We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place”
Review of San Remo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
San Remo Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

This was a lovely old hotel to stay in, very handy to Fisherman's Wharf and the ferries, although it had shared bathrooms. they were only a couple of doors away.
The rooms were very small, but adequate for what we needed as location was the main reason.
Highly recommend it to anyone wanting a hotel close to the wharf which is affordable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julesb63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citlali C, Marketing at San Remo Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a comment. We love to hear back from our guests. If you want a central place with affordable rates, we are your hotel.

Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,053 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    473
    406
    120
    36
    18
See reviews for
171
468
110
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have stayed multiple times here at the San Remo Hotel. Older, but very comfortable place to set your head for a night. If available try to get a room with a window. They open, unlike most other modern places. The smell fo the ocean air is refreshing. The staff is super friendly and the location near fishermans wharf is just fantastic. I plan to stay there again real soon.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jody G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citlali C, Marketing at San Remo Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are not a modern Hotel, in fact we take great pride in maintaining the wonderful old world charm of this 1906 Hotel to create an authentic historic experience.

We are fairly close to the Bay and we do get a very refreshing ocean breeze. Some days you may hear the sea lions barking on Fisherman’s Wharf, we are just a short stroll away from the hotel.

Hope to see you again here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Been at the San Remo hotel for 3 nights and had very good time: it's cheap, clean, well maintained, personnel is very friendly and available to accommodate your needs.. You got to share the bathroom but I must say that I never had any problem.
Last night had to change room as it was not originally available (was originally booked @ a holiday in in the fisherman warf area and decided to cancel there to stay 1 more night @ the san remo)
Location is just perfect with the cable cars few minutes away..
All in all very good price / quality ratio.
I would certainly recommend it for a budget trip: if you are looking for the comfort, not the place for you..

Room Tip: rooms on the street side have windowas and are generally bigger + include TV
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ntonjfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citlali C, Marketing at San Remo Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for you review. We are glad that you decided to stay one extra night. Some of our guest stay longer for our hotel is affordable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice,CA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed for two nights and loved it. The bedroom was very basic and comfortable (no TV in the room). The shared bathrooms clean and constantly serviced.
Great staff and GREAT LOCATION. It felt like coming home each evening. Depending on which way you walk, you have North Beach/Chinatown one way and Fisherman's Wharf the other.

Room Tip: Better away from the kitchen downstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HalH23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citlali C, Marketing at San Remo Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We have been a family owned and operated Pensione style hotel since 1971, we are glad you felt at home.

Yes, we have chosen not to add TV’s or phones in our rooms. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2013

It's like stepping into a time machine! Built in 1906, right after the great earthquake that destroyed most of old San Francisco, the San Remo was constructed to house the workers who were rebuilding the city. The rooms are tiny, but very quaint and cosy. You may have to share a bathroom down the hall, but this just adds to the feel that you're living part of history. The location is excellent, an easy walk to Fisherman's Wharf and North Beach, and just around the corner from the Cable Car turn-around. Everything was very clean and the staff very friendly and helpful. I love the old place... Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: They're all good. Just decide if you want one with it's own sink. The rooms in the interio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citlali C, Marketing at San Remo Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
You know our history very well! We try to keep our turn of the last Century charm and a friendly environment.

We look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Yes - and they deserve it. Very good price. Very good neighborhood. Very convenient to get arround. Very clean. Very safe. Very friendly and helpful staff. I shopped around long and hard and I'm convinced this is the best value lodging in all of San Francisco. I would, without reservation, stay here again.

Room Tip: If you're from a colder climate or like to sleep in a cool setting, get a room that has a window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DKS65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citlali C, Owner at San Remo Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Do we really want to say what we are thinking? Yes! We love our guests, and we love what we do!

My brother Tom and I have lovingly nurtured this hotel for over 42 years. It seems to only get better. A wonderful review like yours validates every second we have been here and makes us want to stay another 42 years.

We hope to see you very soon.

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

My family and I stayed at the San Remo Hotel for four nights in the middle of April 2013. We highly recommend this hotel - not only was it a lovely place to stay but it was exceptional value at US$99 plus tax for all three of us together per night.
The hotel is historic and quaint in the nicest way. Our double room was smallish but cosy and we loved the eclectic decor in the room. The pillows however were hard and uncomfortable (our only nit pick with this hotel).
The shared bathrooms had original early 19th century fittings which were all in excellent working order and were always spotlessly clean.
The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The hotel is in a great location, within a short walking distance of the Wharves, Lombard Street and the City Lights Bookshop.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneCherie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citlali C, Marketing at San Remo Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Just like with a mattress, some people would rather have a hard mattress or a soft one. We provide a pillow that is most commonly used in hotels. Upon request, we have other pillows to offer, either harder or softer, please ask at the Front Desk.

We are glad you found our staff to be helpful. All of us are here to provide the best service we can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#44 of 229 in San Francisco
2,129 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
#91 of 229 in San Francisco
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Fisherman’s Wharf
San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Remo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Remo Hotel

Property: San Remo Hotel
Address: 2237 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94133-1899
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 51 Specialty Lodging in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — San Remo Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family-owned historic boutique pension-style hotel located in North Beach, one of San Francisco's oldest and most popular tourist destinations, and only a few blocks from Fisherman's Wharf. Built in 1906, our hotel maintains an atmosphere of Old-World charm and ambiance with specially selected antique furnishings - no two rooms are alike. The walls of the hotel are filled with a collection of memorabilia and history. Our style is simplicity and sanctuary - there are no room telephones, no televisions, and on the order of European pensions, shared baths which are meticulously cleaned daily, and are private when in use, but for all guests to use. Our rooms are cozy and small, our prices are proportional. Our staff is available while our Front Desk is open to help you find anything your heart desires. A truly unique, non-standardized hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your San Remo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing