We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Charming!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Remo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
San Remo Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Charming!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

Stayed at the San Remo more than 10 years ago and remembered it with trepidation...thin walls and noisy guests made sleeping difficult. But we decided to give it another try this year and it was fabulous! They now provide ear plugs and I found that I didn't even need them. Better clientele? Perhaps. Or perhaps the lovely people at the front desk are keeping a tighter grip on things. Either way, I got 2 wonderful night's sleep on Fri and Sat nights! Love the free computer/printer for printing my boarding passes! And the all-day tea/coffee...wish it had continued later into the evening, though. No trouble getting into the shared showers or toilets.

Room Tip: I didn't mind room 5 but my partner would say to avoid it because there's no outside window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citlali C, Marketing at San Remo Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
We are very happy you came back to our hotel and found it has improved and found our staff to be so helpful and attentive. We pride ourselves on giving personal attention to each of our guests.

We greatly appreciate your comments and hope to see you back once more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    367
    113
    35
    15
See reviews for
147
432
101
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

My fiancé and I stayed here on the 15th and 16th of June(2014). We loved it! The people at the desk were very helpful and and happy to help. The hotel itself was beautiful and really kept the Victorian era essentials. In our room we had a sink and mirror with a double bed. It had antique style furniture and felt very cozy. The showers were down the hall but that is part of it's charm! We had fresh coffee every morning and cold water all day long. I found it interesting to see that some lager rooms had windows looking out to the hall. Also, the San Remo has alot of very nice paintings from the 1800's and some newspaper clippings from the 1950's(not quite sure of the exact years)on the walls. It is a mere 5 min walk to fisherman's wharf which is must when coming down to San Fran! Also everything is of walking distance and to really experience the area leave your car parked and walk!!!:) Oh yeah and prices were great! bring a sweater tho because at night it gets cold. In short, we had an amazing time!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephanieM85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

I was a little nervous about this place - I wasn't even sure if I would have a window but I arrived rather early, my room was ready and I even had two windows and a ceiling fan. Very European - the bed was old but the room was quaint - ear plugs definitely required as the walls were rather thin but I grew accustomed to the rattles of the restaurant below and sounds of the cleaning staff in the morning and the showers etc...(of which were quite clean). It was a 10 min walk to Fisherman's Wharf and 5 min to the Powell-Mason Cable Car starting point which ran to downtown. There is a Trader Joe's 2 min as well as a Wallgreens 5 min away. The restaurant below was good - a discount on food if you tell them that you are staying at San Remo - they also have a good Happy Hour. The North Beach/Little Italy area is lovely - tons of restaurants to choose from. The staff were super helpful and arranged Lorrie's shuttle service to pick me up and take me to the airport.

All in all, I didn't want to leave San Francisco and in part due to this charming little hotel that was decently priced given the prices of most hotels. I'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: I think that rooms on the 2nd floor might be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GastroBri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Olive, North Carolina
Level Contributor
115 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

The San Remo is a historic hotel, constructed right after the great San Francisco earthquake and fire.

The positives include a great atmosphere, convenient location and attentive staff. Free WiFi, beverages and light snacks were provided. A deal with a local parking garage helps you get parking for $16 daily, which is not top bad in downtown San Francisco.

The negatives include a lack of accessibility for some patrons, a lack of privacy in the rooms and having to share a bathroom with other people.

The positives far outweigh the negatives and overall, the hotel is a cozy and affordable find in heart of the city.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel with a friend near the end of our month travelling America. We was hesitant when we booked but when we got there it was fantastic! Great staff who were very helpful, great location, and a brilliant price, would book again!!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DrecklyMaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grasmere
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

There was a problem when we check-in with our card declining, which led to a confusing time which went from the person on reception to the next available person, to the manager and then eventually it the owner of the hotel. Obviously this was a horrid time for us as it was late at night and we had a limited amount of time to find a new hotel if there wasn't a solution to the problem, not helped by the vague answers we were getting from people.

This said however, within minutes of getting to our room(we had already paid for the first night) we had a knock on the door and we're able to stay the duration if we paid the full amount.

The hotel is in a great location (2 blocks from fisherman's wharf) which connects the whole of San Francisco. Be aware that the sea lions aren't here in summer months as they are breeding, something we didn't find out till we got here. And there is a large fog that covers the Golden Gate Bridge for 10 out of 12 months of the year. (Luckily we saw it in its whole on our last day.

Even more confusion when checking out as at reception we were asked for payment which we had already paid on checkin. (I would imagine that they would have remembered us as it was the same person). Again it took someone else to sort it out, although we then had to argue about another amount which has also already been paid (as a deposit for the first night) but this was sorted when I said this.

The hotel is in a fantastic location in San Francisco, and I take into account that some of the issues raise are my fault, however, there is too for improvement here in dealing with customer and making them feel comfortable in a testing situation.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Thomas-Barnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citlali C, Marketing at San Remo Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
We are sorry you experienced a problem with your credit card when you were checking in. Our staff does their best to positively solve any problems our guests might have.

We have since reviewed with our staff how to proceed to better help our guests when a situation arises beyond their level of authority.

We value your feedback because this allows us to improve our service. We are glad your stay in San Francisco was pleasant and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

When we got there it was very different because it was European style. It was so cute and comfortable inside. The bathrooms are shared, but it was a really neat experience. The service was outstanding, very accommodating. Affordable too! I would go back in a heartbeat. Close to the pier too.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask about the suite room, it's on the roof!!! So romantic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jcas9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citlali C, Marketing at San Remo Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
We want to continue to be different than most chain-style hotels. And we love to hear when our guests like you appreciate our authenticity.

We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#47 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,612 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Tuscan
The Tuscan
#42 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Whar...
#32 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#98 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Remo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Remo Hotel

Property: San Remo Hotel
Address: 2237 Mason St, San Francisco, CA 94133-1899
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 51 Specialty Lodging in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — San Remo Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family-owned historic boutique pension-style hotel located in North Beach, one of San Francisco's oldest and most popular tourist destinations, and only a few blocks from Fisherman's Wharf. Built in 1906, our hotel maintains an atmosphere of Old-World charm and ambiance with specially selected antique furnishings - no two rooms are alike. The walls of the hotel are filled with a collection of memorabilia and history. Our style is simplicity and sanctuary - there are no room telephones, no televisions, and on the order of European pensions, shared baths which are meticulously cleaned daily, and are private when in use, but for all guests to use. Our rooms are cozy and small, our prices are proportional. Our staff is available while our Front Desk is open to help you find anything your heart desires. A truly unique, non-standardized hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your San Remo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing