We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Depending on your room, very good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Ranked #27 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
114 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Depending on your room, very good”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I was here for business and extended my trip for vacation so had two rooms while I was there.

Room 1:
The first room was absolutely gorgeous. We had a nice view of the city and could see the baseball stadium and the docks from our room. The room itself was quite nice. It was very spacious. We also had an empty mini-fridge we could put our own stuff in, in addition to the mini-bar fridge. Very nice! Especially as there is a Target and several Walgreens within walking distance of the hotel. The downside was the blinds were not easy to close so the sun rising definitely woke up you, and it was brighter over all during the night with the city lights. Sleepable, but you're not going to sleep in. You could also hear a lot of the city noise, shouting, sirens, cars honking etc.

Room 2
Felt much cheaper, and didn't have much of a view. The room was very small with not much room between the beds nor between the bed and the desk. Only had a mini-bar fridge, so drinks couldn't be chilled. Our room was also down an odd maze of halls, in the middle of which was the cleaning staff room so it was very difficult in the mornings as they would have their cleaning carts blocking the hallway as they prepared.

Hotel overall

Pros: Good location, a lot is within walking distance. If you're in San Fran for a business conference at the Moscone Center, the is a prime location as you only have about a block to walk. Staff was mostly friendly. Had snarkiness when I checked in over my request for extra towels. 2 towels is not enough for my husband and I, or for my coworker and I.

Cons: Lobby was often packed and quite loud. For some reason despite having two sets of automatic doors at the main entrance, they direct everyone through one. Fine when there is no taxi line, horrible when there is as you would need to push through a crowd to get inside. Lots of vagrants in the area. On the weekend, everyone is trying to either sell you something, get you to donate to something, or just trying to get you to give them money. A few blocks South, or West puts you in less populated and less safe areas. Just something to be aware of. The Tenderloin district (to the west) is not an area you want to walk through alone or at night.

Room Tip: Pay the difference for a corner room with a view. You'll be glad you did. When I booked, it wasn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Momo800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric H, Sales Department at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Momo800,

I wanted to thank you for taking the time to post the great pictures of your room and view! We certainly appreciate the extra effort.

Of course we would have preferred to keep you in the same room for your entire visit but sometimes we are unable to due to previous commitments.

Thanks again for staying with us and for your excellent travel tips, you seem to be very knowledgeable in regards to the local area and hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

The San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,015
    2,010
    624
    165
    103
See reviews for
939
942
176
2,218
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,024)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dover, Delaware
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

This hotel is conveniently located a half block from the conference center. It is about a 20 minute walk to the ferry terminal on the bay. The staff is very service oriented and helpful. We arrived at noon expecting we would need to store our luggage until the 4pm check-in time. We were pleasantly surprised that we were able to get into a room right away, without even asking. We were given a large room, which was exceptional. Separate living and sleeping areas, each with a large TV. Bathroom was very nice and located away from the entrance way.

One restaurant only opened for breakfast and pricey. We did not eat there. Nor did we try the roof top restaurant (really a bar) due to very limited menu.

There are less expensive hotels in the area. If I was visiting instead of going to a conference I would probably want to stay closer the the waterfront.

Room Tip: Finding suitable dining options was a little challenging, although staff gave suggestions for dining...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
172 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

This hotel has been recently refurbished. Everything still smelled new, but it was VERY dark. The exception was downstairs in the meeting rooms, that was more bright and cheery. The staff is very nice and helpful here despite being busy ALL the time. The fitness facility had many cardio machines that did get busy and a weight and floor work area. Everything you need. The cardio equipment has not been updated and was showing wear and sweat in comparison to everything else being sparkly new. Room was a standard double/double room with large flat screen, coffee maker, and individual chair. Redesign-wise the mirror over the desk is not very user friendly and the lamp on the nightstand accomodates only small plugs. In addition there are only two plugs on the desk. Not business user friendly, but probably ok for all other. Bathroom was good and clean. This is yet another Marriott that wants to charge for wireless internet. Again its 2013! The Concierge Room did offer a computer with internet and printer, but the lines were sometimes long since there is only one. Concierge Room was very handy for coffee and water. Some breakfast and evening snack options well rounded also. Bar had good service and great location for people watching in the lobby. Can't beat proximity to the convention center!

Room Tip: Busy elevators so get a floor at the bottom of the high or mid rise elevators for shorter wait times...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank summitsvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC,NYC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I stayed at the Marriott recently and was taken aback to see that they have the gall to charge $14.95 a day for Internet connections - new charge every 24 hours. You can get a cheaper connection for $7.95 but then your data will load more slowly and you will be charged for local calls. Really Marriott? In this day and age when every Motel 6, every bed and breakfast, has free connections?

Furthermore while I understand that the minibar must be overpriced a medium bottle of water was not only $8 but was subject to a 20 % restocking fee...hello? May I restock myself and skip the fee?

In addition I could hear every word said by my neighbor during her lengthy phone conversation. I certainly hope that for her financial wellbeing she used her cell phone.

I am happy staying at properties ranging from the Ritz to Hampton Inns as long as I feel I am being treated fairly. Which means I will never stay at a Marriott again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malnot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luckbamboo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Stayed here for a conference. The hotel is very big and the crowds during the day make you feel like you are in a Las Vegas hotel. Given the size, we were surprised that the service was prompt and courteous. We requested a 1 pm late checkout which was accommodated easily. The hotel is in a very good location to explore the city. The hotel is about a 20 min walk to the Ferry Building. Take the buses if possible. The $2 fare with the transfer to use for half a day on any bus is a great deal. The #30 bus takes you through Chinatown to Ghiradelli Square. Some #30 buses continue on to Marina. The #8x bus takes you to Pier39. We found long lineups for cabs every day around supper time and were glad that we opted to take the bus or walk instead. For breakfast, on Mission just around the corner there is a Denny's that is open 24 hours for jet lagged folks and a Mel's.

There is a Target across the street that has a small grocery section for drinks/fruits/snacks. If you want a greater selection, a Whole Foods is 2 blocks away.

You have to pay for Wi-Fi and that package includes free phone calls in the US. There is free Wi-Fi at nearby Metreon and Westfield Mall.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luckbamboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric H, Sales Department at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear luckbamboo,

Thank you for your review and for choosing the Marriott Marquis. Your travel tips are excellent and it sounds like you know the City well. The San Francisco Marriott Marquis also has free Wi-Fi in our lobby so you can always stay connected.

Thanks again and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards,

The San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed during a trip for a convention at the moscone center. The main lobby was very busy, but had a nice energy. Check-in was simple. The room was on the 18th floor, and did not have much of a view, but it was clean and very quiet. However, there was nothing special about it. The bathroom was a standard tub/shower, and had no high end details. The newly built holiday inn expresses that are cropping up all over the place are much classier looking. I agree that the wifi charge is tacky and unnecessary, but I think they cater to business travelers that simply apply everything to their business account. This is a great hotel to be in easy walking distance to the convention center, but if you are looking for luxury, look elsewhere.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
151 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

We were here for three nights and had a spacious, newly renovated room on the 31st floor. We usually stay at Hilton properties but found this hotel just as nice. I agree it is conveniently located. However it is in a very expensive area of town which means the surrounding stores were somewhat more expensive than in other locations we've stayed. A usually inexpensive bottle of wine from a nearby liquor store was double the cost I usually pay.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank JoAnn70820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#34 of 228 in San Francisco
2,873 reviews
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#40 of 228 in San Francisco
4,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
5,078 reviews
SoMa
Park Central Hotel San Francisco
Park Central Hotel San Francisco
#61 of 228 in San Francisco
3,504 reviews
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Francisco Marriott Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Property: San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Address: 780 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-3113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#45 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Francisco Marriott Marquis 4*
Number of rooms: 1500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your San Francisco Marriott Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco Marriott Marquis Hotel San Francisco
Marriott San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing