We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Remo Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
San Remo Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Cruz, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The hotel is cozy and well decorated, with shared but extremly clean restrooms. Excellent value for money. My best suggestion for simple accomodation in the overpriced SF hotels.
The location is perfect to use public transportation and you are close to most of the city main attractions. On top of that, you can find street parking around the hotel, free after 8 pm.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PolBCN_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    349
    107
    33
    14
See reviews for
135
400
95
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Just to reiterate the positive comments of others.

We had 5 nights at the San Remo and enjoyed our stay very much.
It’s ideally situated just 10 minutes walk from Fisherman’s Wharf and all the front desk staff are helpful and friendly.
Yes, the rooms aren’t huge but this adds to the bijou feel of an interesting old building which would be spoilt by trying to enlarge and modernise the layout.
I’d also recommend trying the happy hour menu in the nice Italian restaurant below.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lone-Rambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citlali C, Marketing at San Remo Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Thank you for your comments about our San Remo Hotel. We are considered a walkers paradise according to some guests and travel writers that have stayed with us.
We have kept intact the original layout to preserve its historical beauty and we are glad that many of our guests appreciate it.
Fior d’Italia, oldest American Italian Restaurant, is a great place to have authentic Northern Italian food.
We hope to see you when you come back to San Francisco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
47 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Picked this place based on location and price. It's homey and the guests staying here are the quiet and polite type. Overheard plenty of European languages, mostly Scandinavian, UK, German and Dutch. As for the rooms they are truly tiny, but I've had worse in Amsterdam. I'm not sure about this nonsense of calling rooms with shared bathrooms "European styled", which I've read other reviewers calling it. Being European I assure you that's not our norm. My only real complaint is that the Wifi didn't work in our room. This Hotel belonged to the two hotels out of 10 that had this issue during our US trip, that's gonna put a dent in the overall experience. Anyway, room was clean and lacked funky odors. Warm water in the showers and plenty of towels meant that the shared bathroom situation wasn't a big deal. The staff were all smiling young people who were friendly and informative. Would have been nice with a common TV area or something like that, but I'm guessing the people who stay here are book types, I am too, but I still like TV when I'm holiday. Restaurant on the first floor is supposed to be the oldest running Italian restaurant in the united states. Not bad! Area is quiet and feels very safe. Saw a skateboarder though, cool beans.

Room Tip: Get a room with a street view, that's what we got. Saw some rooms with windows towards the hallw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swedish-Kristofer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

When we stay at a hotel in any city we keep it simple and funky and the San Remo delivers on both. Full of culture and history (I think Allen Ginsberg stayed there) this is a no frills stay that more than makes up for basic amenities with loads of charm. Enjoyed the dinner at Fior D'Italia and the tips from Tim were priceless.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank conelos2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I love it when a favorite place keeps getting better. San Remo has always been a bargain with friendly staff and clean (tho small) rooms. Last year they added free wi-fi; this year they added a free refreshment center in the lobby. The rooms are basic but bargain-priced. The hotel is European-style, meaning shared bathrooms down the hall, but don't let that be a deal-breaker. The private shower stalls are kept immaculate, and they are plentiful enough that there's seldom a wait. The location is great--the Remo is a few blocks from the Wharf and close to public transportation, including the Powell-Mason cable car. Be forewarned:no elevators. Still, I have been coming here once a year or so for nearly ten years. It is like the proverbial home away from home.

Room Tip: Have breakfast at Pat's Cafe around the corner
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WDemaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We are from Alaska, and we don't make it "outside" very often...but when we do, we need it to be special! We have been to San Francisco three times, and each time we have stayed at the San Remo. It is SUCH a special place! The location is perfect-just blocks away from amazing places to eat, cable cars, Little Italy, Chinatown, Fisherman's Warf...and a sweet run to the Golden Gate! The hotel itself is like going home. It is warm, the people are friendly, the staff is helpful, the rooms are always clean. It is truly a wonderful place! Needless to say, when we make it through another long winter, and we are looking for a good place to shake off the Alaska darkness, the San Remo will be on our list once again!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Over the last 10 years I have stayed here several times-- and I don't have any complaints. The hotel is gorgeous, it is like stepping back in time. Yes the rooms may be smaller than at chain hotels, you may have to (gasp) leave your room to shower or US the toilet. But there are plenty of facilities. The walls may be thinner but they provide earplugs, and most guests are not the loud, hard-partying kind. There is no a/c but every room as a window and ceiling fan. It I am more likely to be chilly than hot. It is part of the old world experience. This place was built in 1906 as housing for workers--these were their homes and you can sense that history everywhere you look.

My suggestions:
1. Stay here!
2. Bring a sound machine (nature) or quiet music if sounds of your neighbors will bother you. It is a very pleasant fix.
3. Try the upstairs bathtub at least once. It is larger than the showers and has a sink. The view is lovely, though it can . Let in lots of cold air. There's a timed heater that is very powerful.
4. Stay in the penthouse. I never have, but it is my goal!
5. Use the massage chairs.

I am writing this from my tiny room at the hotel. For the first time I am staying alone, so I do kind of miss TV, but there's free WiFi and I have Netflix. I feel completely safe and comfortable. It's all good!

Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica Z
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#47 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,331 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan
#34 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 3,842 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Whar...
#41 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 754 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf San Francisco
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf ...
#60 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Remo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Remo Hotel

Property: San Remo Hotel
Address: 2237 Mason St, San Francisco, CA 94133-1899
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 53 Specialty Lodging in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — San Remo Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family-owned historic boutique pension-style hotel located in North Beach, one of San Francisco's oldest and most popular tourist destinations, and only a few blocks from Fisherman's Wharf. Built in 1906, our hotel maintains an atmosphere of Old-World charm and ambiance with specially selected antique furnishings - no two rooms are alike. The walls of the hotel are filled with a collection of memorabilia and history. Our style is simplicity and sanctuary - there are no room telephones, no televisions, and on the order of European pensions, shared baths which are meticulously cleaned daily, and are private when in use, but for all guests to use. Our rooms are cozy and small, our prices are proportional. Our staff is available while our Front Desk is open to help you find anything your heart desires. A truly unique, non-standardized hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your San Remo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing