We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,206)
Filter reviews
1,206 results
Traveler rating
532
471
140
40
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
532
471
140
40
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooms are small massage chair bathrooms and showers the penthouse fisherman's wharf fior d'italia oldest italian restaurant great location shared bathroom shared facilities antique furniture pat's cafe laundry room no elevator walls are thin european style hotel restaurant downstairs
Filter
Updating list...
335 - 340 of 1,206 reviews
Reviewed November 20, 2015

If you are on a budget this is a great place to stay.The hotel is an oldie worldly hotel with great staff very helpful. The rooms are compact,beds are comfy The hotel has shared bathrooms and seperate toilets.
Great location close to Fishermans wharf and all other attractions.
we stayed from 4th to 11th October and had a great time

  • Stayed: October 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CChevaili, Guest Relations Manager at San Remo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2015


We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our hotel and found our staff to be helpful. We are a historic hotel and have kept the room sizes authentic. Each of our rooms has been lovingly furnished with period furniture. Some room may have a brass bed, while others may have wooden beds.

We provide our guests a comfortable yet affordable place to stay in San Francisco. We are conveniently located close to many of San Francisco’s main attractions.

Hope if you return to our city you will choose to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2015

This hotel is a quirky, quaint hotel, that has stuck to its roots! It only added to our San Francisco experience. Shared bathrooms are always spotless, and had no difficulty getting the shower when we needed it. There is always something to look at in this hotel, and we definitely enjoyed the decor, and the treats in the lobby! Whilst I loved all the period furniture in our room, we thought it could have done with perhaps one less piece, with a large suitcase we did have a little difficulty getting things in and out as there wasn't a lot of space for it! But the furniture does add to the overall feel of the hotel, and this was only a small inconvenience.
We enjoyed our entire stay in San Francisco, and want to thank you for having such an amazingly priced hotel in such a fantastic location. One day we will be back!

Room Tip: There are stairs, so if you don't want to carry heavy suitcases up, request a room on the first floor
  • Stayed: October 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Johanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CChevaili, Guest Relations at San Remo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2015

Thanks for a great review and for mentioning the decor and the treats.

Being a historic property our layout is different than many hotels, in 1906 rooms did not even had closets, that is why we have an armoire in each room taking a bit of space.

There are many reasons why so many people leave their hearts in San Francisco, and I like to think that the San Remo Hotel contributes somehow to this sentiment.

Hope you come back to visit us very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2015

Nice, clean and friendly hotel in of San Francisco. I would defiantly recommend anyone visiting San Francisco to stay there. Its only a short walk to tourists areas and to the cable car line to downtown.

  • Stayed: October 2015, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank god3jam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CChevaili, Guest Relations Manager at San Remo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2015

Thank you for your review. We are so happy to hear that you had a good experience and that you enjoyed our great location.

Our goal is to make the stay of our guests very special, so that the memory of the San Remo Hotel will be something to remember and cherish.

Hope to welcome back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2015

lived here 3 days in end of Octobre. Good location, and actually ok hostel.

But hotel receptionist made a quite ennoying mistake. We paid fully through Hotels.com, but the hotel reserved equal amount on my girlfriends creditcard (approx 385$) plus another reservation of 50$ that they told us they would reserve in case of if we broke something. The 50$ is fine that they reserved, but not the other. When we told them they probably reserved too much, the receptionist showed us the reservation of 50$ and said must be someone else that reserved the almost 400$. We accepted and now when we are back home, 2 weeks later we can see they reserved in 2 different posts, thats why the receptionist could show us the one on 50$. They also said they would release the reservation after we left, but it is still reserved on my girlfriends account.
So do not stay here if you are on a limited travel budget because they might reserve your money so you do not have enough to finish your trip.

  • Stayed: October 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank EmilMalmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CChevaili, Guest Relations Manager at San Remo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2015

Thank you very much for your review and for staying with us. We are sorry you experienced a problem with your credit card when you were checking in. Our staff does their best to positively solve any problems our guests might have.

We have since reviewed with our staff how to proceed to better help our guests. We want to take this opportunity to make sure that the problem has been solved. I would welcome you to contact me directly at marketing@sanremohotel.com should you wish to discuss your experience in further detail.

We value your feedback because this allows us to improve our service. We are glad your stay in San Francisco was pleasant and hope to see you soon.
Sincerely,

C Chevaili
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2015 via mobile

My first visit to San Francisco was in 1999 and I stayed at the San Remo, my most recent visit was in October 2015 for a couple of days and again I stayed at the San Remo. A lot of things haven't changed in San Francisco over that time but the San Remo remains constant though of course the prices have gone up! This time I had a room with a sink and a Window overlooking the street. Much better and lighter than some of the Interior rooms. Bathrooms are shared (down the corridor) and there are no TV's. The hotel is good value, friendly and clean. Ideal for a short stay and for budget travellers or people wanting to get away from chain hotels

Stayed: October 2015, traveled solo
Thank Clembo1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CChevaili, Guest Relations at San Remo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2015

Thank you for choosing to stay with us over the years. We are very grateful to the loyal guests like you.

Believe it or not, October is still considered high season for San Francisco, it is until November that the prices all around the city begin to fall. Maybe now would be an ideal time to visit!

We look forward to your next visit at the historic San Remo Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews