We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best bang for your buck in downtown SF!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Ranked #28 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sacramento, California
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Best bang for your buck in downtown SF!”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

I have stayed in downtown SF many, many times for business including at those "Ritzy" places on California Street, but this place by far is the cleanest and most reasonably priced place to stay. The place is clean, convenient (financial district) and offers all the amenities of home (including a hairdryer). It's right across the street from the Metreon and a Target store so you can do some last minute shopping if you forgot something, and the entire staff was friendly and helpful; from the valet guy who took my car keys to the front desk lady to the security guard who joking tried to take the doughnuts I had brought with me. Check out the pics ... no stains on any of the furniture (found some at my last stay at a more expensive place), the room smelled fresh and the internet worked flawlessly. I know where I'll be staying again while on business ...

Room Tip: If you can get one, ask for a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bigdaddypooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti C, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear bigdaddypooh,

Thank you for the fabulous review! We are delighted your stay with the San Francisco Marriott Marquis was enjoyable. We can’t wait to welcome you back!

Warm regards,

The San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,098 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,126
    2,063
    634
    167
    108
See reviews for
995
971
178
2,296
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,054)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We've stayed at many fine hotels in San Francisco, but none of them have the perfect location as does the Marriott Marquis. We took BART over from the East Bay. When we came out onto Market from the subway we had only a short walk to the hotel. We liked the large open spaces in the hotel, the magnificent views from the bar at the top, the very comfortable room, the indoor swimming pool, but most of all we loved the location. The Powell Street Cable Car is about 100 yards away. To the south is Yerba Buena Gardens and the cinema complex. All around the hotel are the best shops. And their are dozens of places to eat within a few hundred yards in any direction. This hotel will always be our first choice when going into the city for the weekend.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachWizard4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti C, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear BeachWizard4U,
Thank you so much for your excellent review and choosing the San Francisco Marriott Marquis as your preferred hotel! It is always great to hear our guests enjoyed their stays with us. Your business is much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Kind regards,
The San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

I was in the city for a conference which was being held at the Marriott so my company booked my room there. The rooms were super clean and amenities restocked daily, major plus. Fresh, clean towels are always a must with me. The location of the hotel is supreme right by all Westfield mall and Union Square, so everything is at a walking distance. I was there for the Christmas season and the city becomes alive with the excitement. The hotel was having a gingerbread house competition with all the departments it housed participated and guests were able to vote for the best. My room was facing the Bay so I got a beautifully lit Bay Bridge. I truly enjoyed my stay and hope to return soon.

Room Tip: Higher floors great view of the Bay Bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rocky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti C, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Rocky R,
Thank you for sharing your review of your recent stay at The San Francisco Marriott Marquis. I am delighted to hear you had an exceptional stay with us and that you particularly enjoyed the guestroom amenities and location. The gingerbread house competition truly brought out the spirit of the season in all of us. In case you were wondering which house won it was the one with the carousel created by our Security Department. We can’t wait to welcome you back!
Best regards,
The San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dania Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We arrived at about 11:40 last Thursday night after a long flight from the east coast. At the platinum check in Sean, our attendant, could not have been more charming and professional. He is definitely at the top of his game when greeting guests at this fabulous hotel. Check in was seamless and easy - he was sure to point out many of the outstanding features of the hotel. Sean is an associate that the Marriott Marquis San Francisco must be proud to have. Our entire stay through Monday morning in # 3056 was perfect. The suite was spacious and spotless and all the amenities provided we top of the line. Special thanks also to Kendall G. and Michael N. for a most memorable weekend. one word sums it all up - EXCEPTIONAL! See you again soon!

Room Tip: Ask for a city view room on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti C, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Bill H.,
Thank you for providing us feedback on your recent stay with us and for the wonderful comments about our staff members. We are all delighted to hear your birthday weekend was exceptional and memorable for you. Visit us again soon!
Warm regards,
The San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sacramento, California
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Quick checkin with very friendly staff. Saved a few dollars by parking across the street from the hotel in the Fifth and Mission parking garage for $32 a night. Hotel is centrally located near Moscone Center, the Metreon (including a Target), San Francisco Centre, and Union Square. There is a Starbucks in the lobby and a number of others within a block of the hotel. Numerous dining options all around the hotel. Room was decent size for San Francisco, and also very clean. I had an Marriott eBreak rate of $127 a night; so I was very happy with the cost as it is generally much more expensive.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti C, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear 23davidb12345,
Thank you for posting a review and sharing your experience with us. We are glad to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Best regards,
The San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

This hotel is wonderfully convenient to the Moscone, surprisingly inexpensive but still manages to be a very pleasant hotel to stay at. The fitness center and pool are very good. The lobby bar and restaurant are just fine but could do with a makeover in my opinion to be more attractive. The View on the 39th floor certainly has a spectacular view but I found it just very noisy and not particularly comfortable. The concierge lounge (if you are an Elite stayer) is great for breakfast and a light dinner. The staff were uniformly very friendly and helpful. Check out Annabelle's Bar and Bistro right across the street. Too bad the Starbucks in the lobby closes mid-afternoon just when you need a pick-me-up.

Room Tip: Keep off the 4th and 5th floors where the fitness center and pool are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyingScotsman09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti C, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear FlyingScotsman09,
Thank you for choosing the San Francisco Marriott Marquis during your visit to the Bay Area. We truly appreciate you posting your review and your valuable comments. We will pass them along to the appropriate team members. We hope to have the chance of welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards,
The San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
353 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

This place is pretty good compared to other like Marriotts. The service is great, good views, and the location is pretty good near the mall.

I used Marriott points to stay here, so I can't honestly comment if it's worth the price of the rooms, but from what I could tell it seems like it would be.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ee978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti C, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear ee978,
Thank you kindly for your TripAdvisor review and for being such a loyal Marriott guest. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Marquis the next time your travels bring you to San Francisco.
Warm regards,
The San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#36 of 229 in San Francisco
2,902 reviews
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#40 of 229 in San Francisco
4,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,160 reviews
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#26 of 229 in San Francisco
1,155 reviews
SoMa
Park Central Hotel San Francisco
Park Central Hotel San Francisco
#62 of 229 in San Francisco
3,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Francisco Marriott Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Property: San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Address: 780 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-3113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#45 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Francisco Marriott Marquis 4*
Number of rooms: 1500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Francisco Marriott Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco Marriott Marquis Hotel San Francisco
Marriott San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing