We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent accomodation, would come back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Ranked #34 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Decent accomodation, would come back”
Reviewed April 18, 2008

Located in the centre of the city and sight seeing easy to access, close to congress centre and with congress accomodations within. Rooms clean, elegant set up, air conditioning a bit too cold but warm and cozy bedding.
Rooms were clean and cleaned prompty. Breakfast buffet very rich, with most wishes to be accomodated. The only hassle i had, was with a door handle, which never worked and the person, who was supposed to come and repair it never came, it required a few complains, for it to be fixed.

Anyway would stay there anytime again.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
Thank musaafir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,774
    1,904
    606
    159
    98
See reviews for
855
872
170
2,024
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (962)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 15, 2008

We just returned from a 4 day trip to San Francisico. Loved the Marriott and location. A few blocks to Union Square and all of the shopping and attractions. The hotel was extremely clean. Rooms were beautiful. Loved the gym, plenty of equipment. TV's at each treadmill.

My only complaint is the parking at this hotel. The rate is $53 per day! We knew this prior to our trip having stayed in SF in the past year. In the future we will fly in and take the bart downtown to our hotel.

The Marriott is also a block or so next to the Westfield mall. This is a gorgeous mall with every store you can imagine. Awesome gourmet food court on the lower level. Don't miss this. Also, go to "King of Thai Noodle House" on O'Farrell next to Macy's. Excellent Thai food. Best we have ever had. Head over to North Beach/Little Italy. Great restaurant, "Ideal." Recommended by locals in that area.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — parking fee
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank heidigon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2008

Back from wonderful trip to San Francisco. I'll try to be brief and discuss hotel, a few tips and tours.

San Francisco Marriott on Fourth Street: Superb location. Just around the corner from the Westfield Mall, and loads of shopping and restaurants. Just a minute to the corner to catch the F train which runs all the way down Market Street and to Fisherman's Wharf. Just another half a block and you can catch a trolley car. The hotel's overall services were very good. Starbucks in the lobby, nice lobby bar, though about half the ground floor lobby was still under construction and walled off. Room was not ready at (early) check in so baggage check was great. Up on the 25th floor with a really nice view, the room was average, but clean and with comfy beds. I prefer room arrangements where the shower/toilet are behind the door and the sink is located outside of that area, which was not the configuration here, but the shower was still nice and the sink was wide and granite. The biggest bug that a lot of travelers complain about applies to the Marriott. Why do upscale hotels offer less in-room amenities than avg. chain hotels? $12.95 for internet access when your local Drury or Holiday In Express provides for free? And perhaps the silliest in this hotel: outrageous charges for snacks that sit on a weird magnetic tray that will charge you if you move the snack and a stocked fridge that will also charge for uses. Give me an empty fridge any day of the week. We often went around the corner and grabbed sodas and snacks from the Walgreen's and brought back to the room - kept the sodas in the ice bucket. Silly though for a hotel of this calibur to treat guests this way.

Tom's Walking Muir Woods tour: Fab-U-Lous. Can't say enough about this great guy and great tour. His wife, Lisa, joined us and there was about 7-8 total in the group (including a nice couple from Scotland). Tom was knowledgeable, friendly and funny. It was great to be picked up at the hotel and even better to get to the woods early to beat the crowd and noise. We trekked on the trails for about 3 hours and it was terrific.

Wine Country Tours: Took the F Train down to the Ferry Marketplace to catch the tour. Driver Brian and tour guide Jason were very nice. Jason was incredibly knowledgeable and made the trip very nice. While I discovered I'm still not a big fan of wine in general, the area is beautiful and the wine tasting and picnic stop was fun. It would have been nice to see a bit more of the production areas and wine caverns, but that's just me. Trust me, we had some fun people who just really enjoyed tasting the wine.

Other stuff, Westfield Mall has a great food court in the lower level - hey don't laugh, it's not your usual food court. Andale's Mexican was yummy. Mel's diner was just on the corner of Fourth and nice for breakfast and not overly expensive - under $10.

All-in-all, nice long weekend trip and it didn't hurt that the weather for northern Cal was perfect. Dress in layers and wear comfy shoes. Pack light on the way out so that you can bring home all the new stuff.

Helpful?
2 Thank VacaDreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2008

We spent four nights here for a conference—it was okay overall though we had some issues, which started right at check-in. When we got up to the room we saw we had been assigned a handicapped room though we didn’t request one. It was no big deal we assumed—just some bars around the toilet. After being in the room for a few hours we found the problem—the shower was designed for a wheelchair user ONLY. The showerhead height was designed for someone sitting and the hand held shower head could only be raised to a maximum height of about 4 feet 6 inches. When I called to complain reception offered to move us but by that time we had completely unpacked and there was stuff all around the room. In the end we opted not to move and sucked it up but every time we took a shower got angry about the situation. Have you ever tried to wash your hair with one hand? In addition, the water pressure on the 19th floor was dreadful—it was like being peed on, my husband joked.

My experience with conference hotels such as Marriott and Hyatt is that rooms are generally sizable but this wasn’t the case with our room. It was just crowded with stuff and there was not a lot of empty space in the room. The closet, for example, had the ironing board and the safe on an overly large pedestal. This stuff took up so much room that there wasn’t room to open your suitcase up inside. Also, for a property that caters to business people, we found it strange that there was absolutely no free space on the desk/dresser area. There was the TV, connectivity equipment, hotel info binders and an enormous snack display (in addition to the minibar) that made your room look like a convenience store. Of course, the candy was out in the open to tempt you (see the review below about the property not losing a single opportunity to make money off guests) but it was also ugly and in the way and because of the sensors you couldn’t move it. In the end I threw my coat over it so I didn’t have to see it—it was right in your eye line when you were sitting on the bed. For anyone traveling with kids I can see the snacks causing problems.

There were some good points to the room though. I found the bed extremely comfortable. If you like a softer, pillowy mattress you’ll be happy here. There was a featherbed on the mattress and lots of pillows and the sheets felt nice and silky. The LG flat screen got a great picture on the digital channels and the hotel offered HBO. And the windows actually opened so you could get fresh air.

We got passes to the breakfast buffet for our trouble with the shower and I have to say it was quite good. Bottomless Illy coffee and fresh squeezed orange juice, made to order omelets and waffles, all the typical breakfast dishes, some nicer stuff like smoked salmon and a huge assortment of fresh fruit. If you were paying it was pricey though, at $22 a person. A la carte dishes were also available.

The onsite Starbucks and Hertz rental desk were convenient. Also, the pool looked pretty nice; a good size for an indoor hotel pool and it had a nice area for lounging. The location is in walking distance to many SF tourist attractions, shopping and the convention center.

Finally, excepting our trouble at check-in, I was really impressed with how friendly all the staff were. Maybe it’s a west coast thing and I’m used to east coast grumpiness but everybody from the servers in the restaurant, to the Starbucks employees to housekeepers and even maintenance staff, who asked if I needed help when I seemed lost, were really nice.

With a rate of $139 a night I was okay with this place, it wasn’t great but there were some nice aspects also. Know that if you have to come here for a conference there are other choices in the immediate area. The Hotel Palomar is right across the street, for example.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank booklover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe
Level Contributor
86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2008

Stayed here for a convention at a reduced rate. Room had a high quality 42 inch HD TV and was very comfortable. Excellent location close to Moscone convention center, restaurants, cable car, and shopping. I really enjoyed Yerba Buena Garden right next to it and the bar with a terrific view on the 39th floor. My only complaint is that there are three sets of elevators going to different floors which was confusing for the first day or two. Guests have to transfer elevators to get from certain floors to other floors.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — three sets of elevators going to different floors
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank aspens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Washington, New York
Level Contributor
237 reviews
215 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 305 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2008

I stayed here for 3 nights while attending a huge conference. The rooms were extremely comfortable and tasteful, and the bathrooms so modern, clean and big...nice towels, but their shampoo smells weird. They were doing a lot of construction in the hotel, so that made for difficult elevator use--lots of detours. Not to mention the intolerable disruption to so many of our conference presentations!

My big gripe with this hotel is that it's already VERY expensive and I guess they figure only filthy rich people stay here because they try to get a few more dollars out of you at every turn. Wireless is very expensive and the signal terribly weak. To change your clothes in the locker room at the pool/health spa is 5 bucks. And most offensive of all, if you even TOUCH anything on the minibar (which includes such insults as a $4 Snickers) a SENSOR underneath it automatically charges you for it!!! So when you check out, pay attention to your final total, because you're likely to have paid out the nose for stale candy bars that you didn't even unwrap.

A really great Asian fusion restaurant right around the corner is called Straits. Not too expensive and very classy. There's also a nice cheap and good Thai place a couple of blocks away.

  • Liked — comfort and quality of room
  • Disliked — feeling I was being scammed at every turn
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank flyermontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maynooth, Ireland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2008

We stayed at the San Francisco Marriott for five nights in March. The location is excellent just beside Union Square ,transport links and great shopping... The rooms are very comfortable and the hotel has good facilities as in pool, gym two lounges and the in house Starbucks came in handy. The View Lounge is great to sit in at sundown and enjoy a cocktail of your choice. On the other hand it is a big hotel with a lot of conventions and business guests so it would not be to everyones taste.

  • Liked — The View Lounge
  • Disliked — Business Hotel
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DublinHank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#32 of 227 in San Francisco
2,825 reviews
SoMa
Park Central Hotel San Francisco
Park Central Hotel San Francisco
#60 of 227 in San Francisco
3,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#37 of 227 in San Francisco
4,397 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Zelos San Francisco
Hotel Zelos San Francisco
#59 of 227 in San Francisco
622 reviews
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Francisco Marriott Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Property: San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Address: 780 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-3113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#27 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#45 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Francisco Marriott Marquis 4*
Number of rooms: 1500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TravelUp, Marriott, Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Francisco Marriott Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco Marriott Marquis Hotel San Francisco
Marriott San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing