We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close enough to everything!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Ranked #42 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Close enough to everything!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2011

Nice hotel. Great location, easy access to all parts of downtown and mass transit. Easy to walk to the ball field where the Giants play, it took about 10-15 mins to walk.

The sports pub attached to the bottom of the hotel had great beer and quick eats. It was priced good too (as good as prices can get in San Francisco).

Room was very roomy & comfortable. The bed and bedding were superb. Had a decent view from the room as well.

Lots of restaurants and shopping very close to the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flippy_floppies09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Marquis, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, February 8, 2011
Greetings and thank you for your wonderful feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your holidays here with us during stay at the San Francisco Marriott Marquis and we hope that you will visit us again soon. Have a great day !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,643
    1,868
    593
    156
    93
See reviews for
807
845
162
1,932
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (931)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tupelo, Mississippi
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2011

We arrived on Christmas eve 2010 - the bell hop was very friendly and informative about the area. After having the breakfast buffet the first morning - it was so good that it would have been difficult to top the breakfast choices and service. So that's where we had breakfast every day of our stay.
We were given the choice to have a room on a higer floor (so we could enjoy the view) and what a spectacular view!. We've stayed in very nice hotels and this hotel was all that and more - excellent housekeeping, exceptional service and the most comfortable bed which only made us want to return early every day. Everything we wanted to visit was within a short walking distance or only a short taxi ride. We were absolutely staying in the heart of the city!
We lived in San Francisco in 1969 and were on a limited budget but have such wonderful memories of our time spent there. We always dreamed of the day when we could return to this fine city and stay in one of its nicest places. I think we chose well. Now we've added Christmas memories and we know exactly where we will stay on the next visit.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sjgools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Marquis, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, January 19, 2011
What a great pleasure to receive your wonderful compliments, knowing you received excellent care during your stay here at the San Francisco Marriott Marquis, while celebrating your Christmas holidays with us. We look forward to welcoming you back next year.


Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2011

Check-in was quick and easy. All my requests were seen to. Staff was very friendly. Starbucks onsite was great to have. Lots of places to sit and review notes before start of your day. The very nice lobby ramps up your expectation for an equally nice room...but that's just not the case. With the exception of the TV and beds (most important I know) the rooms need to be gutted and updated. Room was not the cleanest either. The high speed internet is not high speed and a rip off at $14.95 a day. Rooms were very quiet which important to me. I heard no one. All in all I won't stay here again...there are many more nicer hotels in downtown for the same or better price.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sailingaway65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Marquis, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, January 18, 2011
Greetings,

We take all feedback very seriously, and sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations. We are pleased to share with you that in early 2011 we plan to have wireless installed into our guest rooms. In the meantime, complimentary wireless access is available in both our lobby and chill zone work areas.

Thank you ~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2011

I absolutely love the location of the hotel. It's within 5 minutes walk to all of my favorite stores in San Francisco. They had a concierge service which provided excellent tips and maps to different places. Given that it's downtown San Francisco, the price we paid which included valet parking was great. The pillows as some of the reviewers mentioned were very comfortable. The room though not overly fancy, were very clean.
If the prices don't change the next time I visit San Fran, then I will most definitely stay here again. The only feedback that I would give is that the parking entrance is different than the main hotel entrance which caused a bit of confusion. Other than that, review of the hotel is excellent!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SanJose023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Marquis, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, January 18, 2011
Greetings and thank you for your wonderful feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the San Francisco Marriott Marquis and we hope that you will visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st. louis
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2011

I recently stayed 7 nights at the Marriott Marquis for business and everything went absolutely perfect. My view was excellent (on the 24th floor), room was perfect, beds were like sleeping on clouds, pillows were above average (I bring my own pillow with me), sheets were of very high quality, quick elevators for the high rise side, all meetings went perfect. Our group had over 1000 attendees and everything went perfect.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hardballer26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Marquis, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, January 13, 2011
Fantastic, thank you for your wonderful comments and feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the San Francisco Marriott Marquis and we fulfilled all of your expectations. Thank you once again, we do hope that you will visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2011

Location could not be better. The staff is very friendly, efficient and attentive.
Quiet and pretty big (standard) room, good beds.
Very well equipped fitness center.
Good value for money.

Overall my stay at this Marriott was pleasant and I will definitely return to this hotel when in SF.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dodo1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Marquis, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, January 13, 2011
Greetings and thank you for your wonderful feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the San Francisco Marriott Marquis and we hope that you will visit us again soon!
Have a great day ...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2011

Nice hotel. Friendly staff. Good service. All the things one would expect from a Marriott Marquis. However, there is NO wireless available in the rooms and the charge for the wired internet is $14.95 per day from Noon to Noon. Being tethered to the desk by a short wire is annoying. The price is extreme. Other than that, no complaints.

Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank docdrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Marquis, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, January 13, 2011
Thank you for your comments. We are excited to inform you that we are working on getting WIFI in the guestrooms and we anticipate this happening early this year. We hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#30 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,802 reviews
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
SoMa
Park Central Hotel San Francisco
Park Central Hotel San Francisco
#59 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#36 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,335 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Zelos San Francisco
Hotel Zelos San Francisco
#56 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Union Square
JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Francisco Marriott Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Property: San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Address: 780 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-3113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#45 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Francisco Marriott Marquis 4*
Number of rooms: 1500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your San Francisco Marriott Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco Marriott Marquis Hotel San Francisco
Marriott San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing