We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unbelievable upgrade” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Ranked #42 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
141 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Unbelievable upgrade”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on 1st of April. At checkin was told I would go wow when I opened the door to the room. He was not wrong, I was upgraded from a guest room to a presidential suite on the 33rd floor. A sitting room, dinning room, bar, two balconies, one on either side of the sitting room. Then a whirlpool bath, walk in wardrobe. Even in a mini bar which is unusual in a marriott. As a gold member access to the lounge which had a great selection of nimbles, beer and wine. The bar on the 39th floor is great for amazing views. The hotel is in a great location to explore San Francisco. The upgrade really made my stay but the hotel was good even without the upgrade.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,653
    1,872
    594
    156
    93
See reviews for
808
847
163
1,942
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (935)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

While a bit run-down in furnishings, the Marriott in downtown San Francisco makes up for it with the location right next to the Moscone and in the middle of the other big downtown hotels. You can get anywhere with a five minute walk.

The lobby is not that comfortable, but otherwise there's ample seating available. The second floor meeting rooms are old but serviceable. The top floor cocktail bar, "The View", is a popular hangout during any downtown conference.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jlaakso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Pros: The rooms are nice, nothing too special, but decently sized. The views from the top floors of the hotel are gorgeous over the city. The location is convenient to the convention center. I was also impressed with the water pressure (even though the drains couldn't always keep up with the shower). I rarely felt like I could hear anything from the neighboring rooms, so good sound insulation.

Cons: Entire fridge is taken up with a mini bar, and they post a note that says any personal items will be thrown out daily. There is a note that you can request a fridge from housekeeping... I hate this practice. Either use *part* of the fridge with mini bar, or provide both standard. Don't make it my duty to track down a fridge when there's technically already one in my room. The in-room internet left something to be desired. It worked consistently, but was extremely slow. My one major complaint was that the cleaning staff is a bit over-zealous. If the "do not disturb" sign is on my door, it means please, do not disturb; not, please knock, and call my room to see when you can come clean (while I was on a business call on my own phone). This happened 2 out of the 5 days I stayed here.

Overall, if I'm in the area again I might stay here, but I'll probably try another hotel nearby first.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank juhse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

My family stayed here for one night 3/29. Every staff member who we encountered was wonderful, helpful and friendly. Our room was very lovely, recently renovated I think. 23rd floor. Amazing view, comfy bed, very clean. The reason for the 4 stars is that the parking price was outrageous. We paid over $200 for our room and then the parking was another $70. I know this is San Francisco, but come on! Should be some kind of discount for Marriott Rewards members. My husband stays at Marriotts frequently for business trips.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CArunninglady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Would highly recommend this hotel for its great location. It is located within a few minutes walk to the shopping area and access to all of the the different public transport available, and also about 10-15 minute walk to the Ferry building. So a perfect location for tourists, nothing is too far from you either on foot or public transport.

The hotel is clean and the rooms are spacious, with lots of facilities including a swimming pool to help you unwind after walking all of those hills!

Some of the reviews mention about long queues at check-in, we were lucky and didn't get stuck in these - but they were evident at times.

Pros - central location, given access to the whole city - clean and spacious room - oh and an excellent concierge that went to great lengths to ensure our time in San Fran was well spent

Cons - more aimed at the business market, so prices in the bar are very expenses and free wi-fi only available in the bar! (so check out the local bars for cheaper drinks and free wi-fi)

Would I stay here again? Absolutely, due it its location

Room Tip: Go for a high floor number for better view (we were on the 19th floor)and also get a room on the Mus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

No one wants to sick when away from home much less in a hotel room. Our vacation week in San Francisco did not go as planned. Having said that, the hotel staff was just incredible. Chicken soup brought to our room, extra bottles of water and checking up on our while recovered. The hotel staff was the most friendly I have ever experienced.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven0528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

I stayed for 3 nights on a weekend trip with my significant other who was in town for a conference the following week. Our corner room on the 19th floor was clean and spacious. The bed was comfy and the entire room felt very up to date - no stains, tattered upholstery or any noticeable signs of aging. We didn't hear any hallway noises or sounds from other rooms. Overall very comfy.

It's hard to beat the location of this hotel in terms of shopping - it's right on Union Square. Also major conference hall the Moscone Center is a few minutes walk. Right around the corner from the Powell BART station and an easy walk to the financial district. Mission, North Beach and Fisherman's Wharf are all a quick cab ride away.

The second floor concierge lounge was great - endless supply of bottled water, Starbucks coffee, tea and there were evening snacks/dessert as well as breakfast every morning. Breakfast was mostly continental plus scrambled eggs which makes a huge difference I think! However there was a full service Starbucks in the lobby too for all your specialty drink needs.

As with most big city mega hotels, you have pay an arm and leg for one day of wifi - so I'm never happy with that. And I felt our room was a little too warm most of the time, no matter what I did with the thermostat. Sometimes I felt like the sheets were cotton + polyester because I woke up hot a few times. The biggest complaint I had with this hotel was the finicky nature of the hot water - one time I could not get the water hot at all. The rest of the time it took maybe 5-10 minutes of wasting water (a scarce resource especially in CA) for it to get hot. We called the desk and they said "did you let it run a while?" - so that's obviously just how it works. When it gets hot, it is in deed HOT no problem there. I just got a little impatient waiting and that one lukewarm shower left an impressions.

Overall I would stay here again and recommend it to large groups.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilyER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#30 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,803 reviews
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
SoMa
Park Central Hotel San Francisco
Park Central Hotel San Francisco
#60 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#36 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,337 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Zelos San Francisco
Hotel Zelos San Francisco
#56 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Francisco Marriott Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Property: San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Address: 780 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-3113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#45 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Francisco Marriott Marquis 4*
Number of rooms: 1500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your San Francisco Marriott Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco Marriott Marquis Hotel San Francisco
Marriott San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing