We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Awesome hotel, awesome value!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Remo Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
San Remo Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Folsom, California, United States
1 review
“Awesome hotel, awesome value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

We loved our experience at the San Remo! What a hidden gem. The staff was hospitable, the room was comfortable, and the place is literally blocks from Fisherman's Wharf. We were a little concerned about the shared bathroom idea, but we found that we weren't inconvenienced at all. In fact, the towels were heated which was a lovely surprise. The only thing I might recommend is bringing a bathrobe for after your shower.

If you're looking to spend your vacation in a hotel room, watching television and ordering room service, you should look elsewhere. But if you're looking for a cool, low-key place to sleep this place is awesome. Thanks again to the San Remo for a great stay! We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sink, if available. And bring a bathrobe!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Corey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    364
    111
    35
    14
See reviews for
145
427
100
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights. Passing through to see the main attractions of San Francisco. I was only in the hotel to sleep. It was extremely friendly. Rooms were small but did the job. Very basic with sink. Shared toilets and showers were immaculate with plenty fresh towels. Only criticism was mattress was very hard and lumpy. Wouldnt stay here if height of summer or staying longer than a few days but that's a personal choice of my preference for air con. All in all a fantastic stay here. I'd definately recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fionamarshall25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

I have stayed here 3 times, each one a terrific stay. When I go to San Francisco, I want to stay here for the location and price, but as importantly because of the international ambiance and general charm of the hotel. You immediately notice the international clientele. Here you get a room for what are likely budget motel rates, but the rooms are European pension decor rather than what's usual for a budget motel, a big attraction for me. Once I stayed here, I didn't bother with budget motels - why would I? I checked a couple of budget motels for price on my last visit, mid- October, but quickly realized I was wasting my time. So I can't make a definitive comparison. Sure, the toilets and showers are down the hall, but that has never been a problem on any of my visits. You can also get a room with a sink. Muni bus and (historic) streetcar transit are a couple of blocks away. When I'm away from home, this is one of my favourite places to stay. The others are in different cities.

Room Tip: Rooms with sinks are bigger; I travel alone and the smaller rooms are fine with me. I've not had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Guy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

The first night we were in room 8 which is giving onto the street and it was very hard to get any sleep as the windows are very old and the street is noisy all the way through the night. Also the neighbors marching on the wooden floor above is wasn't helping. Then we moved to room 60 on the floor above and that was a lot better. The rooms are very small but the place has a lot of character and it has a very nice feel to it.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kalia62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed at the San Remo hotel for 4 nights. Our daughter (1 year) stayed with us. The room was rather small, there is no place for an extra bed for the baby, she slept in the same bed as we did. There was no private bathroom or toilet, but it was very clean.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laure-Erik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

My daughter recommended this hotel, having stayed here herself.
On arrival, we struggled up the stairs with our heavy cases to the reception. (no lift)
The staff were friendly and showed us to the room- very quaint and oldy-worldy with no room to swing a cat! But hey it was a stones throw from fishermans wharf and for the price, we felt it a bargain! The toilets and showers were shared and along the corridor, but that was not an issue.
We were there 3 nights and enjoyed our time there. It was close to the cable car for down town etc.
Parking could be an issue as they do not have a car park, but for the one night we had the car, we parked in the local supermarket for $16.
I would definately recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have windows to outside. So if that might be a problem, ask for a room with an outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank szwandtkj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Upon arriving at the hotel i was greeted with a pleasant looking building that was quite charming!
Inside the hotel was extremely rustic and had a funny scent to it.
My room was pretty small in size and only had a sink and the showers/toilets were communal.
The bed wasn't the most comfortable either.
This is all forgiveable given the location and price of the hotel!
It was less than a 5 minute walk to fisherman's Wharf which was fantastic, full of restaurants and sights! The Altatraz ferry was only about a 20 minute walk from here also.
All the local bars offered interesting characters from all over the world and were no more than a 10-15 minute walk away. Columbus avenue offered many beautiful restaurants with a social dine on the street feel and also had a little 'red light district' further from town if that is your scene.
Parking in San Fransisco was a nightmare with 2 hour parking slots free of charge that soon filled up around the hotel, fortunately the hotel offers all night parking for a mere £16 which is by far the cheapest you will find in San Fran and is visible from the hotel!
I doubt that you will find anywhere to stay in San Fransisco that offers better value for money and location than the San Remo!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BigMikeManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#42 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,545 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Tuscan
The Tuscan
#41 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,932 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Whar...
#33 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf San Francisco
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf ...
#61 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Remo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Remo Hotel

Property: San Remo Hotel
Address: 2237 Mason St, San Francisco, CA 94133-1899
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 50 Specialty Lodging in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — San Remo Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family-owned historic boutique pension-style hotel located in North Beach, one of San Francisco's oldest and most popular tourist destinations, and only a few blocks from Fisherman's Wharf. Built in 1906, our hotel maintains an atmosphere of Old-World charm and ambiance with specially selected antique furnishings - no two rooms are alike. The walls of the hotel are filled with a collection of memorabilia and history. Our style is simplicity and sanctuary - there are no room telephones, no televisions, and on the order of European pensions, shared baths which are meticulously cleaned daily, and are private when in use, but for all guests to use. Our rooms are cozy and small, our prices are proportional. Our staff is available while our Front Desk is open to help you find anything your heart desires. A truly unique, non-standardized hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your San Remo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing