We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“big but friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Ranked #27 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Here in town one night for a wedding. This is one large hotel….at least to me…. from the valet, to the front desk staff to the bell man the staff at this hotel were extremely friendly something I expected in North Carolina but not here in San Francisco. We had a very nice corner room with windows on both sides with a great view of the city but the real view is up on the 39th floor where we enjoyed a few cocktails after the wedding. Overall very nice but the one thing that kind of bothered me is the price to park $60 bucks, when you pay $200 to stay the night and they charge you that much just to park just bugs me….charge me $255 for the room and parking for $5…. I’ll feel like a got a deal.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank umbertobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti C, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear umbertobb,
Thank you so much for your kind review. It was pleasing to hear you enjoyed your room with a view and that our friendly hosts helped to make your stay a memorable one. The View is a wonderful gathering place to relax and have fun…so glad you were able to experience it. We value all comments and please know your idea our valet pricing will be passed along to the appropriate management team for review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards from the San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,523)
There are newer reviews for San Francisco Marriott Marquis
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,182 - 3,188 of 5,523 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2014

We have stayed at this property perhaps 20 times over the years. It has had its up and downs and now is definitely up. We were given an excellent corner room that was well appointed and quiet. The Wi-Fi was good and reliable. Staff are courteous and helpful. the Concierge staff is knowledge and their advice is excellent. A few minor problems with the room were dealt with dispatch and fixed right the first time (every hotel as some minor glitches). Of special consideration is front-end assistant manager Ryan Chasteen who listens, really listens, and takes appropriate action. All staff were very helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for one
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanRog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti C, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Dear JanRog,
It was an honor to read you have stayed with us on many of your visits to San Francisco and we appreciate your loyalty and support of Marriott when traveling. Thank you very much for your excellent review. It was a pleasure to read your positive comments regarding our fabulous hosts, your relaxing guest room, service and amenities. We look forward to welcoming you back on a future stay in San Francisco.
Best regards from the San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

The Marquis is a wonderful hotel. I was there in early May. From the time I checked until I left (5 days) later customer service was great. The hotel is within walking distance of quite a few designer stores (Chanel, Armani, Prada and many more). The Westfield Mall is around the corner with Nordsrtoms. Bloomingdales and Neiman Marcus and additional stores. Plus Macy's and Converse are only two blocks away.

Union Square is right up the street to catch a cable car to the Wharf or to take the Hop On Hop Off sightseeing tour. San Francisco is a beautiful city. Buy the 2 day tour ticket. Great tour guides

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S L Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti C, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear S L Y,
Thank you so much for your fabulous review! We are thrilled you enjoyed your 5-night stay with us and so glad you found us conveniently located to all of your favorite stores. It’s so nice to be able to drop of your packages then head out for more fun. Thanks for sharing your tip about the hop on hop of tours they are one of the best way to our amazing city. We do hope to welcome you back soon…Holiday shopping??
Warm regards from the San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

There is a vibe that you get upon entering any hotel, and the feel at the Marriott Marquis is that this is a hip, urban hotel with busy business travelers making things happen. The service is terrific, and the design of the lobby allows for numerous connection points with colleagues. The lobby lounge has great seating and work spaces with plenty of power outlets and a great wine list - both key components for many successful evening meetings.

The View Lounge is lovely and offers relaxed drinks and appetizers with a fabulous view. Do t miss the cheese plate and charcuterie - absolutely delicious.

The location next to the convention center makes this a prime hotel for convention goers - super convenient.

Kudos to Claudia and Myleen, the guest experience managers for providing a special extra degree of welcome to the Platinum guests. Really appreciated the extra attention.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Diva_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti C, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear The_Diva_Traveler,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your lovely review of the San Francisco Marriott Marquis. It was wonderful to read you had a fabulous stay with us and we truly appreciate all your comments. We’re delighted to hear Claudia and Myleen were able to make your stay a memorable one. We do hope to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you back to our City by the Bay.
Warm regards from the San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

I stayed here for business recently - while the pictures looked good, the hotel felt a bit run down and could use some renovations. The rooms were comfortable, but there are better options around the area.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
Thank Bhaber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti C, Owner at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear Bhaber,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your comfy room. However we’re disappointed you didn’t care for the décor as we just completed a rooms “rejuvenation” last year. We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next visit to San Francisco.
Warm regards from the San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We've stayed here for a few meetings and have always enjoyed the other hotels in the area more. This is very convenient for the convention center, but poor value for the price we pay. They will continue to sell out due to the excellent location, so there will not be any pressure to drop pricing. We set up a "concierge room" with hopes of getting more space - definitely not recommended. It is simply the same room with access to a lounge with basic food items located in a distant part of the hotel from our room. We only went once during our stay because it was not worth the journey. However, we paid handsomely for it.

Room Tip: do not go for their "concierge room" plan - it is simply the same room with access to a lo...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PVB_32082_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti C, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear PVB_32082_11,
Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed our central location. Please accept our apology as we always strive to provide the highest quality service and accommodations, and regret to learn we did not meet your—or our own—expectations. We will address your concerns with the appropriate management team members. We do hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back on your next visit to San Francisco.
Kind regards from the San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

The SF Marriott Marquis is a great hotel, well located for most anything in SF. It's close to Union Square, BART, and lots of other places and locations. The staff were very friendly, helpful, and eager to assist you. The rooms were very comfortable, and clean. I'd highly recommend it!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlowder500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti C, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear mlowder500,
Thank you for excellent review and recommendation! We’re thrilled you chose us for your visit to San Francisco. It was fabulous to hear you had such a great experience with us and can’t wait to welcome you back soon!
Kind regards from the San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#34 of 230 in San Francisco
2,976 reviews
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#37 of 230 in San Francisco
4,769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
5,323 reviews
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#22 of 230 in San Francisco
1,279 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#33 of 230 in San Francisco
3,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Francisco Marriott Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Address: 780 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-3113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#45 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $185 - $800 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — San Francisco Marriott Marquis 4*
Number of rooms: 1500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Francisco Marriott Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco Marriott Marquis Hotel San Francisco
Marriott San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing