We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in the middle of the city”
Review of San Remo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
San Remo Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 9, 2013

i would not stay any other place when I visit the city..This place in convenient to all parts of the city.either walking, cable, or bus...I parked at the Safeway..safe, and clean...I cant say enough about this charming place..please treat yourself, and stay here...

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chessemill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citlali C, Marketing at San Remo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are withing walking distance to many of San Francisco's main attractions, and close to several bike rental shops.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

615 - 621 of 1,108 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2013

This hotel may be the best surprise of my trip to SF. As a solo female traveller, I felt so safe and relaxed I fell asleep on my bed right after I checked in. Great, welcoming cozy halls with interesting books and pictures everywhere, and a free pass to the Beat Museum a ten minute walk away. The atmosphere is so welcoming I can't imagine staying in one of those boxy chain hotels. Absolutely loved the feel of this place. Wonderful rooms, each different, and open for viewing until thier occupants checked in. Antiques in each one, painted wood floors, windows that open and comfy beds. Interesting place to spend an afternoon. And a bargain, with free wifi, a corner room with a sink, I spent just over $100 bucks. I visited a coworker's boxy, featureless room at the Marriot Marquis (300 bucks with unreliable wifi) and knew I'd gotten a steal. There are massage chairs that really work, on every floor. Bathrooms are shared but spotless and plentiful. I couldn't get this place off my mind when I left, I wanted to stay! Felt like home. Only downside, just a tad off the beaten path (Close to lots of north Beach cafes, City lights bookstore). I'm a walker so this wasn't an issue. And at this price you can afford a taxi now and then. FYI if you need an early airport shuttle (14 bucks) order it the night before, the desk is only staffed from 8 am to 10 pm.

Room Tip: the cheapest rooms have windows that look onto a hallway, but they're adorable! A corner room wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citlali C, Marketing at San Remo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

We are glad you had a good experience in San Francisco and in our hotel. We strive to make our guests happy and feel at home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I had a lovely stay here. The extremely affordable rates (for SF) relate to European style hotel (bathroom down the hall) and small rooms. The bathrooms and shower were kept very clean during our stay and there is a lovely bathtub on the upper floor available for use. Each room is slightly different, so if you have the opportunity to look at available rooms when you check in that would be helpful. We found that choosing a room with a sink was a good option for us. Very pleasant and helpful staff. Being in such close proximity to trolley, North Beach eating and shopping and the wharf all good. Great coffee places nearby and Trader Joe's around the corner. Parking is currently discounted by the hotel at a local Safeway parking garage. We loved our stay here and will return!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PippinSophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citlali C, Marketing at San Remo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

We know we are a different kind of Hotel, sort of an antidote to the big hotel chain experience.
Hope to see you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is closed to Fisherman Whalf, Pier 39. It is cozy and warm, has nice decoration inside but the room is very tiny and no noise proof. I guess it is built in old days so not equipped with this.
Sharing bathrooms are quite clean. In general nothing to complain, except for inside the room. Too antique!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HTNHL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citlali C, Marketing at San Remo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are not a modern Hotel, in fact we take great pride in maintaining the wonderful old world charm of this 1906 Hotel, and make it an authentic historic experience. Our rooms are furnished with antiques and historical artwork and memorabilia.

On most days, you can even enjoy taking photos next to one of several vintage vehicles in our collection that we often have in front of the Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

This establishment looks more like a hostel that a hotel. Decor is decadent but charming. Staff is helpful and nice. It is located at a stone's throw from the Fisherman's Wharf. There is a Trader Joe's and a number of cafés and bars nearby. Close to the cable car and bus stops.

My room was tiny, just room for a sink and a folding bed. No bathroom but a huge flatscreen TV. Bed was confy. Could hear the neighbour's TV but was so tired that didn't really bothered. Don't miss the massage coach, good experience.

Overall I would recommend to stay at this hotel for location and flashback, but it seems a bit overpriced for a room with no bathroom and without breakfast.

Room Tip: Avoid room 7 for the folding bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rick_Santx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citlali C, Marketing at San Remo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

We have a reputation for being the best budget Hotel in San Francisco. We are located close to many of the most desirable attractions, the Cable Car is only 1 block away from us.
Our prime location, 2 blocks from Fisherman’s Wharf, North Beach, make our Hotel a walkers paradise.

San Francisco is known to be an expensive City to visit; we make your stay affordable by providing a beautifully decorated Hotel at a budget rate. We are surrounded by Hotels whose rates are are 200 to 300 % higher than ours. Yes, our rooms are not large, but neither are our prices.

To respect the authenticity and charm of the Hotel, and to minimize noise, we do not offer TV’s or telephones in the rooms. We do have an internet kiosk and printer, free Wi-Fi and a TV room for our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

This hotel has two things going for it: the price (good value compared to everything else we looked at in a comparable area) and location (walking distance for Pier 39, bars, restaurants etc).

In every other respect, there is little to compliment. The rooms are small and tired. No TV, but at least there was wifi. Bed was way too small for my (albeit tall) husband. Bathrooms are shared and whilst clean enough and not busy, I missed having one en suite. Staff were a mixed bag. The person who checked us out was charming, but on arrival, the person at the desk barely looked up from her magazine.

If value for money and central location are essentials, go for it. We were here for just 2 nights as part of a bigger trip. On reflection, I'd rather have spent more and stayed elsewhere.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Surreytravelling2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citlali C, Marketing at San Remo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

We are a turn of the Century Hotel, built in 1906 right after the earthquake. The needs of travelers were different then and rooms were smaller built.
Our rooms are beautifully adorned. The furniture and decor of our rooms have been hand picked. Each room is different, some have brass beds, other have antique iron or wooden beds. The hallways have been lovingly decorated with antiques, artwork and historical documentation. Our guests often arrive tired, but our rooms are not.
We do have a community room with a large TV which is normally available unless we are sold out.
We strive to ensure that our staff is always courteous and efficient at the front desk.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Hotel was in an easy to find location, short walk from the cable car stop, close to Pier 39 and grocery stores.

The shared bathroom were fine, didn't have to wait in the morning, which I had feared and as we were some of the first people up and about they had been newly cleaned. The room was pretty quiet, but would have been good to have had a fridge available.

Price was definitely the best value we could find and we found it an easy, enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Ask for an exterior facing room - we were in an interior room which means without the curtains close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StaryEyedAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citlali C, Marketing at San Remo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Thank you for your review. There is a fridge at the Front Office, just ask us in case you need it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#51 of 230 in San Francisco
2,358 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#90 of 230 in San Francisco
2,379 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
#28 of 230 in San Francisco
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Grant Hotel
The Grant Hotel
#133 of 230 in San Francisco
1,065 reviews
USA Hostels San Francisco
#3 of 54 in San Francisco
1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Remo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Remo Hotel

Address: 2237 Mason St, San Francisco, CA 94133-1899
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 54 Specialty Lodging in San Francisco
Price Range: $90 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — San Remo Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family-owned historic boutique pension-style hotel located in North Beach, one of San Francisco's oldest and most popular tourist destinations, and only a few blocks from Fisherman's Wharf. Built in 1906, our hotel maintains an atmosphere of Old-World charm and ambiance with specially selected antique furnishings - no two rooms are alike. The walls of the hotel are filled with a collection of memorabilia and history. Our style is simplicity and sanctuary - there are no room telephones, no televisions, and on the order of European pensions, shared baths which are meticulously cleaned daily, and are private when in use, but for all guests to use. Our rooms are cozy and small, our prices are proportional. Our staff is available while our Front Desk is open to help you find anything your heart desires. A truly unique, non-standardized hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your San Remo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing