We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location with a high price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Ranked #28 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great location with a high price”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

This was a nice hotel in a great location for both business and pleasure. The rooms were pretty run of the mill and didn't match up with the cost of the stay. They have many business options within the hotel to include a business center and shipping facility downstairs which made doing a few last minute items easier. Overall a decent choice if you can get a good rate.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank floptical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti C, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear floptical,
Thank you for your taking the time to share your review. Our location is ideal for business and pleasure. We are so glad to hear our business services exceed your expectations! We look forward to hosting you the next time your travels bring you to the City by the Bay.
Warm regards from the San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,127
    2,065
    636
    167
    109
See reviews for
997
972
178
2,299
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,054)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Marriott Marquis has a great location for shopping and sightseeing in San Francisco. I was at a conference, but enjoyed the proximity to shops and breakfast restaurants so I could try different places and go shopping during breaks.
The hotel looks grand when you enter and staff is helpful. Not cheerful but helpful. I had to change rooms upon arrival due to either smells of old and contained air or noise from the elevators. Due to a recent experience with an old and smelly room/airconditioning in Cleveland, I turned around quickly from the room on the 7th floor on the lower section. The next room on the 8th floor in the lower section was next to an elevator, and I had to spend a few minutes there just to make sure it wash´t just the noise of someone rolling a trolley over the room; but it really was an incredible noise from the elevator. Never heard any room that noisy before.
The staff was helpful and found a new room on the tenth floor in the midsection. It was a good room with a great bed.
Breakfast buffet was good.

Room Tip: Rooms in the mid or high section seem to be more recently refurbished than the lower section. Ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 190479Okr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti C, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear 190479Okr,
Thank you for choosing the San Francisco Marriott Marquis during your recent visit to the Bay Area in conjunction with your conference. We appreciate you taking the time to post your valuable comments. It was pleasing to read our excellent location allowed you to enjoy your leisure time by seeking out fine shopping, restaurants and all of the wonderful sights the City has to offer during your busy schedule. However, please accept our apology in the length of time it took to have you properly settled once arriving at the hotel. Please know your comments will be passed along to the appropriate team members for review. We do look forward to having the opportunity of hosting you in the future.
Warm regards from the San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Experienced an excellent stay at the Marquis last week for a conference. The hotel is centrally located; close to shopping, transportation and the BART. I never had to wait for a taxi. Staff was helpful and friendly from the moment that I arrived. Housekeeping left me a thank you note each time I left a tip, which was incredibly kind.

My complaints are minimal. When I first checked into my room, my window was ajar. I tried to close it, but couldn't get it shut and I didn't want to push too hard - when you're on the 26th floor, the street is a long way down. I didn't get a good nights sleep that first night because of the street noise/airplane noise, but I came back the next evening to find that someone had closed the window for me. And the meals during the conference could have been a little better, but there were plenty of other options for food nearby.

Overall, it was a great stay and I would definitely return.

Room Tip: High rise towers are the way to go. Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rstas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti C, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear rstas,
Thank you for your 5-star review! We appreciate you staying at the San Francisco Marriott Marquis! We will be sure to follow up with the appropriate team members and address the comments you mentioned. It was a pleasure to learn you enjoyed your overall stay especially our location and lovely hosts. We are looking forward to having the pleasure of hosting you again soon!
Kind regards,
The San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Stayed here for a convention. Very convenient to the convention center, lots of restaurants. Nice lounge for Marriott Gold members. Very thankful for gold status when checking in as long line for regular check in. renovated, nice rooms. Price was high. would probably not stay here again if only to try out many other nice looking hotels near by.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeattleDoc2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti C, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear SeattleDoc2010,
Thank you very much for your positive review of the San Francisco Marriott Marquis. We love hearing from our loyal Marriott Rewards guests! We are so glad you were pleased with the hotel and our fabulous location. It would be a delight if you tried us again the next time you visit our beautiful city.
Warm regards from the San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

To be honest we choose to stay at this hotel as the views from the roof bar looked and are amazing. That being said you don't need to stay at the hotel to go to the roof bar.

The hotel itself is located a stones throw away from the major shopping area in Union square and the tram down to fishermans wharf runs by a block away making it easy and convenient to get around the city.

The hotel itself is very busy. The foyer is packed with activity from 6am to midnight and is a bit unusual for a classy hotel.
Our room was in the low rise tower and was a bit of a disappointment. Low ceilings, views of a rooftop, crowded bathroom and no light switches (you have to find the bed lamps in the dark).
The rooms and hotel is clean but I just felt that I have paid similar ranges of prices for much better.

Room Tip: Avoid the low rise tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigcat84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti C, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Bigcat84,
Thank you very much for choosing the San Francisco Marriott Marquis for your recent stay, and for posting about your experience. We are delighted you enjoyed our location for exploring our fabulous city and The View. Thank you also for your valuable feedback and comments regarding our guest rooms which we will take into consideration when we next review our facilities. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Warm regards from the San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metro Manila, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

This is a hotel catering to businessmen and people attending conventions so expect the lobby to be very busy.

Location is perfect since it is just around 100 meters away from Market street. Starbucks and Target are across the street. There is a Catholic church nearby that offers daily masses. Westfield Mall is just at the corner. The cable car station is just a 5 minute walk.

The rooms and beds are comfortable. Free wifi in the lobby only. No free wifi in the rooms. You can't also place your drinks in the fridge. You have to request for a separate fridge.

3 suggestions to the hotel management. Install free wifi in the rooms. Allow stocking of personal items in the ref and lastly, a more sensitive and caring attitude from the bellhops at the lobby. We were on our way out with all our luggage. They could have attempted to help us since even my 11 year old son was rolling a huge luggage. A simple offer would have been appreciated. There were several of them just standing there .

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RV P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti C, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear RV P,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and choosing the San Francisco Marriott Marquis for your recent visit to San Francisco. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. However, we sincerely apologize for the lapses in the service you and your family encountered by our bell hosts upon your departure. This is not reflective of our standards. Please know your comments will be passed on to the appropriate team members for review. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to the City by the Bay.
Warm regards,
The San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Decent rooms and very nice roof top bar are the main memories i have from this hotel. There is nothing wrong with the hotel and it is what you would expect from a big city marriott hotel. The big plus is that it is very central being located just off market street. It was quite expensive, but not too bad. It doesnt have any great character but if you are not looking for that...this is a safe bet.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gringottsgoblin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti C, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear gringottsgoblin,
Thank you for sharing your impressions and choosing the San Francisco Marriott Marquis for your recent visit to the City by the Bay. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay especially our location and The View. We also appreciate your comments regarding our “wow” factor. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the city.
Kind regards from the San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#35 of 229 in San Francisco
2,905 reviews
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#38 of 229 in San Francisco
4,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,166 reviews
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#25 of 229 in San Francisco
1,157 reviews
SoMa
Park Central Hotel San Francisco
Park Central Hotel San Francisco
#63 of 229 in San Francisco
3,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Francisco Marriott Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Property: San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Address: 780 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-3113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#45 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Francisco Marriott Marquis 4*
Number of rooms: 1500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Francisco Marriott Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco Marriott Marquis Hotel San Francisco
Marriott San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing