We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very close to everything via San Fran Transportation Systen”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Ranked #27 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 7, 2008

We were there for six nights for a convention. This hotel has a great location and we could walk to Bart, bus, and trolleys, Cable cars are also close by but use only if you are a first time visitor to San Francisco....the wait if too long for anything but a one time ride. No one we were with, ate breakfast in the hotel, it was too expensive. We went diagonally across the street to Mels Diner where you could get breakfast for $10 a person

Drinks in the 39th foor lounge are a one-time must but very expensive as is the bar downstairs. The "sports" bar on the corner is owned by the Marriott but is less expensive for cocktails. A lot of people also ate there. We didn't so can not give a review. Please check my restauarant reviews...we had some fantastic meals including Frascati, which any of you "foodies" will love.

This was your standard four star convention/business hotel with a lot of activity in the lobby (which I like). Room was very clean and beds were soooo comfortable. Since we had another week down in San Diego and had four suitcases we did ask for a corner room since we couldn't fit in luggage and clothes. By the day after check-in they had accomodated us.

We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank AlyceBostonMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,644)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,857 - 4,863 of 5,649 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2008

This is pretty much what you expect from a Marriott - nice rooms, nice hotel, but a bit overpriced. I'm not talking about the rates as I always book through priceline but am talking about their bars/restaurants/convenience store. 14 for a cocktail is a bit much. 42 is the cheapest bottle of wine you can get and that's for regular stuff. Cheese plate for 12 that gives you maybe 6 pieces of cheese. I would say if you want a nice place to stay go here but bring all your own stuff.
Avoid the bistro/bar accross the street - is pretty crappy. There is a sports bar on the same street just down from it - try there.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Lamda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2008

Major marriott member. Stayed on award points.

GREAT location for business - right near market st. and convention center. Stayed for a 'staycation' near home. Most of the action for tourists is a $15 taxi ride away - no big. But DON'T walk around outside at night. You won't be robbed, but it's ugly.

I HATE the lobby of this hotel - it's small, round, with a marble floor that echos disconcertingly. But you're not there for very long.

Nice layout with a restaurant in a high-rise atrium up a set of escalators. Really nice, but why eat there if you are in SF?

The room was fine/nice with everything I expect at a Marriott, including the shower that should have been replaced when they renovated the hotel.

I'd LOVE to stay here on business.

Stayed: July 2008
2  Thank RichRichRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2008

My husband and I stayed here last week for 4 nights. He was attending a conferance there, it was our first time in the city. This was the perfect location for us, as I could keep myself entertained while he was working. Everything is very close and easy walking distance to all the shops and restaurants. I did not enjoy the breakfasts at the hotel, food was poor quality. Instead I regularly went to the upscale food court across the street in the lower lever of Westfield Mall, great selection and good value. I fell in love with the cream puffs from Bearded Papa, made fresh all day. The hotel is a heavily used conference hotel, and therefore, very busy and average quality. However, we were pleased with the service and staff were all helpful. We spent very little time in the room, so the location was key for this trip. Would recommend based on this factor alone.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank pernicketytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2008

This hotel is right across from the Metreon and a block from the new Nordstrom's mall (Westfield). Couldn't be more convenient to see a movie at the Imax or regular theatre, ice skate or bowl at Yerba Buena, shop at the mall, and walk a few blocks to Union Square. For tourist families, it's ideal! The staff were incredibly friendly and we never had any problems with cleanliness or service.

Family things within a block or so:
--movies (one at Metreon and one at Westfield)
--ice skating
--Yerba Buena park
--bowling
--Zeum
--MOMA
--cable car station
--BART station

We actually took MUNI to the wharf, but you can also take the cable cars. Easy $1.50 on the old Italian(?) buses to get to Fisherman's Wharf, Maritime Park area, Ferry Building, Pier 39, or Ghirardelli Square. Kids were $0.50.

Hotel negative: The only thing is that they charge $55 for parking for the night. Figure that in to your total price for the night--most hotels charge a lot, so I guess I was used to it.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Firstmmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2008

We were at a huge convention at this Marriott, and for a hotel of this size, we were very impressed. Efficient check-in (surprise!), quality housekeepers, big enough fitness center, and within walking distance (or streetcar/BART/metro distance) to everything you'd want. Good place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Piqua41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2008

The good points: lots of very large drawers and good closet space for unpacking; fast reliable internet if you take the $12.95 package; fast elevators and lots of them; very good gym and equipment. The location is good but the same could be said of dozens of other hotels in the area. Annabelle's restaurant across the street is fabulous, go there rather than room service, or go to the gourmet fast food which is all excellent in the lower level of the Westfield shopping centre, across the street 2 minutes. But avoid Mel's diner down the street.
Won't stay here again because: bathroom floor was filthy with clumps of earth on checkin, and stayed dirty for the 3 days; carpets not vacuumed; room service food was cold, congealed and terrible, and not only is the usual high percentage gratuity included automatically which is fine but they have a space for "additional gratuity" on the bill and push for it; the lobby check in/out is chaos and overcrowded, not well managed; this is a no service rather than full service hotel: multiple telephone calls did not produce the items requested from housekeeping; unlike many marriotts there are no coin operated laundry machines on any one of the 39 floors, and they ask you to use the ones offered at the hotel next door (why not just stay there instead?); yes as many reviews mentioned the windows are filthy; the concierge lounge is cramped and offers continental breakfast only (many marriotts have eggs, sausage, bacon, pancakes, a full breakfast); concierge level hors d'oeuvres and desserts are cheap and unappetizing; in room shampoos are nothing special, very cheap; general impression is this is a mass produced and disorganized conference/downtown shopping hotel, not a full service hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mentaltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#37 of 230 in San Francisco
2,988 reviews
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#38 of 230 in San Francisco
4,820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#34 of 230 in San Francisco
3,715 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
5,364 reviews
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#24 of 230 in San Francisco
1,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Francisco Marriott Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Address: 780 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-3113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#45 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $183 - $609 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — San Francisco Marriott Marquis 4*
Number of rooms: 1500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Francisco Marriott Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco Marriott Marquis Hotel San Francisco
Marriott San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing