We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Week in San Fran” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel California - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Hotel California - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality to your Saves list
The Hotel California - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   580 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly The Hotel California)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
New Boutique Hotel in SF
Ranked #151 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
217 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“A Great Week in San Fran”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We booked this hotel back in March for a Sept. visit. As I searched hotels, it wasvery difficult to find a suite for 4 people at a reasonable price. I found out later that the week we picked was the busiest of the year for SF. The Best Western Hotel California is a 100 year olf hotel that has been and continues to be refurbished. The Hotel and the rooms were very clean and the beds were very comfortable. The Hotel is located in the Edge of Union Square so has good proximity to restaurants, transportation and immediate tourist sites. The staff at this hotel are amazing. They did everything in their power to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. They more than succeeded. The only real issue was an elevator that didn't work at first but was repaired in a couple of days. This is not the fault of the Hotel staff but ownership needs to look at replacement not just repair. Each morning there is a continental breakfast that got the day started and each evening there was a wine reception from 5 to 6:30. They could be a little more creative with the snacks as each day we received the same crackers and cheese. We really did enjoy our stay and we would stay here again.

Room Tip: There are many fine restaurants in the area just take a walk to get the lay of the land. If you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank larryjude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

In general I enjoyed this hotel very much. I had a nice corner room on the 4th floor. The elevator, being a relic, is spotty sometimes. Breakfast is quite plain but ok. The staff is nice. Apart from a snafu with laundry which they eventually fixed. The location is quite good. Walking distance from almost everything.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oro Valley, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Was told at check-in that the elevator didn't work. Then was told our room was on the 6th floor. They said it would be a couple of hours but it lasted until we checked out the next day. They made no porters available so everyone was passing while lugging bags up the old twisting stairway.
The hotel is in party central and the windows let all the sound in. They actually offer earplugs at the front desk (true).
Parked at their recommended garage down the block and was told there to call ahead to get my car. Was in the hotel lobby when I thought to give the garage a heads-up as they requested. My phone battery was dead and I didn't want to run an extra 6 flights of stairs so I asked the hotel counter-worker if she could make the quick call and ask the garage to get my car ready. She sighed and said, "I'm actually on the line with someone, the garage is just down the block so you can just walk there. It won't take long."
Sometimes these old hotels in cities like San Fransisco have character and you can forgive some of the inconveniences. Other times, like the Best Western Hotel California, the place is rundown, poorly managed, and carries the attitude that the people will come regardless of how bad the service is.
Stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Make sure it's in a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Veganeco Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Had a great stay there in July for a few days. Unique with modern painted ceilings complete with ceiling fans. Took me back to the 70's which was a great way to start our trip of America. Good reflection of California complete with the old clocks in the foyer. Free happy hour every night. What more could you want. Comfortable and well located. Would happily stay there again. " You can check out but never leave".

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gila River, AZ
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

I was scared after I booked the room since I always read the reviews, however I bit the bullet and thought I'd give it a chance. I was pleasantly surprised. We had a two bedroom suite on the 5th floor. Was a little concerned about the Niteclub noise but closing the window took care of that. Nice walking distance to Union Square with little neighborhood dive across the street. We loved Tim who checked us in and all in all our stay was very nice. Just ask the staff to point you in the right direction to keep you from heading into the less desirable neighborhood. Bed was comfy and I loved the hardwood floors! Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PimaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
101 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay. We had a two bedroom suite and rooms were nicely upgraded. Nice comfortable beds, very clean and overall good accomodations. it would be nice to have an additional flat screen TV in the room with the King bed. When we checked out, they said they were working on upgrading the suites some more. Anyway the shot of tequila at check-in was a nice touch! Bring your ear plugs (I like Mack's brand) as you hear the sounds of the city, like sirens, bar scene nearby, etc. Very nice fellows working at the main desk.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lmlupner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I visited the hotel in June 2012 and my experience was really a negative one: unfriendly receptionist unable to even say "hi" to guests, very cold room ( I had to turn on the heating in June!!) because of a thin window that was there from the 70s (I suppose), breakfast room dirty and messy (thankfully there is a starbucks nearby), dirty bathroom towels .....do I have to continue??

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SunDeckGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 3,863 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#100 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,935 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#10 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#31 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 2,989 reviews
Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collecti...
#45 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel California - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel California - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality

Address: 580 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly The Hotel California)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#79 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel California - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steps from Union Square, the newly re-imagined Hotel Grace provides a metropolitan home base for your San Francisco adventures. A short walk from the Moscone Center, you will find world-class shopping, dining and entertainment just around the corner. Hotel Grace's expansive lobby offers plush, stylish seating for working or relaxing. And if you're looking for a quick bite or a leisurely cocktail, try Pineapple Bistro and Bar for a convenient and elegant option. Sophisticated and thoughtfully designed guest rooms offer a luxe retreat from the hustle and bustle of city life and an opportunity to enjoy quiet moments - alone or with that special someone. Say hello to the newest Piece of the Pineapple - Hotel Grace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your The Hotel California - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel California
Hotel California San Francisco
Best Western San Francisco
San Francisco Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#