We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really enjoyed our stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Ranked #34 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ventura County
1 review
“Really enjoyed our stay!”
Reviewed December 3, 2009

Six of us spent two nights here and except for a couple of minor
issues our stay was excellent. The staff was fantastic. The location
was great being close to bars, food and shopping.

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chavo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,774
    1,905
    606
    159
    98
See reviews for
855
873
170
2,024
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (962)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2009

excellent location to attend conference in Moscone centre. Just across the road

  • Liked — location central
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DOCMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 7, 2009

Great Hotel close to Moscone Convention Center for work and being downtown you are in walking distance to anything you want to do.

Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Skierlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2009

If you are looking for a clean, convenient hotel - this is it. With a short walk from the cable car turnaround and easy access to the F Line street car you can get to Fisherman's Wharf or the Ferry Building very easily. Being our first time in San Francisco we didn't know our way around at all so having these things so close was helpful. The staff at the concierge desk was fabulous! They assisted us several times with directions and even made a dinner reservation for us. This location is also close to the Westfield mall along with several restaurants very close. The hotel itself along with the rooms were very clean. If you are on a budget you may want to eat outside of the hotel as the restaurants were quite expensive. The room was a good size but we could have used a tad more drawer space. Although we were in a corner room with two large windows we didn't have much of a view being on a lower floor. Honestly though we weren't there to spend time in the room though so it didn't matter too much to us - a great view is a nice to have. Parking is extremely expensive so keep that in mind if you have a car. This location is very convient for those without a car though (one of the reasons we chose it).

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MagicalTravelEars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
159 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2009

The Marriott was a clean, efficient hotel that falls in the 4 star catagory.

The beds were ultra comfortable and the views were great. The valet parking and front desk check in is very efficient.

The room and bathroom was larger than the normal hotel. The large screen TV and desk area were great for relaxing and working.

Their free Wi-Fi area off the lobby is a large area with plenty of desk space for spreading out. This is nice since most hotels in America are bound and determined to try and pry extra money from us to use the internet access in the room.

Parking in the area is very expensive and didn’t look very safe, so we paid the $55 a day for valet. The Marriot didn’t offer any self parking.

We were given a very cheap rate of $95 through Priceline with a blind bid for a 4 star hotel. This made the stay even more sweeter than having to pay the normal $185.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nomad_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2009

Perhaps I was just in an older room, but for a hotel with a good location and high rates, the rooms had a lot lacking. Older, no free WiFi, expensive parking, etc.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2009

My hubby was at Oracle World and probably for a business traveller this hotel might have been ok (although no free wifi) - but for leisure not so much. Rooms were small - I like to do pilates in my room, but it wasn't big enough. No free breaky, no free wifi. Windows on our room were so dirty we couldn't tell what the weather was like. Good location - close to Union Square and Westfields (great food court). We used the spa facilities - which were fine (but small). Staff at bell desk and front desk were overworked and short. The room had dirty on the floor which was no vacuumed up the 3 nights we were there.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Morphi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#32 of 227 in San Francisco
2,825 reviews
SoMa
Park Central Hotel San Francisco
Park Central Hotel San Francisco
#60 of 227 in San Francisco
3,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#37 of 227 in San Francisco
4,398 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Zelos San Francisco
Hotel Zelos San Francisco
#59 of 227 in San Francisco
623 reviews
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Francisco Marriott Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Property: San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Address: 780 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-3113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#27 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#45 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Francisco Marriott Marquis 4*
Number of rooms: 1500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Francisco Marriott Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco Marriott Marquis Hotel San Francisco
Marriott San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing