We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quirky but perfect location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of San Remo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
San Remo Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Quirky but perfect location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

On first appearances the hotel feels old and neglected, but after a little while you begin to notice that the hotel is very clean is styled as it was 100 years ago. It is located one block from a supermarket and 2 blocks from the Powell St trolley car turning station, it is also on the same street as fishermans wharf. There is no parking at the hotel but you can get discount at a multistory 2 blocks away ($16 a day). Would consider staying again due to the low price and the great location for pier 39(10min walk away). Be aware there is no air-con only ceiling fans and windows.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wonkyferg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,001 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    384
    116
    35
    15
See reviews for
155
449
106
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

As a young woman serving on board a United States Navy ammunitions carrier a chance to get off of the ship for weekends and such is a pleasure. Being stationed in the Bay Area it was quite expensive to say the least unless you ventured outside of the city and then most times you sacrificed quailty, shopping and adventure.
But then, I found San Remo. It was called the San Remo Inn back then and it became my home away from home. A taste of tranquility and privacy mixed with a lovely bar and scrumptious chef prepared meals downstairs. It was within walkinf distance to comedy shows, great nightlife, and of course Ghiradelli's and all the waterfront sights.
I particularly loved the rooftop "penthouse" with the clawfoot bathtub.
It is small but very charming and cleanliness? IMPECCABLE. Waking to warm rolls and muffins and hot coffee after a night spent curling up with a good book or a San Francisco morning run. Paradise. Truly.
As a single woman, I never once feared being there alone. Safe and sound.

Room Tip: I loved the rooftop "penthouse" wih private bathroom. Charming and a nice little SF view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dot1023NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

A slice of old San francisco in a very handy position. A short stroll from fisherman's wharf, bicycle hire places, Alcatraz tours, dining district etc. Small rooms with limited amenities but clean and quaint. I'd stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocklin, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

The first thing I noticed about the San Remo was the smell...Of cleanliness. We normally stay at 3 & 4 star resorts but don't want to pay an arm and a leg in SF. We paid $69 (each roon) for adjoining rooms where each had a sink. The bathroom toilets and showers (which are separate) are very clean and didn't see it an inconveinence. The shower upstairs was a trickle but the others were normal, so be picky. People normally were showering around 8am. All the furniture are antiques so the bed is firm but not especially comfortable. I always use ear plugs and was exhausted the night we stayed so didn't hear any noise. Everyone staying there is very nice and goes with the flow. I would recommend and stay again because of price and location.

Caution: We parked our car at the Northpoint Parking Lot and it was vandalized the night we stayed. 2 car windows were bashed in and destroyed. This is does not reflect on the San Remo or really the area as crime is up in the city all over. Recommend going to the other guarded garage which is $7 more a night but worth the deductible I have to pay to get my windows replaced.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

If you want to be in walking distance to Fishermans Wharf this could not have been much better. This is the second time I have stayed here and would do so again. The downside is the lack of lift with the reception on the first floor and if you want a tv then stay somewhere else. Now that they have free wifi throughout the hotel the lack of a tv wasn't a drawback for me. If you don't have your own laptop or ipad then you can pay to use the wired internet booth.
The shared bathroom facilities are fine and I didn't have any problems getting into the shows or toilet because they have plenty available on each floor.
If you are happy to try something different to the usual hotel then give it a go.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FAinsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

No the San Remo is not luxurious. Yes, you have to share bathrooms (they are very clean). But this place has more character than most and I have nothing but fond memories. Ask for a corner room (some of the interior rooms are small) and ask to be away from the bathrooms (being right across the hall from them can be noisy). Its a great location though (with a great coffee shop around the corner). Once you've stayed once, I suggest walking around and checking out the other rooms so you know which you like (they've always been good about honnoring specific room requests).We always ask for the third floor corner room (can't remeber the number now) and have never had a problem with noise (other than the normal amount of noise you asscociate with being in a big city). And you can't beat the price. I think this is one of those places you either love or hate. If you like and are used to chain hotels, this may not be the place for you. If you like funky, charming hotels with some definite personality, then you'll love San Remo.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ncbuckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courbevoie, France
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012 via mobile

We arrived here without having booked anything. 2 kinds of rooms: the cheapest at 80$ (without sink, bathroom, toilet and no window) and another kind more expensive at 100$ (with only à sink and a window more). The common parts of the hotel are quite prety, but the bathrooms are really small. Furthermore, the location is not very nice, near from Fisherman's Warf.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krystoffff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#48 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,836 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Tuscan
The Tuscan
#58 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Remo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Remo Hotel

Property: San Remo Hotel
Address: 2237 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94133-1899
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 50 Specialty Lodging in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — San Remo Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family-owned historic boutique pension-style hotel located in North Beach, one of San Francisco's oldest and most popular tourist destinations, and only a few blocks from Fisherman's Wharf. Built in 1906, our hotel maintains an atmosphere of Old-World charm and ambiance with specially selected antique furnishings - no two rooms are alike. The walls of the hotel are filled with a collection of memorabilia and history. Our style is simplicity and sanctuary - there are no room telephones, no televisions, and on the order of European pensions, shared baths which are meticulously cleaned daily, and are private when in use, but for all guests to use. Our rooms are cozy and small, our prices are proportional. Our staff is available while our Front Desk is open to help you find anything your heart desires. A truly unique, non-standardized hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Remo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing