We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant and Classy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Ranked #27 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Elegant and Classy”
Reviewed July 1, 2010

I travelled to San Francisco to spend my weekend. It is really one of the most beautiful city in the States. The hotel was classy and elegant. The rooms were spacious and clean. The hotel offers wide variety of breakfast and the location of the hotel is just perfect. The food quality was good. Had a Nice view from my room. The staff were codial and helped me to book a tour to Alcatraz. The staff also suggested an interesting city tour agency.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonu78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Marquis, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, July 2, 2010
Thank you for your many great comments. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay in San Francisco, the beautiful City by the Bay ! It was a pleasure to have you as our guest here at the San Francisco Marriott Marquis, and we look forward to welcoming you back once again. Thank you and have a great day !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,924 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,020
    2,012
    624
    165
    103
See reviews for
941
943
176
2,222
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,025)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2010

This is my 2nd stay with this hotel in the last 3 months. Dan The front desk staff that night made our late check in very smooth and we got a great room on the high floor as we requested. housekeeping staff keep everything clean and all the bathroom supplies stocked. The bed is always very comfortable and I wish I can have one in my own bedroom. Great location and very close to the shopping area and attraction.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimBudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Marquis, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, July 12, 2010
Greetings, thank you for sharing with us, we appreciate your feedback as our guest. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, at the San Francisco Marriott Marquis. Have a wonderful day !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
339 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2010

Overall a nice stay and far more pros than cons. This is a large 1,500 room facility so the lobby is bustling at all hours. The weekend of June I was there boasted several baseball games at the nearby AT&T park as well as the City's gay pride festival and attendees of both events were noticeable throughout the hotel. This is not a gripe - the hotel seemed to accommodate the crowds well. Never more than 1 or 2 people waiting at check-in desk, the concierge was always available and staff throughout the sprawling lobby area offered assistance to me several times. My room was on the 38th floor with an incredible view to the Bay and the highrises of the financial district. Comfortable beds and modern fixtures. The air conditioning did not work very well and though I could open the window the room never felt quite right to me. I tolerated it and still slept okay for 2 nights but later I asked if I could move to a different room for the last 2 nights of my stay. With the change I sacrificed the view, but the second room did have working air conditioning and was more comfortable to me. With the window open in the second, lower floor room there was considerable street noise however with the window closed it all faded away. This has to be one of my best sound-proofed hotels I have experienced in a while! Also because of my complaint the hotel provided me a $30 credit which I thought was more than fair. Both rooms were similar though slightly different layouts. I noticed a spot in the carpet and a tiny little hole in one of the bed sheets but nothing along the lines of the wear-tear suggested by other reviewers here. The beds are quite comfortable and the 37" inch flat panel TV was nice to chill out to a night. There is free wifi in the lobby area and they offer a free computer airline check-in station with printers. There is a Starbucks in the lobby that is convenient. There are several other bars and restaurants but I did not try them. The entrance to the BART and Muni trains is only about 1/2 block away and the Powell Cable Car turnaround is about 2 blocks away. Across 4th Street is the Westfield San Francisco Center Mall, full of typical mall stores however it has some excellent restaurants. "Out the door" is a Vietnamese restaurant in the basement level and "Straits" is a Singaporean restaurant on the 4th floor. The mall also has a Bristol Farms market which is nice for groceries and delicious desserts. Overall opinion is that this is a large and busy but well-managed facility that can handlle the crowds effectively and still provide good customer service.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank friendlyinsomniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Marquis, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, July 2, 2010
Greetings, thank you for sharing with us, we appreciate your feedback as our guest. We are glad you enjoyed your stay here at the San Francisco Marriott Marquis ! Thank you once again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2010

I stayed here 6/2/10-6/5/10 for a work conference.The room was really nice. A drawback was that we could not use the mini-fridge because it was full of drinks that if you took them out you had to pay for them. I wish for the price the fridge was usable. Also, I am a vegan and the food for the conference was awful. I could only have salad from the buffet, After notifying them of being vegan, they brought me a salad wrap. They were notified in advance of my diet. I went to a nearby mall food court to eat. Also, no free wireless internet, only in the common area. Otherwise it was pretty nice.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Marquis, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, June 22, 2010
Thank you very much for staying us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milw, WI
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2010

Stayed May 29-June1 2010 on the 33rd floor with a corner suite---very stunning views and quiet room. Everything was clean and service was impeccable. Furniture was clean, but threadbare, could use replacement. Even the lobby area had worn furniture with pulled threads. For this caliber of hotel, the lobby is its first impression and though on first view it is nice, when you sit down, you see the wear and tear. Overall, I would return again because it was convenient to the M line, the trolley, shopping, and the Moscone Center and it was very clean with excellent service; which, in the end, means more to me than threadbare furniture.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank witraveler4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
236 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2010

I came for a conference and lucked out - had a corner room. The view was great, Unfortunately most of the conference was spent in the subbasement in meetings. The bed was nice. The arm chair is the room was not so big my feet did not touch the floor. Those of us below 5'8" sometimes have problems with this. Complimentary robes for the asking. My one complaint - housekeeping threw out my antiperspirant. My conference mates would not have been happy if I did not replace it. I had to pay hotel gift shop prices!
The conference food was good. The food service was friendly, fast, and professional. THe lobby bar had a very limited menu but adequate. The VIew lounge (at the top of the building) also had a limited menu but adequate. I never made it to the other restaurant. I dined out in San Franciso. Great food the be had.
Thely work working on the business center so computer service was for pay only off the lobby. Take your laptop or you are out of luck. There were no chairs if you needed to use the copmputers either.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank homeless-dancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, dc
Level Contributor
154 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2010

This is one of the larger Marriott's I've stayed in and it's on par with the massive Hilton a few blocks away on O'Donnell Street.

The hotel entry for those arriving by taxi, shuttle (not the hotel's-- they dont have one) or car is a pretty unwelcoming under-building driveway but the lobby itself is quite nice and absolutely clean. Not a speck of dust or debris in the lobby. Check-in was relatively quick; our room was not quite ready but we arrived early and the staff shifted rooms around so we could still check in before normal 4pm time. We ended up in a junior suite (I have high status with Marriott and get upgraded a lot) which we appreciated as we needed space to work. Internet access is free for Marriott Rewards gold elites and $13/day for non-elites; it is wired in the rooms and free wi-fi in the lobby and lobby bar. Internet connection was reliable and relatively fast.

The rooms themselves are not remarkable; nothing wrong with them, just no flash or flair. You know you are in a Marriott, you're just not sure which one. If they added a little color to the design scheme, it would go a long way. But the rooms are very clean, especially the bathrooms, and the housekeeping staff is friendly, helpful and unobtrusive. The bed was *extremely* comfortable, one of the best hotel beds I've ever slept in (I travel about 90 nights a year so that's a lot of hotel beds).

The neighborhood isn't too convenient for walking to the attractions and it's about a $15 cab ride to Pier 39 and the other tourist magnets, but it is right across the street from the Moscone Center so if you are here for a convention, you can't get any closer. Do your research on neighborhood restaurants; many close at around 8pm as foot traffic really dies out after the workday, and others are just not that good.

The View lounge on the top floor is comfortable (the carpet is too loud though) and a great spot for drinks; the drink prices are a little high but not off the charts for a downtown hotel, and you're paying for the view anyway. Which, by the way, is stunning and you can't find a better place to enjoy a $14 martini. Plan your evening so that you can enjoy The View a little earlier; they get overrun with bachelorette parties, class reunions and other large, rowdy groups later in the night. It's hard to keep the romantic mood when 14 drunk college kids climb over your table to take pictures.

Service in all aspects was pretty good, nothing outstanding but that's OK, not everyone can be the best waitress, bartender or desk agent ever.

Parking is $60/day with taxes which is on par with the other San Fran downtown hotels and is also why we choose to walk everywhere and just not get a rental car. There is a rental car desk in the lobby so if you want to do a day trip, it's pretty easy.

All in all--- not crazy about the location, but that's mainly because it's not too close to all of the sights and attractions; it's downtown, and downtown San Fran pretty much dies after sundown. But it's a decent Marriott, up to the usual Marriott standards.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcpatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Marquis, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, June 18, 2010
Thank you very much for your comments. We value your opinion and all of your important feed back. Thank you once again for choosing the San Francisco Marriott Marquis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#34 of 228 in San Francisco
2,874 reviews
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#40 of 228 in San Francisco
4,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
5,079 reviews
SoMa
Park Central Hotel San Francisco
Park Central Hotel San Francisco
#61 of 228 in San Francisco
3,507 reviews
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Francisco Marriott Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Property: San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Address: 780 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-3113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#45 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Francisco Marriott Marquis 4*
Number of rooms: 1500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your San Francisco Marriott Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco Marriott Marquis Hotel San Francisco
Marriott San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing