We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value, hard bed.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Remo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
San Remo Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great value, hard bed.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

We (my wife and I) made reservations for this hotel on our first trip to San Francisco in February. Based on our research of the town, we knew we wanted to stay in the North Beach area for a more relaxed and laid back experience, and this hotel appeared to be the best value available.

When we arrived, we were a bit surprised about how cramped the room was. It was really tight quarters for two people, with barely enough space for us to move around and get dressed at the same time. The bed was also rock hard and smaller than I expected it to be.

I was pleasantly surprised with how easy the shared restroom and shower situation worked. I never had a wait when I needed to shower or use the restroom. Those areas were also very well maintained and clean.

he location of this place is amazing. You are only a few steps away from the Washington Square area, the warf, and the the turnarounds for the trollies. In addition, the front desk staff was very friendly and helpful with directions and ideas for places to eat.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citlali C, Marketing at San Remo Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are a historic Victorian Hotel built in 1906, just after the big Earthquake. We have not altered the original layout of the hotel as designed, and yes, the guest rooms are smaller as compared to modern day standards. Each of our rooms has been lovingly furnished with period furniture. Some rooms may have a brass bed, while others may have wooden beds. Some rooms may have firm mattresses, and others may be a bit softer. We have found that our guest preferences for mattress firmness can vary tremendously. We will always guests request to change rooms for any reason, this includes if the mattresses may be too firm or too soft.

We hope that you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    381
    116
    35
    15
See reviews for
154
447
106
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ellensburg, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

This hotel is a rare jewel. Located in a very safe and clean area a few blocks from the vibrant Fishermans Wharf - even at 10pm it was still very busy with street performers and artists.
Staff were very friendly and always said hi as you passed the front desk. Room was very classy and elegant, yes they are small but when you are on holiday you don't spend the whole time in the room!! Especially with so much going on a few blocks away every night I was out until ~9pm. Housekeeping daily was nice coming back to every evening.
Wifi is very good, they have 4 networks so wherever you are in the hotel you have great and fast signal. Decor inside the hotel is very traditionally Italian with plants growing inside the hallways. The shared bathrooms are not an issue at all as they are very clean, odourless and stylish (old style flushing mechanism!!). They also have a good laundry room, free massage chairs and lots of books which you can borrow for your stay.
Overall this is a beautiful and friendly little hotel with great history and character at very good prices, cheaper than a lot of sketchy motels/hostels. I will definitely be returning to the San Remo hotel next time I come to San Francisco, I didn't want to leave!!!

Room Tip: I had an inside room which is cheapest and more than suitable, good views are a 5 minute walk away a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank colinsmith11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citlali C, Marketing at San Remo Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank you for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive for a clean, comfortable, and a relaxing hotel.

We are old fashioned in a way but keep up with modern necessities like free Wi-Fi.

We look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

I really love this hotel. My family and I (with 12 year old daughter) were hesitant to stay there because of the shared washrooms. But we went by to have a look. We loved the rooms and the entire building. So much character, and really beautifully done. The washrooms and showers were really nice. The whole place had a really warm and welcoming atmosphere. And you could see everyone was happy to be staying there. We stayed an extra night we loved it so much. Next time I'm in SF I'll definitely stay there. The only downside was the noise on the street outside at night. Get an "inner" room if you want it quieter.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Visuddhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citlali C, Marketing at San Remo Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments. When you experience a different kind of hotel like ours, you are also teaching your kids different ways to travel and enjoy a trip, for so many hotels around the world, specially in Europe have our configuration. We hope to see you when you come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prosper, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in an amazing location, steps from cable car, short walk to the Wharf and the Piers and Lombard street. You cannot beat the value for the price. I'm a bit of a germaphobe so I can't say I was thrilled about the shared shower/toilet situation but it was not bad at all. This place totally feels like you're spending the night at grandmas house (so of your looking to have a wild "intimate" time this may not work for you). But if you need a place to rest while enjoying the city then it's great. It can get noisy, they provide earplugs. Rooms are super small. Great for minimalist packer like myself but if you have a bunch of luggage you may struggle. I loved it. Will be my go to hotel in SF.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Chevonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citlali C, Marketing at San Remo Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments. We are so glad you enjoyed your time in San Francisco and your stay at our hotel. We are a historic hotel and try to keep it authentic. We provide our guests with a comfortable yet affordable place to stay in the City, in a magnificent location. It will be our pleasure to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Statesboro, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

With an excellent location and a reasonable price this hotel was a great find. The rooms were clean and quiet and the staff was friendly and helpful. Easy walking distance to Fisherman's Wharf and cable car stop. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank acdowns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citlali C, Marketing at San Remo Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
We appreciate your review. We strive for our staff and housekeeping to be attentive to each guest and hope then this translates into a positive experience. Our locations and prices are hard to beat! We look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holladay, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

After deciding to travel to San Francisco for pleasure, the only question left ws where to stay. After a lot of research, we selected San Remo. I was skeptical at first, having only stayed in hotels with private bathrooms and TV's. I wasn't sure what to expect. I was very pleased when we arrived, the charm of this building is unsurpassed. The location is fabulous, we were able to walk to Fisherman's Wharf, Lombard Street, The Ferry Building, China Town, Pier 33 for Alacatraz. At the end of the day, we could enjoy a night cap at the Fior d Italia before heading up to our room. The hotel provided massage chairs, free for use by their guests--which was a wonderful surprise and fabulous treat after the hills of San Francisco!! The beds were comfortable, and the rooms were just the perfect size. Next time we go to San Francisco, we will definitely be staying here.

Room Tip: Unless you are a hard sleeper, ask for a room away from the bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MMeik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citlali C, Marketing at San Remo Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Our staff works hard so that your stay at the San Remo becomes a good memory.

We are located in one of the best locations in San Francisco, a short walk to North Beach, Cable Car and so many other attractions. There are tons or restaurants, bars and cafes you can walk to as well.

Did you know that we now offer a Frequest Guest Rewards Plan? Make sure to call our front desk next time you make a reservation, sign up and enjoy free nights at the San Remo Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graton, CA
Level Contributor
247 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

Although we live an hour's drive to the north we still enjoy being San Francisco tourists, and this includes hosting out-of-town friends and their kids for long weekends down in the city. We can easily stay at one of the vanilla-flavored big chain hotels right near Fisherman's Wharf and Pier 39, but casting around maybe one block further inland we discovered the San Remo Hotel on Mason Street. The first thing catching the eye is that they're asking about a third of the big chain tariff, the next is that they're a still-operating genuine 1906 "European style" hotel (read: bathrooms and showers just down the hall) like none other. Staying at the San Remo is a unique experience.

On the Pro side, the place is 108 years old and a delight for the eye, as a real San Franciscan building ought to be. It's a warren of corridors and rooms with unexpected turns and alcoves. The bathrooms and showers feature original tile, they're spotlessly clean, and a pleasure to use. We opted for a slightly fancy room ($10 more) which had a little sink in one corner, so tooth brushing, morning ablutions, pill taking and so on was more convenient. The decor is period funky and kept in good order with a lot of art, as well as many interesting small touches, a lot of books and a very comfy reading chaise, plus a ton of all the usual tourist brochures, maps and SF info. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, knowledgable, and easy to interact with. There is a good if somewhat pricey Italian Restaurant on the ground floor ("Fior d'Italia"), a great breakfast place just around the corner ("Pat's"), a decent coffee house across the street ("Cafe Capriccio"), the starting point of the Powell-Mason Cable Car line is one block away, and of course the whole San Francisco waterfront tourist thing is only a short stroll from the front door. The hotel also has a deal with the Northpoint Centre shopping mall two blocks away so there's a reasonably priced place to put the car, since legal street parking in San Francisco is a rare and wondrous thing. Also, of all things, we got free chocolate on Valentine's Day! Plus, on our last day we were offered an extra night's stay for only $50.

On the Con side, one has to be slightly leery when you enter your room and the first thing you notice on the antique sideboard is a small basket containing complimentary soft ear plugs. Yes, wall insulation seems to date from a later era than 1906 --the San Remo was originally built to house the labor force the city imported to rebuild itself after the huge earthquake and fire of that year-- so it's kind of noisy. Our room looked out over Water Alley that saw some pedestrian traffic and was a bit distracting now and then, but we kept the window open both nights and slept pretty well; the weather for our Valentine's Day weekend was almost ideal. The queen bed was modern, but not especially fancy or soft, and I believe the beds are slightly smaller than a traditional King or Queen size in order to fit better into what are pretty small rooms. This wasn't a problem for us, but if you're tall it might be an issue. And if like some people you travel with a gargantuan suitcase, you may be challenged to find somewhere to put it.

As with other venues, the worst aspect of the place is often the other guests. It's astonishing how many people feel obliged to talk loudly enough among themselves so you'd think they were addressing a political rally, just walking down a hotel corridor. Or take that family who arrived at one thirty in the morning on Saturday, and after waking up the staff and chattering at length about rooms and prices and the fares for the Alcatraz boat, while somebody sat on a suitcase playing a video game on their iWhatever; Zing! Zoom! Bleep bloop blaap! Ka-POW! Possibly they were jet-lagged and so it felt like eleven in the morning to them, I don't know, but thin walls brought it all into our room. It was at this point that I unwrapped and deployed the soft ear plugs…and then slept fine after that.

Room Tip: Rooms near the lobby are more easily reached but noisier, with greater traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MojoLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citlali C, Marketing at San Remo Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for your very lively and detailed description of the San Remo Hotel.

Your overview of the late arriving guests, probably from a different time zone, was humorous.

We try our best to keep after hours noise levels to a minimum, but can not always quell the excitement of our late arriving guests. We will continue to work on it.

We are delighted to be one of San Francisco’s best kept secret, according to some of our guests and travel writers.

We are delighted that there were so many things that you appreciated about the San Remo Hotel.

We look forward to having you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#50 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,757 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Tuscan
The Tuscan
#52 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,997 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#96 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Remo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Remo Hotel

Property: San Remo Hotel
Address: 2237 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94133-1899
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 50 Specialty Lodging in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — San Remo Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family-owned historic boutique pension-style hotel located in North Beach, one of San Francisco's oldest and most popular tourist destinations, and only a few blocks from Fisherman's Wharf. Built in 1906, our hotel maintains an atmosphere of Old-World charm and ambiance with specially selected antique furnishings - no two rooms are alike. The walls of the hotel are filled with a collection of memorabilia and history. Our style is simplicity and sanctuary - there are no room telephones, no televisions, and on the order of European pensions, shared baths which are meticulously cleaned daily, and are private when in use, but for all guests to use. Our rooms are cozy and small, our prices are proportional. Our staff is available while our Front Desk is open to help you find anything your heart desires. A truly unique, non-standardized hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your San Remo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing