We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business and Pleasure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Ranked #27 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Columbus, Mississippi
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Business and Pleasure”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Great location. The view lounge on 39th floor a must. Parking $$$$ although you won't need car if staying in city. Walking distance to public transportation, shopping and restaurants. Prefer this location than other properties in union square.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Netsky123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,015
    2,010
    624
    165
    103
See reviews for
939
942
176
2,218
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,024)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

The Marriott is mere seconds from Market and the main shopping area. comfortable rooms and the beds are some of the best I have slept in, The pool is indoors , small but sufficient, great spa and gym. only issue is they have a Starbucks but good coffee is obtained at Westfield downstairs in the food court. or just help yourself to the coffee machine tucked away in a cupboard in the room.
Marriott still persist in filling their fridges with their mini bar stuff so I with tablets needed to keep getting ice as they must be refrigerated. Their is also a Target nearby so drinks etc are cheaply obtained, don't need to use the mini bar.

Room Tip: keep an eye on their deals and grab them, there will be no regrets staying here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColingUnther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We have stayed at various Marriotts over the years and they have all been consistently good. The Marquis in San Francisco was no exception. Rosanna at the front desk was exceptionally friendly, chatting with our teenage daughters, making suggestions of things to do, going over a city map to outline where the bus and cable car routes were. She immediately made us feel very welcome--no small thing in a big city. The room was large and clean with two comfortable queen-sized beds and the usual desk and club chairs. There was a small fridge but no coffee maker, although there is a Starbucks in the lobby. Worth noting that the toiletries (soap, shampoo, conditioner, and body lotion) smelled so incredibly good that I asked housekeeping for a few extra to take home. The pool is a very good size, very clean, and brightly lit. There is also a lovely bar/lounge on the top floor with sweeping views of the city. We loved taking it all in, although they could use more seating and we were politely told we would have to order drinks if we wanted to stay--I ended up buying a $5 club soda. When it was time to do a little sight-seeing, Adelia at the concierge desk went out of her way to provide us with maps, coupons, and lots of great ideas for touring the city. The only negatives I would mention are the price of parking is very high (I believe we were told $68 a night!) We ditched our rental car and took public transportation, which was very easy to navigate. Our television didn't work well--the screen would suddenly go blank, but the power would still be on and there was no way to turn it off. We called to have it repaired once, but it happened again late at night so we just covered the TV as best we could with towels to block the glow. Also, it was disappointing to be charged for internet service. This was the last part of a long vacation in CA and every single other hotel offered it for free. And lastly, the hotel restaurant appears to only be open for breakfast. This was a surprise for such a big hotel. We arrived later in the day and were starving and disappointed to have to go searching for a restaurant (not that there aren't plenty in the area) as soon as we got there. All in all, though, it was a very good experience and we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: There are probably rooms with better views of the city and the waterfront. We didn't think to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slamarama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

The hotel was very good. The location is central to shopping and restaurants. The 2 big issues were the homeless people which appear to riddle one of the areas outside of the hotel and the expensive parking at the hotel.

Its very unfortunate that San Francisco in general has become a hot bed for homeless people. This particular hotel shares an area with a church. In between the church and the hotel resides many homeless people. I wouldn't recommend walking alone at night in this area. I was continuously asked for money. Some of the people asking appear crazy. During the day its not a problem because it is a very busy area of town.

Parking was also extraordinarily expensive ($65 per night) Ouch! I parked 1 block away for $30 per night.

Room Tip: Don't park at the hotel if you want to save money...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I stayed here with my two children, ages 11 and 13. They were happy so I was happy. I had actually paid extra for a corner room but when I saw the size of the king-sized bed, I realized we would not fit comfortably so I asked to change to a room with two doubles. After a little more asking, I got a city view on the 28th floor with a beautiful view. I think having a Marriott Rewards membership helped. The rooms were clean and had feather beds. The hotel has a good location, something like 12-14 $ with a cab to Fisherman's Barf. My kids loved the breakfast buffet which I thought was overpriced at 30$ but as one child ate free and the other for only 6 dollars, it was not a bad deal. We actually chose this hotel because I heard the view from the bar at the top was worth making a trip to see. We did go up and the view is beautiful but the bar was quite crowded and loud so we didn't stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumbull, Connecticut
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We always look to stay at Marriott Hotels since we have consistently had great experiences there and find the locations and amenities a cut above similarly priced and classed hotels. The Marriott Marquis in San Francisco did not disappoint. From our arrival and wonderful greeting from the bell staff to the fantastic help consistently and courteously offered by Adelia at the Concierge Desk, this was a great stay. The pool and spa were excellent and our room was extremely comfortable. Housekeeping staff was always pleasant and engaging, and our room was excellently cleaned and maintained. The hotel location is exceptional and close to so much of what San Francisco has to offer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bal1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

If it weren't for the great rate that I got because of the convention I was attending, I wouldn't have been happy staying here. It is very bland. The convention facilities were great, but otherwise a dud. The rooms are average and they charge for wifi in your room. Hence, the lobby is chock a block full of people accessing the free wifi. 'Luxury' hotel at it's finest. The lobby restaurant, again, was average. The beer was good but overpriced.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BIGwhoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#34 of 228 in San Francisco
2,873 reviews
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#40 of 228 in San Francisco
4,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
5,078 reviews
SoMa
Park Central Hotel San Francisco
Park Central Hotel San Francisco
#61 of 228 in San Francisco
3,504 reviews
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Francisco Marriott Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Property: San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Address: 780 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-3113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#45 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Francisco Marriott Marquis 4*
Number of rooms: 1500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your San Francisco Marriott Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco Marriott Marquis Hotel San Francisco
Marriott San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing