We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place to stay in San Fran when coming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Ranked #34 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
US
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay in San Fran when coming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Marriott Marquis is a premier property in SF and for travelers - business and personal a great place to stay. Good location near the Moscone, great service and so much more. Marriott customers with club status a treated very well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank USKosherTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric H, Sales Department at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear UsKosherTraveler,

The San Francisco Marriott Marquis is happy to see that you found the perfect place to stay while visiting. We work very hard to provide the best customer service to all of our guest.

Thank you for choosing us and for posting your review on TripAdvisor.

Best Wishes,

The San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,788
    1,917
    607
    159
    96
See reviews for
860
879
170
2,037
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (962)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there for the weekend,location is great but paid 325$ a night and a 60$ per night(!) for the Valle service, room was clean and overall good experience... Will not stay here again since the price was to steep

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Nimrod U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric H, Sales Department at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Nimrod U,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am sorry to see that you feel our room rate was on the high side. We try very hard to ensure that our rates are competitively priced for the San Francisco market and always post our best available rates on marriott.com.

We hope that you will consider us the next time your travels bring you to San Francisco.

Kind Regards,

The San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed here for recent business trip. Great location near BART Powell station, very professional and friendly staff, elegant interior. The View Lounge on the 39th floor is worth a trip by itself. That lounge is open to the public, and I recommend one swing on by if you can - bring your credit card of course as the prices are equally 'elevated'. I managed to get a special deal on the room, and that made the overall experience a five-star. The evening 'appetizers' were in fact a full dinner, with lamb curry, rice, vegetables, and the usual cheeses & crackers, but more selection than other Marriott's I have recently stayed in. The breakfast buffet was equally top-shelf, and the service in the buffet was very attentive. I did receive an 'upgrade' to my 'mid-level' room reservation, and ended up on the 31st floor with view of City Hall and Twin Peaks. Room was very well furnished and clean. Wired internet available which I prefer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skiurazov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric H, Sales Department at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Skiurazov,

I want to personally thank you for posting your review. It is so nice to see that our service and staff exceeded your expectations and hope that you will consider staying with us the next time you visit San Francisco.

Sincerely,

The San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
207 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

I recently stayed here for a conference at the convention centre. The hotel is welcoming and clean and the staff are friendly. The rooms are of good standard but what makes the hotel is the fantastic location near the convention centre and great shopping venues. There are a few restaurants scattered around the hotel as well as a Starbuck inside it. Worth staying here for a conference at the convention centre.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sismith17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric H, Sales Deparment at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear sismith17,

Thank for you posting your review. The Marriott Marquis is indeed one of the closest hotels to the convention center. We are also convenient to Union Square's famous shopping and SOMA's museums.

Thanks again for posting your review and we hope to see you again soon.

The San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

We came to San Francisco for a short vacation and I was debating on which Marriott in Union Square to stay at - JW Marriott, SF Marriott Union Square, and this one. I am so glad I chose this one for our family of 5.
We came into the city via the Bart system which is only a block away, so it wasn't bad with our luggage and for the kids to walk.
We ended up getting a corner room which had plenty of room for the rollaway bed and a refrigerator.
Shopping is close by. You have the Westfield mall on one side and the Metreon on the other side.
Cable car turnaround is close by at Market/Powell. Even in September, it was still crowded. I suggest walking up a couple of blocks to catch it.
Went to the lounge on the 39th floor. Great view; pricey drinks.
This is definitely the place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skamikirn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric H, Sales Department at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear skamikirn,

The San Francisco Marriott Marquis is definitely an excellent choice if you plan on using the BART (Bay Area Rapid Transit) for your transfers to and from the airport. We are happy to see that you and your family enjoyed your stay and hope you will consider us the next time you visit San Francisco.

Kind Regards,

The San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Large hotel near the convention center so it is convenient. Good service. The rooms were clean. The Concierge service was top notch. They gave very specific information and directions. Good location. I expected more from the executive lounge since this seemed more like a business hotel given its proximity to the convention center. Breakfast was sub-par.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric H, Sales Department at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear jdc55,

Thank you so much for posting your review. I would like to apologize for the subpar breakfast in our Concierge Lounge, we really appreciate you letting us know and I will be sure to pass along this information to our Chef. We are always looking for ways to improve our service and this will be a great help.

Best Wishes,

The San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Just stayed in this hotel for a week. Great Location .. at city center. Everything is just a block away. Great staff & nice rooms with great view. Highly recommended based on my stay. Loved it. Great place to come with family & just enjoy the city and shop for anything .

Room Tip: High floor with city view. Some how I felt that double bed room was bigger than the kind bed.. may b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pavinder M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric H, Sales Department at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Pavinder M,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It is nice to read that you enjoyed your stay, our location and especially our staff. We hope you will consider us the next time your travels bring you to San Francisco.

Best Regards,

The San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#32 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,828 reviews
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
SoMa
Park Central Hotel San Francisco
Park Central Hotel San Francisco
#61 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#39 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,419 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Zelos San Francisco
Hotel Zelos San Francisco
#59 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Francisco Marriott Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Property: San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Address: 780 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-3113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#45 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Francisco Marriott Marquis 4*
Number of rooms: 1500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Francisco Marriott Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco Marriott Marquis Hotel San Francisco
Marriott San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing