We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Ranked #23 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 15, 2008

We loved our stay here. The staff was wonderful. We booked on a Marriott Friends and Family discount, so we were not sure what we would get, but we had two nice connected rooms. The hotel was clean, and the staff was wonderful, everyone seemed genuinely happy. Room was nicely enhanced, flat screens, featherbeds, etc. They gave us a fridge at our request, no charge. As per prior posts, the pool seemed to have independant hours that changed at whim, and was not open when it should have been.

The View Bar on the 39th floor was awesome. Kids allowed, they serve Shirley Temples, etc. Nice clean venue, fairly quiet gathering place. Seats fill early.

The hotel was very convenient, BART and the Cable Cars are at the end of the block. Mel's diner is one block away, and is open 24/7 for all your dining needs. SF Centre Shopping is across the street, Union Square is 3-4 blocks away. Fishermans Wharf is a 20 minute Cable Car ride or a $10 cab ride away. You can reach the Airport easily via a $5.35 Bart ride, which you pick up at the end of the block. We loved the Bay Quackers tour, worth the moolah and the tour guide was very kind and informative. This is a tour bus ride that is also a boat.

Great trip, we will stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MacyandDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,090)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,295 - 5,301 of 6,090 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2008

Stayed at the Marriott with a friend for four nights in early May. I had booked a fantastic price using my AAA discount. Our room, on the 17th floor, was very nice and had great views of the Yerba Buena area. Everything about our stay was handled incredibly well by the staff, and they even let us check in almost six hours early! The location could not be better - it is only a half-block from the BART/MUNI station entrance. Furthermore, Westfield Center and Union Square are incredibly close by. There is a Hertz rental location inside the hotel, so getting a car is also very simple, and the staff is very helpful with directions. All in all, we had a great experience with no problems whatsoever.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank tv75075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2008

Stayed here for a couple of days. Loved the hotel and many things to see and do within walking distance or a short cab ride away. The staff was great, the room was somewhat small but nice. Didnt care much for the hospitality snacks and bar. The slightest movement and you'll be charged. Which happened to us. But they took the charges off. We walked to the wharf from here but it's a couple of miles so unless you like to walk I wouldnt suggest it. Too many homless people in S.F. and the parking prices are absolutely ridiculous. A major rip off to say the least. The food wasnt bad and the beer was cold. We enjoyed our stay and would stay again for sure. The Marriott beds are the best !

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Jerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2008

Just spent two nights at the Marriott. I've been to this hotel before for brunch and other things but never actually stayed the night. Our room was perfect. We had a corner room on the 29th floor with an incredible view of the city. The bed was super comfy. The bathroom was large enough. The great thing about the Marriott is the location. We like that it's on 4th Street and walking distance to shopping and a quick trip to just about anywhere in the city. The bar on the top floor was pretty cool. We had a drink up there late Friday night and it was a good atmosphere. Overall a great stay, would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krislecl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2008

We stayed here for a meeting/convention at the Moscone West Convention Center. The hotel is about 2 blocks from the convention center. It's not too far, but the newly built Intercontinental Hotel is actually closer than the Marriott.

The hotel was under construction at the time we were there, which made for terrible traffic inside the lobby area. Construction began right at 7am, so you might hear noises depending on where your room is. And because of the construction, you have to take different elevators to get to your floor. This added to a lot of inconvenience. To all readers, before thinking about staying here, check to see that their construction is completed. I don't think you would get your money worth if the construction was still going on.

Otherwise, the room is nice. Very modern and hi tech. Every room has hi-def TV. Bathroom has granite counter. Hotel is situated in a very convenient location. It's close to restaurants, shopping, etc.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank just_travelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2008

Located in the centre of the city and sight seeing easy to access, close to congress centre and with congress accomodations within. Rooms clean, elegant set up, air conditioning a bit too cold but warm and cozy bedding.
Rooms were clean and cleaned prompty. Breakfast buffet very rich, with most wishes to be accomodated. The only hassle i had, was with a door handle, which never worked and the person, who was supposed to come and repair it never came, it required a few complains, for it to be fixed.

Anyway would stay there anytime again.

Stayed: November 2007
Thank musaafir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2008

We just returned from a 4 day trip to San Francisico. Loved the Marriott and location. A few blocks to Union Square and all of the shopping and attractions. The hotel was extremely clean. Rooms were beautiful. Loved the gym, plenty of equipment. TV's at each treadmill.

My only complaint is the parking at this hotel. The rate is $53 per day! We knew this prior to our trip having stayed in SF in the past year. In the future we will fly in and take the bart downtown to our hotel.

The Marriott is also a block or so next to the Westfield mall. This is a gorgeous mall with every store you can imagine. Awesome gourmet food court on the lower level. Don't miss this. Also, go to "King of Thai Noodle House" on O'Farrell next to Macy's. Excellent Thai food. Best we have ever had. Head over to North Beach/Little Italy. Great restaurant, "Ideal." Recommended by locals in that area.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank heidigon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#37 of 230 in San Francisco
3,056 reviews
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#27 of 230 in San Francisco
1,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
5,530 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#31 of 230 in San Francisco
3,785 reviews
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Francisco Marriott Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Address: 780 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#45 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $209 - $721 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — San Francisco Marriott Marquis 4*
Number of rooms: 1500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover awe-inspiring views, astonishing amenities and unparalleled customer service at San Francisco Marriott Marquis. Located just south of Market Street in SoMa, our luxurious Downtown San Francisco hotel offers easy access to the city's best attractions, including Moscone Center, the Yerba Buena Gardens, Union Square shopping and AT&T Park, home of the Giants. Before embarking on your Bay Area adventure, enjoy a buffet breakfast at B55 Craft House & Kitchen or grab a to-go snack at Mission Street Pantry. In the evening, break a sweat in our modern fitness center, treat yourself to a massage at our full-service spa, or savor inspiring penthouse views and cocktails at The View Lounge, located atop the hotel on the 39th floor, before retiring to deluxe rooms with sleek decor and high-tech amenities. Our hotel also offers more than 121,000 square feet of sophisticated event space for corporate events and meetings. Book your escape today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelPower, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your San Francisco Marriott Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco Marriott Marquis Hotel San Francisco
Marriott San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing