We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big hotel but personal service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Ranked #28 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
A TripAdvisor Member
“Big hotel but personal service”
Reviewed July 31, 2005

At first sight, this hotel seems like another big convention hotel (and there were several conventions there during our stay). But the service is very personal - all the staff are very friendly (special mention for Margaret at the concierge desk - great tour and restaurant recommendations, and how did she remember my (full) name when she deals with hundreds of people each day??!!).

The buffet breakfast is great if you can eat that much in the morning (if you can, it will keep you going until dinner); if not, there is a Starbucks in the lobby.

We had a room on the 28th floor with great views of Twin Peaks. The room itself was very large, very clean and comfortable.

The hotel is located more or less at the junction of Stockton (leading to Union Square) and Market (a major (the main?) shopping street), so we had no complaints about location.

Overall, 10 out of 10.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,127
    2,065
    636
    167
    109
See reviews for
997
972
178
2,299
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,054)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2005

Don't park your car at the hotel because they charge $46.00/day to park your car. And you have no in or out ability. That's outrageous!!

  • Stayed July 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank busy_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2005

My wife and enjoyed this hotel in July 2005. We had no problems with dirty windows, staff, or any of the other things described by others here. The beauty, however, was not the hotel but the location and easy access to public transportation. You can go anywhere in San Francisco from here without a problem, and many interesting places are an easy walk from here.

Having a pool and spa were important to us. Both were superb in this hotel.

Restaurants were lacking - deserted - but we never wanted to eat there. Why eat in the hotel when you are in San Francisco?

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lalo_de_Mexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2005

The San Francisco Marriott has nice large rooms that have been updated (well probably several years ago). Found this and the lower rate to be the only good things about the property. The hotel is in a horribly busy area (if staying in a 'Times Square' type location is your thing, you're in for a treat. If you want something quiet, go to a hotel on Nob Hill). The hotel lobby is large and has the typical Marriott can't-decide-what-I-want-to-look-like-so-I'll-pick-one-of-everything look. 'Flee' is what is says to me. Stay here only if you get a very good deal -- too many other options in SF to consider.

Stayed July 2005
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelLovinMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut Island
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2005

This hotel was recently renovated. It has the prime location (market and 4th), beautifully decor throughout the lobby and 2nd floor, and spacious meeting facilities that attract many corporate accounts. The staff is nice, helpful and friendly. The problem is that the rooms are not what I'd expect of a 4-star hotel. I stayed in the high-rise tower on the 26th floor. Contrary to popular belief, there wasn't really a good view. I can see other highrises and a mere glimpse of the pacific ocean (literally a glimpse if you have good eyesight and try very hard). The bed linen has a hole and looks worn out. There is no minibar nor coffee maker in the room.

In short, you'll probably get a great ocean view if you stay at the Holiday Inn close to China town (I had a breathtaking full ocean view from my room) or Holiday Inn Golden Gateway. And you'll probably get a nicer room and more comfy bed if you stay at Westin or Sofitel.

  • Stayed July 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank iluvcoconut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2005

I recently spent three nights at the Marriott that was part of a tour. We arrived earlier to spend some time with my daughter who lives in San Francisco. First, I agree with many reviewers that the windows are dirty but I found this to be common in many hotels. We were on the "street side" so there was a constant noise even in the early hours and an annoying sound at night.
However, the hotel is very hospitable and the concierge staff great. They had wonderful recommendations and kudos to Jeff Clavin and his staff. They seemd to be constantly on duty even in the early morning hours. They had some good tips about local transportation. The Marriott is in a great location. Take the bus almost anywhere for $1.25. If you want a cable car ride, ride early in the morning or you might have to wait a really long time. We took the cable car to Alcatraz at Fisherman's Wharf and had no problem at 7:30 in the morning. Buy your tickets on line to Alcatraz before or you might be disappointed. We went on a Saturday and the next available ticket was Tuesday. However, there is a "standby" line with no guarantees, but all the people in the stand by line were able to get on the boat to the island.
The breakfast buffet at the Marriott was superb, and the beds were very comfortable. The lobby is very lovely and the staff at the front desk also was very accommodating. All and all, my staff at the Marriott was very good and I would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Shorthand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#35 of 229 in San Francisco
2,905 reviews
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#38 of 229 in San Francisco
4,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,166 reviews
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#25 of 229 in San Francisco
1,157 reviews
SoMa
Park Central Hotel San Francisco
Park Central Hotel San Francisco
#63 of 229 in San Francisco
3,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Francisco Marriott Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Property: San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Address: 780 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-3113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#45 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Francisco Marriott Marquis 4*
Number of rooms: 1500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Francisco Marriott Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco Marriott Marquis Hotel San Francisco
Marriott San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing