly appreciate our pineapple fans. We're glad you thoroughly enjoyed all our amenities and that your baby likes our slippers. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Ken
Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2017

Arriving in San Fran for the first time expectations were high but the location where we headed towards seemed on the rough side, union sq at night was pleasant but covered with homeless, a strong smell of marjiuana and litter at every spot.
Not the most safest of places, me and my wife felt uncomfortable to go out at night. Some no go areas as advised by the hotel staff.
The hotel itself was clean and tidy but the windows in our room were dirty, views were dim and poor, surroundings were not pleasant with the masses of mess on every footpath!
The hotel decor was weird to say the least, not a contemporary hotel but quiet loud and tacky, the noise at night was horrible, there was a strange odour throughout the hotel and our room which wasn't pleasant. My advice is to go with a reputable brand if you are staying in the States!

Room Tip: Change the air freshener spray as it is not nice, clean the windows, if poss reduce outside noise by thicker glass. Make it more contemporary rather than the horrid yellow curtains and novelty items in the room.
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank BS2507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fungai M, Manager at The Alise San Francisco - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2017

Dear Bal2507,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. Please allow me to start by expressing our deepest apologies for the experience you had during your visit to San Francisco. While we pride ourselves in the beauty of our City and more specifically our hotel, it is clear that we failed to meet your expectations and for this we truly apologize. Please kindly reach out to me directly on 415.869.4105 so that we can be able to speak directly regarding your experiences during your visit.

I look forward to speaking with you soon.

Regards,
Fungai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2017

We stayed here for 3 nights and wish it was longer! - Great location, excellent staff and atmosphere. Lovely to have water 24/7, muffins and coffee in the foyer in the afternoon. Bikes to use. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Celebrity King Room - loved it!
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 612susanneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fungai M, Manager at The Alise San Francisco - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2017

Dear 612susanneb,

Thank you for the amazing feedback! We are so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the use of our complimentary bikes and that you got to enjoy the pineapple cupcakes and coffee each day!

We hope to see you back here again soon.

Regards,
Fungai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2017

Staff were awesome! Great hotel, location was central and connected. Aside from a few homeless people around it was all ok!

The hotel was immaculate and well furnished, newly finished interiors by the looks of it.

The room if a little small was perfect! The duvets EU style were a welcome relief!

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Steven D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fungai M, Manager at The Alise San Francisco - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2017

Dear Steven D,

Thank you for the compliments and for highlighting the service you received from our staff! That really made us smile!

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Regards,
Fungai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews