We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient hotel for the business traveler”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Ranked #23 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I stayed at the Marriott Marquis in San Francisco for a conference and it was not the first time. It is conveniently located across the street from the Moscone convention center and also smack in the heart of San Francisco. Great museums nearby, and good restaurants. A 15-minute walk to the Ferry Building. You will receive the good quality you are used to from the Marriott hotels. Very nice staff and the cleaning crew was excellent. It helps to have a Starbucks and a Fedex location also in the building. Overall, a very good experience.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Neuenburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,904)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,265 - 4,271 of 5,907 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2013

We normally stay at Marriott hotels because you normally get a clean, comfortable room at the Marriott. The location of this hotel was perfect. It was located right next to the Westfield mall & about a block or two from Union Square.

The service was excellent. The room was clean & spacious. We booked a king sized suite & it was well laid out with plenty of room. There were TV's in both the bedroom area & the seating area.

We ate breakfast in the hotel & both ordered the buffet. It was pricey (around $30). The selection was average.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room away from the center of the hotel where the hotel corners meet. We could see in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 1Kare1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric H, Sales Department at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Dear 1Kare1,

Thank you kindly for your TripAdvisor review and for being such a loyal Marriott customer. We can't thank you enough and would love to welcome you back the next time you are visiting San Francisco.

Kind Regards,

San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Lobby is very large, but still welcoming. Concierge is helpful. Express elevators to designated floors is a great feature. The problem was getting to valet parking. San Francisco is a very busy city, especially on the weekends. It took us a half hour to go less than two miles. Ten when we got to the address supplied by the hotel, we were told we had to go around the building for valet. With all the one way streets, this was another 6 blocks and took over twenty minutes. Our room was recently remodeled and was very nice and clean. Rooms are small, even for San Fran standards. Bellman and valet attendants were quick and friendly. Free airline checkin kiosk in the lobby. View bar on the top floor has a wonderful view, but poor table service when busy.

Room Tip: Only some floors have been recently remodeled. Ask for a remodeled room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimberly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric H, Sales Department at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear Kimberly S,

Thank you so much for your TripAdvisor review and for bringing to our attention that our listed address of 55 4th Street does not allow entrance into our valet parking. We are currently in the process of having our official address changed to 780 Mission Street so that mapping programs and GPS devices will indeed bring you directly to our valet entrance on Mission Street.

Thanks again for your valuable input and for choosing the San Francisco Marriott Marquis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

This is a busy hotel catering to large conventions. The Moscone Center is nearby as well as great shopping. I found a Camper Shoe Store nearby. I had a handicapped room and I think the bathroom floor had not been mopped in a while. I would consider this an average to sub average hotel when it comes to room cleanliness.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cystokid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric H, Sales Department at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear Cystokid,

Thank you kindly for choosing the San Francisco Marriott Marquis and for your TripAdvisor review.

I would like to offer you our sincerest apology for the condition of the guest bathroom upon your arrival. I can assure you that this is not normal as we thoroughly inspect our guestrooms on a regular basis.

If you would like to discuss your stay further please feel free to send us a direct message.

Sincerely,

The San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

This is a full-size convdention/conference location. !st room i was placed in was an complementary "upgrade" but was on a low floor in a non-renovated tired looking part of the hotel... Requsted bo be changed to a standard room, high floor and ended up in a very nice recently renovated room - Much, Much, nicer... should have been a no brainer to put a lifethime platinum in the newest nicest room... Prefer the Union Square Marriott over this property.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor for the view and shoot for a renovated room... much nice/newer/fresher
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LifetimePlatinum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric H, Sales Department at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear LifetimePlatinum,

Thank you kindly for your candid TripAdvisor review. I can understand your frustration in regards to your room upgrade and would certainly agree that a newly remodeled room and a great view would be preferable.

It can sometimes be difficult to honor every guest request or know which requests are more important but I am pleased to see that we were able to find a room that better suited your needs.

Sincerely,

The San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

The hotel is quite large and accustomed to a business crowd, since it's so close to the convention center. The location is excellent - easy to get to the convention center, shopping, and the ferry building all within a short walk. the hotel staff is kind and efficient. suggest taking the elevator up to the view restaurant to see the sun set over the city.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheilaandjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Don't stay here! We payed over $700 to stay for 2 nights in a room with a city view. When we arrived the woman who checked us in was very disrespectful and demeaning towards my mother and I. When we arrived in our room we found that our bedding had spots and hair on it. When we pulled the bedding back and looked further, we were even more horrified! There were spots/stains and hair all over the mattress and mattress cover! The shower also had mold all over it! The room was disgusting!!! We promptly called the front desk and asked to be moved to a new room. We had to sacrifice our view for an "upgraded" room. The second room was cleaner than the first at least. I took pictures of the first room and shared them with the manager. The hotel's way of "taking care of us" was giving us some extra Marriott rewards points and having the housekeeping department leave us a message to apologize. In my opinion they should have never even placed guests in a room in that condition. Do not stay here! Definitely not worth the price! And if you do stay, check your beds!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank squishy85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric H, Sales Department at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Dear Epainter2185,

I would like to offer our sincerest apologies for the level of service and the condition of your room during your recent stay. I completely understand how one would feel after arriving and finding what you show in your pictures. This is completely unacceptable.

I can not thank you enough for bringing this to our attention as we are continually in the process of improving the quality of our rooms and the level of our service.

Sincerely,

The San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#37 of 230 in San Francisco
3,034 reviews
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#25 of 230 in San Francisco
1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#32 of 230 in San Francisco
3,759 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
5,474 reviews
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#38 of 230 in San Francisco
4,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Francisco Marriott Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Address: 780 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#45 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $183 - $585 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — San Francisco Marriott Marquis 4*
Number of rooms: 1500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover awe-inspiring views, astonishing amenities and unparalleled customer service at San Francisco Marriott Marquis. Located just south of Market Street in SoMa, our luxurious Downtown San Francisco hotel offers easy access to the city's best attractions, including Moscone Center, the Yerba Buena Gardens, Union Square shopping and AT&T Park, home of the Giants. Before embarking on your Bay Area adventure, enjoy a buffet breakfast at B55 Craft House & Kitchen or grab a to-go snack at Mission Street Pantry. In the evening, break a sweat in our modern fitness center, treat yourself to a massage at our full-service spa, or savor inspiring penthouse views and cocktails at The View Lounge, located atop the hotel on the 39th floor, before retiring to deluxe rooms with sleek decor and high-tech amenities. Our hotel also offers more than 121,000 square feet of sophisticated event space for corporate events and meetings. Book your escape today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Francisco Marriott Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco Marriott Marquis Hotel San Francisco
Marriott San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing