We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Omni San Francisco Hotel(San Francisco)
$399
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$488
$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Parc 55 San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$223
$201
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$245
$212
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$240
$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Zoe Fisherman's Wharf(San Francisco)
$338
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$199
$158
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$390
$309
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$299
$239
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$458
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (6,422)
Filter reviews
6,422 results
Traveler rating
2,936
2,416
740
200
130
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,936
2,416
740
200
130
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe view loungem clubthe concierge loungegreat locationunion squareconvention hotelmoscone centertop floorlarge hotelbusy hotelcorner roommarket streetbusiness triplobby barbart stationper daycable car
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
4,817 - 4,822 of 6,422 reviews
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Hotel lobby was like grand central station but without the beautiful architecture! Far too many conference guests, so you are jostled about whenever in the lobby or lifts.

Corridors are maze like as hotel is so big with so many rooms. Decor is bland, outdated & in need of an overhaul. Feels grubby & unloved.

Rooms are large & comfortable. Again decor is lacking & furniture looks ancient. Bed very comfortable though which is really the only good point.

Decent location being only a couple of blocks from union square & the shops & sightseeing. Walking distance to pretty much everything though should you need to get a cab to the airport then leave plenty of time as the queue at the taxi rank outside hotel was very long. Again this is probably due to the sheer number of guests it accommodates.

All in all not too bad but wouldn't want to spend my own money staying here!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric H, Sales Department at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Dear Oska,

Thank you for your review and for your business! We sincerely appreciate your candid remarks. You will be happy to know that the hotel will undergo a complete renovation of our sleeping rooms in the first half of 2013.

Once again thank you for staying at the Marquis and for your Trip Advisor review.

Kind Regards,

The San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed here after Thanksgiving for the Xmas tree lighting. The lobby is humongous with tons of people, like a train station. Sabrina the receptionist was so nice to upgrade us from a small suite to a large suite. The suite was fantastic with views all around the city. The furniture and bathroom in the suite were very plain and outdated. The king bed was fantastic. As a Platinum member we were allowed access to the concierge level for snacks and breakfast. There were so many people in that place and the selection of the food was poor compared to other Marriott hotels. We also went to the top floor lounge which had fabulous views. The selection of drinks and snacks was again very limited and not off a high standard.

Room Tip: Stay on the 20th floor or above for the views. Pick a corner room for more views.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globewalker13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric H, Sales Department at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Dear Globewalker13,

Thank you kindly for you valuable feedback, savvy traveling tips and for recognizing our great service. We strive to provide all of our guests a memorable experience while visiting San Francisco and sincerely appreciate your review. I will definitely pass along your remarks regarding our concierge lounge as we are always looking for improvement!

Kind Regards,

The San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

A nice Marriott property, very centrally located. All typical Marriott amenities, with an odd hidden coffee maker. Lovely views from room, we were above the church, so it never really bothered us. The bar, The View, on the 33rd floor was a disappointment though. Our flight arrived late in the day and we just wanted a light snack, yet they were unable to accommodate us. What hotel bar is unable to make simple bar foods/snacks until midnight? Seriously questioned the lack of foodservice until midnight, were given a simple shrug of " oh well". Other than that, we enjoyed our stay and would recommend this property

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank conandbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric H, Sales Department at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Dear conandbob,

I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay and I would like to thank you for recommending our hotel. I am so sorry that we were not able to provide you the expected service in our bar upon arrival and sad to hear that we were not able to offer any alternatives. Going the extra mile is one of our mottos and this would have been a perfect example.

Thank you again for choosing our hotel and your Trip Advisor review. Your feedback is very important and much appreciated.

Kind Regards,

The San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

I have stayed in many, many Marriott hotels, and among those I've visited, this property ranks as below average. That was disappointing; considering its location, I would think of it as a 'flagship' property for the brand.

My main disappointments were with the room. The room to which I was assigned was in desperate need of renovation -- its carpet was worn and stained, the chairs were uncomfortable and also stained, and the nightstands, etc. had a worn appearance. The style of the furnishings was also completely bland. The desk and dresser were set in-front of the window -- definitely a non-traditional place and one that forced you to stare into the sun when you worked at the desk unless you wanted to close the curtains. The bathroom also needed new tile.

The rest of the hotel was fine, although it had very bland decor, too (with the possible exception of the lobby, which appeared to have been renovated more recently). The hotel is huge, and it hosts many meetings, so the lobby and elevators were always very, very busy. This hotel has a large, convention-like feel, not a particularly business-like lobby or boutique feel.

Overall, this was a disappointing stay. I would not recommend this property unless the rooms undergo a substantial renovation.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
Thank brmusicman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric H, Sales Department at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Dear brmusicman,

I would like to thank you for your Trip Advisor review and to let you know that indeed we are preparing to renovate all of our sleeping rooms beginning next month!

Your feedback is extremely important to us as we prepare for our renovations and hope that the next time you visit San Francisco you will let us know so that you can check out and check in to the new Marriott Marquis.

Kind Regards

The San Francisco Marriott Marquis,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We were in town for a 6-night stay; my husband was attending a convention, so I was on my own for touring around. This hotel is in a perfect location--within walking distance of the convention center, fine shopping in a mall with a fabulous food court (a surprise for this food-lover who craves the spicy taste of South Louisiana when away from home), the ferry to Sausalito and the Ferry Building, and cable cars. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful, the lobby was comfortable, "happy" and safe, and our room was exceptionally clean and comfortable. I suppose the only negative was the cost of breakfast in the hotel restaurant. The oatmeal w/coffee and juice was only slightly less expensive than the entire breakfast buffet...for a moment I thought I was in a Hilton! I want to go back soon, and I think this would be a perfect hotel for a Girls trip.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChiefExecutiveOwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric H, Sales Department at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Dear ChiefExecutiveOwl,

How can I thank you enough for choosing the San Francisco Marriott Marquis, for posting your Trip Advisor review and for your five star rating. We hope you do indeed come back soon for your "Girls Trip".

Kind Regards,

The San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews