We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location...not much else”
Review of San Remo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
San Remo Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
North Pole, Alaska
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location...not much else”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Your first difficulty if you drive to this location is going to be parking. Expect to pay up to $16.50 a day to park your car 2 blocks away at a parking garage. Once you get to the hotel you will need to climb 18 very steep stairs to get to the check in desk. No elevator. The staff are all very welcoming and helpful. Some of the rooms have windows that open into the hallway. I am sure that this may be quaint for some, but a huge privacy issue for others; even if there is a blind that you can pull down. There are shared bathrooms (2 total) and you may be sharing it with 20 + other people. 2 showers are also shared. Not a lot of privacy. If your neighbors are loud, you will hear every single thing that is going on in the room next to you. The location is great with really everything within walking distance. Over all, this is an over priced hostel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank teasippinglou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citlali C, Owner at San Remo Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear teasippinglou,


Thank you for the nice comments about our location, cleanliness, and staff. We’re sorry that there were some points that you did not meet with your approval. Bringing a car to San Francisco and parking it can be an expensive proposition. We advise guests to leave their cars at home, but we welcome those on a road trip and love them ourselves. Our rate for overnight parking is one of the best values in San Francisco. By comparison the hotel directly across from where we send our guests to park charges $45 per night and we charge only $16. Nob Hill hotels charge $60 per night and downtown hotels charge $62. So we feel our parking rate is very modest and a true value in keeping with our budget prices geared towards value-oriented travelers.

The San Remo was built in 1906 and had no elevator. If anyone needs help with their baggage we would gladly bring their luggage up the one flight. The San Remo is only three stories high, is fully sprinkler-equipped, and is not required to have an elevator. Our stairs are up to code and are well lit. We’re sorry that you missed some of our other bathing facilities but there are seven showers and a vintage claw-foot bathtub. They are all fully private and there is seldom any wait to use them. We are an historic Victorian hotel and not a hostel, although we are popular with backpackers looking for some comfort at a reasonable price. As far as our rates, we are well below the average for San Francisco. Rates within one block of our hotel’s great location range from $200 to $489.



We have not had any complaints about privacy of our inside corridor rooms. They all have lace curtains and window shades. As far as noise, our walls are as thick as most other hotels, but due to the fact that we have no televisions which create a white-noise effect you may hear sounds that would normally be drowned out by them. We do provide ear plugs if needed.


We hope you give us another try on your next trip from Alaska. When you return could you please say hello to Santa Claus for us?

Tom Field
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    393
    118
    35
    18
See reviews for
161
458
108
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I decided to give the San Remo 5 stars because what they do, they do very well. It is absolutely charming, the folks at the desk are very helpful and friendly, and the whole atmosphere is welcoming, homey, with some nice touches. Mini raisin boxes and mini soaps from Chinatown in the rooms; lemon water, coffee and tea in the lobby; books and guides for your perusal and a fantastic location are all nice features. On the downside, just so you know what you are getting into, the bathrooms and shower rooms don't have a sink so you are washing your hands in the corridor. Speaking of corridors, they are tiny and narrow, and if you have a thoughtless, noisy neighbor who talks loudly, you will not have peace. The rooms are very small. That said, I would absolutely stay here again next time I am in San Francisco. The area around Washington Square is charming, there are some terrific restaurants, including Mama's for breakfast, nearby, and you can walk to the Marina district or SOMA easily.

Room Tip: I would get a room with a sink.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rainsoaked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

There are two deal breakers for this hotel for some people that I will mention right off so you can stop reading if they apply to you. Nothing worse then reading a great review and then discovering the deal breakers.

1 - Shared bathrooms that have separate toilets and showers.
2 - No lift and you are greeted with a steep stair case to even reach the checkin desk.

If these two items are not deal breakers for you then read on.

The location is perfect. It is in North Beach a block from the cable car starting point for Fisherman's Warf and 3 to 4 blocks away from the warf itself. Coit tower is within easy walking distance as is the Curvy street on Lombard Street.

There are numerous restaurants and caves all around mostly Italian as this is the Italian quarter. Chinatown is only two or three blocks away as well.

The staff are extremely helpful and friendly. They are laid back but not to the point of not caring. Just the opposite. It front desk is manned from 8am - 10pm. During this time they have free hot drinks and ice water with lemon for free. They also have a computer with internet access and allow you to print off your boarding passes for free. Wi-fi is also free and we found it worked well in our room.

The showers and toilets are very nice as is the entire hotel in an old world sort of way. They have plants everywhere and there is nice wood panelling and stained glass windows in the shower area. They also have towels available to grab as you go into the showers. Spotless facilities everytime I used them. And because there are only around 4 showers on each floor they always had hot water and good water pressure.

There is a free electric massage chair on each floow and a window seat to relax in. I saw several people taking advantage of thèse areas during our stay.

There are no TV's anywhere in the hôtel but I didn't even notice this until we were leaving. Who needs a tv when you have San Francisco at your door.

And the price for this area is amazing. The rooms are small so if you bring a lot of stuff with you or you are a person of size it may also be a little two cramped for you. But just get one of the rooms that hold 3 and you will be fine as they have two beds in them and looked much bigger than the room we had. One of the nice things they do is if a room is not occupied they leave the door open so you can look in. It is like being at a friends house.

Trust me, if the deal breakers don't bother you then you will probably have a great stay here as we did.

And if you do stay hère Cafe Pat's is located just behind the hôtel by the cable car and they offer a nice breakfast. There is also a cafe just two blocks up from hère on Lombard Street that also has great healthy breakfast.

Room Tip: I would look to choose a room at the back of the hôtel mainly because they looked bigger. There are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RD K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan, Utah
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

At first I was not so sure about this hotel, with no bathroom in the room, but decided to give it a try. Reviews were good. It really was a good choice for my sister and I. Hotel is a few blocks to Crooked Street, a block from Hyde Cable Car on/off, about four blocks to Fishermans Wharf & a bit further to Little Italy & Chinatown. The staff is great and very accommodating. The hotel itself is very quaint and filled with antiques. It was never a problem to use the bathroom facilities. The showers & toilet rooms were very clean and and well stocked.

It was very comfortable and other patrons were very friendly. It was like staying with family. We chatted with a woman who has been staying there for years. It is her retreat. I met the owners and were very impressed with them. They could not have been nicer. Will definitely make this our go to place to stay. It was better than the big name places at a much more reasonable price.

Thank you for making our stay great. Will see you in the fall.

Room Tip: Any room should be good. Outside walls have open windows for fresh ocean breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Letstravelnow411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citlali C, Marketing at San Remo Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
We are so glad that you found us, and decided to try our hotel. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and found us to be accommodating. We look forward to serving you again in the future. Thank you for taking the time to comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I've stayed at the San Remo twice for several days each time. The first time I was nervous about staying somewhere with a shared bathroom. Not to worry. The refurbished toilets are actually charming, with a pull chain on an overhead box, just like at my grandparents' home when I was a child. A toilet and shower (in separate rooms) were always available. The hallway was lit at night, so I didn't need the flashlight I brought. I reserved a room with a sink, which was convenient and worth the extra money. The staff cleaned the room every day.

The hotel is filled with antiques, plants, charm, and helpful and very friendly staff. It is only a couple of blocks from Fisherman's Wharf. For early risers who want coffee before the hotel coffee is ready, a Starbucks is a short walk away. Mattress and pillows are not great, but the price is much less than at cushy hotels. (The fantastic massage chairs will fix up your back.) I even got an excellent discount for being a return guest. I'll stay at the San Remo on all my future visits.

Room Tip: If you can spend a little extra, a room with a sink offers privacy and convenience. Rooms are small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citlali C, Marketing at San Remo Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
We appreciate your comments about our staff and hotel. All of us are here to provide the best experience possible for our guests. We are glad that you enjoyed our massage chairs. Thank you again, and we look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

This was a lovely old hotel to stay in, very handy to Fisherman's Wharf and the ferries, although it had shared bathrooms. they were only a couple of doors away.
The rooms were very small, but adequate for what we needed as location was the main reason.
Highly recommend it to anyone wanting a hotel close to the wharf which is affordable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julesb63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citlali C, Marketing at San Remo Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a comment. We love to hear back from our guests. If you want a central place with affordable rates, we are your hotel.

Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have stayed multiple times here at the San Remo Hotel. Older, but very comfortable place to set your head for a night. If available try to get a room with a window. They open, unlike most other modern places. The smell fo the ocean air is refreshing. The staff is super friendly and the location near fishermans wharf is just fantastic. I plan to stay there again real soon.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jody G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citlali C, Marketing at San Remo Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are not a modern Hotel, in fact we take great pride in maintaining the wonderful old world charm of this 1906 Hotel to create an authentic historic experience.

We are fairly close to the Bay and we do get a very refreshing ocean breeze. Some days you may hear the sea lions barking on Fisherman’s Wharf, we are just a short stroll away from the hotel.

Hope to see you again here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#45 of 228 in San Francisco
1,982 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
#65 of 228 in San Francisco
4,079 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Remo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Remo Hotel

Property: San Remo Hotel
Address: 2237 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94133-1899
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 50 Specialty Lodging in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — San Remo Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family-owned historic boutique pension-style hotel located in North Beach, one of San Francisco's oldest and most popular tourist destinations, and only a few blocks from Fisherman's Wharf. Built in 1906, our hotel maintains an atmosphere of Old-World charm and ambiance with specially selected antique furnishings - no two rooms are alike. The walls of the hotel are filled with a collection of memorabilia and history. Our style is simplicity and sanctuary - there are no room telephones, no televisions, and on the order of European pensions, shared baths which are meticulously cleaned daily, and are private when in use, but for all guests to use. Our rooms are cozy and small, our prices are proportional. Our staff is available while our Front Desk is open to help you find anything your heart desires. A truly unique, non-standardized hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your San Remo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing