We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Nearby Hotels
Omni San Francisco Hotel(San Francisco)
$305
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$338
$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$229
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$209
Courtyard
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Kimpton Buchanan(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$217
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$225
$208
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Zoe Fisherman's Wharf(San Francisco)
$309
$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$279
$237
Westin.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Fairmont San Francisco(San Francisco)
$415
$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (6,498)
Filter reviews
6,498 results
Traveler rating
2,981
2,434
746
205
132
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,981
2,434
746
205
132
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe view loungem clubthe concierge loungegreat locationunion squareconvention hotelmoscone centertop floorlarge hotelbusy hotelcorner roommarket streetbusiness triplobby barbart stationper daycable car
Filter
Updating list...
5,808 - 5,813 of 6,498 reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2006

Attended a real estate convention so elected to stay on-site.
A first class hotel in every regard. Expensive, yes but you get what you pay for.
Had stayed at Hotel Rex the prior weekend, rated #6 when I last looked), and that was excellent too but in a different way. See my review. Horses for courses so to speak. If I was visiting San Francisco again and wanted a full-service top end hotel would definetly consider this Marriott.

  • Stayed: February 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SCFunTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2006

We stayed in the San Francisco Marriott for a long weekend in December 2005. The hotel was well located, only minutes walk from most of the attractions, and in very easy reach of the convenient public transport system.

The staff at the hotel were always helpful and friendly, and knowledgeable about the local area. The staff offered help without having to be asked, for example, providing umbrellas on wet days.

Food in the hotel was good and varied, between upmarket restaurants, through the sports bar, to the coffee facilities.

I would definitely stay in the hotel again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MarkH1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2006

We stayed at the Marriott for 4 nights at the end of January. The hotel is very well located within walking distance to the cable car turnaround and good shopping like the Virgin Megastore. The rooms were a very good size and very clean. The beds were fantastic and just what you needed after walking around all day. The only problem we had was the church bells ringing every morning waking us up but we were jet lagged anyway. We ate at the lobby restaurant and it was very nice with a piano player. This hotel is a very big convention hotel and is not for those looking for an intimate get away in a boutique hotel. Another plus for us was that we were renting a hertz car and they had a station in the lobby. The parking was expensive but then who in their right mind would want to drive around San Francisco when the public transport is so good. All in all we were very happy with our stay and had a great time.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank johnTW16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2006

Nice hotel in a great location -- downtown and near many things to see and do. My husband and I stayed for one night and were disappointed that the View Bar was closed for renovations. The limited contact with the staff was good. The rooms were small - but typical by San Francisco standards. While the bed was quite comfortable and the room was clean, the room seemed a bit in need of an update (particularly compared to the Park Hyatt where we stayed several months earlier for close the same price.) Valet parking is a whopping $45 (but you're paying for convenience.) While I wouldn't pay the rack rate for this hotel, not a bad place to stay in the heart of San Francisco.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cbctraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Groningen, The Netherlands
432
Reviewed January 14, 2006

We stayed in Mariott for 5 days with two small children and it was excellent! Good, clean room with a beautiful view and good service. Great breakfast-buffet with friendly people. We loved to have a drink in the view-lounge at the 39th floor.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews