We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury, Convenience and Comfy in San Francisco”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Ranked #27 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Edmond
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Luxury, Convenience and Comfy in San Francisco”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

for our second stay at this hotel, we booked 2 rooms and had a nice view of the city and the wharf. I like this hotel as it is walking distance to the best shops in SF and attractions. I asked for additional vanity needs and the housekeeper provided them quickly. Our rooms were clean and sleek. I enjoyed the white, fluffy and comfy sheets! The View Lounge bar is this hotel's best feature. It's has a gorgeous view from the rooftop and a great atmosphere. The only things I didn't care for are: internet charge- they charge to use the internet. I am paying a lot of $$$ to stay at this hotel so they should include free internet usage in the room rate. Parking fee - We found a parking garage in front of the other Marriott, for 50% less. We did our research online, prior to arriviing.
I thank Barbara for being a great hotel hostess.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
Helpful?
1 Thank OKWorldVacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti C, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear OKWorldVacationer,
Thank you for your kind words about the San Francisco Marriott Marquis. I was honored to read you have stayed with us for on a previous visit to San Francisco. I appreciate your loyalty and support of Marriott when traveling. We value all comments. I was thrilled to hear you enjoyed your room and the great views which came along with it. The View is a great place to visit and I’m glad you had a chance to experience it. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back for your third stay!
Warm regards,
The San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,015
    2,010
    624
    165
    103
See reviews for
939
942
176
2,218
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,024)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

While this hotel was fine, we were disappointed that the hotel didn't honor my husband's upgrade to Concierge Level. Here is what our confirmation email stated:

• Concierge Level
Special Benefits
• This room features Concierge lounge access
• Open: Sun-Sat, Open: Monday - Friday 6:30am - 10:00pm; Saturday - Sunday 7:00am - 10:00pm
• Complimentary food:
• - Continental breakfast
• - midday snack
• - hors d'oeuvres
• - dessert
• - late night snack
• Cocktails, for a fee
• Complimentary non-alcoholic beverages
• Honor bar
• Complimentary business services

But when we checked in, we were told by two different front desk staff that while our ROOM was on concierge floor, it did NOT include access to the concierge lounge - despite what the email clearly states!

We asked them to check with a manager. They went behind closed doors, and reappeared to say that the 'manager' had said that we did NOT get concierge lounge access. We never even saw or spoke to an actual manager.

Despite my husband's Marriott Elite status, the hotel was less than accommodating. If an upgrade to a Concierge level room does NOT automatically include the lounge, then you should update your email confirmations to be accurate and honest.

We were very disappointed in our treatment.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acwfoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti C, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear acwfoster,
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the San Francisco Marriott Marquis. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you experienced upon your arrival and the confusion regarding your room type. I am sorry our team did not explain the situation better to you. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your—or our own—expectations. Our goal is to address your concerns so we can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit. You’re a valued guest; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future.
Best regards,
The San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SILVER SPRING, MARYLAND
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

On our way home from Hawai'i, we landed in San Francisco to make our connecting flight to Washington, DC. We were told that because of the winter storm, the flights to DC were cancelled. The next flight we could get was four days away -- not wanting to spend another night in the airport, we booked into the Marriott Marquis, where I stayed on previous business trips. The staff were wonderful, welcoming, and accommodating, as we weren;t sure when we might get back to Washington. The Marquis is located between Market and Mission, which makes it perfect for anything going on at the Moscone Center. Across the street is the new City Target and within walking distance is the major downtown shopping area. Although now closed for renovations, the fabulous Museum of Contemporary Art is just a few blocks away. The streets are peppered with delicious eating choices from very modest to very expensive. A lovely French bakery across the street served delicious oatmeal and one could choose to have coffee served in French bowls or cups. San Francisco is a great walking city and a walk down Market to the Embarcadero is a lovely way to begin a morning. As we have come to expect from Marriott, the service was excellent. Our room was on the 12th floor and had a nice view of the Mission Street area with its interest architecture. While our stay in San Francisco was unexpected, the Marriott staff made us feel like this was something we planned for a long time.

Green Features: The hotel does much in the way of reminding guests of its environmentally friendly practices. As California is the middle of a severe drought, we were mindful of water use and kept to brief showers and reused our towels.
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZOEHART
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti C, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Zoehart,
Travel can be unpredictable and your story does prove it to be true! We were so happy to read you had a most enjoyable visit with us. Thank for your kind comments regarding our staff of whom we are so proud. We do hope we can welcome you back soon for a planned vacation!
Stay warm.
The San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
122 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

The room and bathroom were clean and nice. The bellhop was super helpful and pointed out areas to visit on a map. The breakfast buffet was pretty pricey- $48 for the two of us. Plenty of other places around to eat. Our tv remote didn't work well which sometimes can be a battery issue- so we started operating the tv manually with the buttons on the set-Then even those stopped working. I have stayed at this hotel before without such problems. Nice down comforter.

Room Tip: There's a midrise, a low rise tower and high rise tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaltimoreBetty11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti C, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear BaltimoreBetty11,
Thank you sincerely for taking the time to share a review of your recent stay at the San Francisco Marriott Marquis. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us .Thank you for your kind comments about our hosts. I do apologize for your remote not working properly. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards,
The San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

The room was spacious and comfortable. Also, since this was a business trip, I needed the room to be set up with a good workspace, which it was. Plenty of outlets, lights, etc. The breakfast buffet was really good, but on the pricey side, even for San Francisco. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I got a really good rate on a "room without a view". The view I did have was of the lobby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khcarlso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti C, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear khcarlso,
Thank you for the positive review of the San Francisco Marriott Marquis. We appreciate the opportunity in having you as our guest, and enjoyed reading about your visit and interaction with our associates. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Sincerely,
The San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Every staff member in the hotel went out of their way to make me feel welcome. From the manager who paused and walked me to the desk, the bell man who walked around the block with me when I just asked directions about the exits, to the valet who smiled as he opened the door of a friend's old car, to the elite receptionist who took me into his line since he was open, to the front desk receptionist who gave me toothpaste at 11pm, to the maintenance worker saying hello. Everyone was very professional. The room was spotless, perfect and not creepy. Really impressed with the quality of service. Location was near a great bookstore, Target, Apple and some other great stores. Although I walked everywhere I needed, Bart station is nearby too!

Room Tip: I was on a lower floor. It was quiet and had a nice 4th street view but no noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti C, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear 808love,
Thank you for sharing your experiences of your recent stay. We're glad you enjoyed our guestrooms, location and found our staff so wonderful during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Warm regards,
The San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

good rooms, great staff and always something in the display area of interest. restaurants are good but a little expensive. Top floor view and restaurant are fabulous. Great location near shopping and Muscone center.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funsandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti C, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear funsandy,
Thank you very much for the 5 Star review! We are delighted your stay with us was most enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you to San Francisco!
Kind regards,
The San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#34 of 228 in San Francisco
2,872 reviews
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#40 of 228 in San Francisco
4,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
5,076 reviews
SoMa
Park Central Hotel San Francisco
Park Central Hotel San Francisco
#61 of 228 in San Francisco
3,505 reviews
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Francisco Marriott Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Property: San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Address: 780 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-3113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#45 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Francisco Marriott Marquis 4*
Number of rooms: 1500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your San Francisco Marriott Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco Marriott Marquis Hotel San Francisco
Marriott San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing